1. Home
  2. >
  3. Hong Kong's Wild Stars

Rodent on the Trees - Pallas's Squirrel

Feb 2020
Author : Green Power

Cuteness alert! Speaking of rodents, would a fluffy quirky squirrel cross your mind? Pallas's Squirrel (Callosciurus erythraeus) is famous, with its bushy tail and orange-tinted belly. It is de facto a gourmet savvy, who zigzags between branches like a mischievous kid looking for its favourite bites!

Wondering why Pallas's Squirrel loves gnawing nuts and seeds so badly? It has a pair of incisors (i.e. the upper and lower incisors) that grow continuously throughout its life. Hence, chomping harder food becomes the only way to file down its teeth. Yet, no Pallas's Squirrel is a strict vegetarian; they may prey on insects and baby birds to survive. Thanks to the abundant food resources (e.g. leaves, flowers, seeds… etc) provided by the urban trees, Pallas's Squirrel could easily maintain its herbivorous diet here in Hong Kong.

In general, squirrels from higher latitudes cache for winter by stashing food underground. Notwithstanding their hard work, they are too forgetful, letting most of the food eventually sprout in the soil. By contrast, Pallas's Squirrel in Hong Kong would simply finish up their food in one go, all because of the city's mild and warm climate.

Most squirrels, including Pallas's Squirrel, are tree-dwelling. They are talented climbers of branches and trees. When nesting, Pallas's Squirrels pick higher cavities for better protection. Much to our surprise, Pallas's Squirrel mother customarily spends most of the time looking after the youngsters, very much like to an old Chinese saying: men are breadwinners; women are homemakers.

Imported as a Pet

Pallas's Squirrel is not a local Hong Kong species. Dating back to the 1960s, Pallas's Squirrels were shipped from Southeast Asia. Some of the stray Pallas's Squirrels survived after being released, while some of them escaped during transportation. Owing to the food distribution and threat of predation, Pallas's Squirrels are limited to staying in woodlands in urban areas and the New Territories.

By looking attentively at their tails, it is not difficult to distinguish between the paler bellied styani subspecies with an obvious black dot on its tail tip, and the thai subspecies with a lighter tip to the tail. The styani and thai subspecies chiefly settled in the New Territories and Hong Kong Island, respectively.

The cuter an animal looks, the more likely it is to be traded. Importing foreign species may pose threats to the ecological balance. This time, we are fortunate to have Pallas's Squirrel as a peaceful foreigner that has so far caused no ecological disaster here. Still, neither releasing animals nor purchasing foreign species should be encouraged. Never try our luck, for the consequences could be catastrophic.

Image
Distributed in the New Territories, the styani subspecies has a distinctive black dot on its tail.
© Henry Lui
Image
Distributed on Hong Kong Island, the thai subspecies has a paler tail than its counterpart.
© Peggy Chung
Image
A Pallas's Squirrel enjoying leaf buds.
© Peggy Chung
Image
Pallas's Squirrel going down a tree head-first.
© Henry Lui

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 生物放大鏡

樹上的小鼠 - 赤腹松鼠

2020年2月
作者:綠色力量

提起「鼠 」,可能大家即時想到不甚討好、不受歡迎的老鼠。不過,與老鼠同屬齧齒類的赤腹松鼠(Callosciurus erythraeus),卻是人見人愛!擁有蓬鬆的尾巴,整天在樹上跳來跳去,經常密密地咬食堅果,一副貪吃小鬼模樣,十分討人歡喜!

赤腹松鼠上下顎有一對不停生長的門牙,為免門牙長得太長,才會終日咬食堅硬的果實,其實是為了磨牙,有時亦會以咬噬硬物來磨牙。大家印象中的松鼠都是進食堅果,然而牠們卻不是死硬的素食者,為了生存亦會進食昆蟲或雛鳥。不過由於香港市區樹木一般已能為赤腹松鼠供應足夠食物,所以牠們都是以植物葉子、花朵及種子等維生。

一般來說,北方的松鼠會於過冬前屯糧,把果實等糧食藏在泥土下,待冬季可挖出來充飢。然而,松鼠大多是「善忘」,經常任由收藏的果實待在泥裡發芽成長。香港由於氣候溫和,赤腹松鼠不需儲糧,可以毫不猶豫地把眼前的糧食統統吃光!

大部分松鼠都棲息樹上,赤腹松鼠也不例外。不管是在枝椏間攀爬,還是在樹梢間跳躍,對牠們來說都是輕而易舉的事,就連跟愛侶「共建愛巢」都選址在高樹上。不過,萬萬想不到原來「男主外,女主內」的觀念也適用於松鼠們,通常只有雌性才會照顧幼兒,留守愛巢。

引入作寵物

雖然在香港可找到赤腹松鼠的蹤跡,但牠們並非原生物種,而是在60年代開始由商人從東南亞地區輸入作寵物售賣。牠們有的被放生,有的則在運輸過程中意外逃脫,從此流落市區,其後更在香港野外找到生存空間而落地生根。不過受原生捕食者威脅和食物分布影響,赤腹松鼠只局限於市區和新界部分林地出沒。

本地的赤腹松鼠分兩個亞種——主要是分布於港島的泰國亞種,以及分布於新界的安徽亞種。只要細心觀察,便會發現安徽亞種腹部顏色較淺,尾部末端亦有黑點,不難分辨。

很多像赤腹松鼠擁有逗趣外表的動物,都會被引入作寵物。然而,引入外來物種有機會破壞本地生態平衡。幸好赤腹松鼠的引入未見有為本地生態帶來災難,但我們無法保證每一次都如此幸運。所以,隨意放生或買賣外來物種的行為,絕對要不得!

Image
分布於新界的安徽亞種,尾部末端有黑點。
© Henry Lui
Image
分布於港島的泰國亞種,尾部末端顏色較為淺淡。
© Peggy Chung
Image
赤腹松鼠盡情地享用葉芽。
© Peggy Chung
Image
赤腹松鼠能夠靈活自如地在樹上走動。
© Henry Lui

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)