1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Work
  4. >
  5. Waste Reduction & Recycling

Drink Carton Recycling Campaign

Image
Image


Our Recycling Story


In 2016, we became the first organisation to launch a drink carton recycling programme in Hong Kong, and implemented it in schools, hotels, a theme park and the community in phases. Afterwards, we introduced an innovative “Cash Reward” model to plough drink cartons back into local recycling chains. This helped to establish a holistic and sustainable recycling system in Hong Kong.

Drink cartons are made of paper, plastic and aluminium, which are all recyclable. However, due to the lack of technology, facilities and resources, Hong Kong was yet to implement any drink carton recycling campaigns.

Not until 2019, that is, when a local recycling factory for drink carton was established, opening the door for effective treatment of carton waste. Nevertheless, the current recycling rate is still very low. Over 27,000 tonnes of drink cartons are thrown away each year. Dumping these recyclable resources into the landfills is not only a waste but also aggravates pressure on landfills and the waste problem. What is more, it does not help the local recycling industry.

Looking to examples in other parts of the world like Taipei, South Korea, Japan and Germany, there are a range of recycling regulations in place, including Producer Responsibility Scheme, which use economic means to regulate producers to recycle their own products. In this way, the producers have the incentive to not only provide recycling facilities and mechanisms, but also to choose the right materials and design their packages properly, in order to reduce waste at source.

A drink carton is made of a composite material, making recycling more complicated. By advocating drink carton recycling, we hope to raise public awareness of and reflections on Hong Kong's recycling policy:

  • The operation of the local recycling industry has always remained at a low technology level, involving baling and export only. There is no economic incentive to recycle composite materials such as drink cartons, which require a higher cost.
  • Since Producer Responsibility Scheme is not in place, recycling of composite materials lacks the support of producers, making it more difficult for the materials to build sufficient market value for recycling.
  • Without municipal solid waste charging, the public lacks an incentive to reduce waste and recycle. Even with capable facilities, the recycling rate is still poor.
  • Without legislation and the support of producers, the recycling industry only struggles to survive at a rudimentary technology level, and so is incapable of developing towards a high-end and value-added industry; the poor recycling rate hinders the recycling industry from reaching optimal operation efficiency, forming a vicious cycle.

We will continue advocating the implementation of a Producer Responsibility Scheme regarding all beverage containers and food packaging by the government, and urge producers to take on their environmental responsibility and support the local recycling industry. On the other hand, through recycling drink cartons, we hope to boost society's demand for recycling, and together we will strive for progress in waste management for Hong Kong!

Drink carton recycling programme
Drink carton recycling programme
Drink carton recycling programme
©PMQ
Drink carton recycling programme

Milestones


Sep 2021:
The fourth phase of primary school recycling and education programme; recycling programme in theme park and hotel
Jul 2020:
Drink Carton Recycling - Cash Reward (Jul 2020 – Aug 2021)
Sep 2019:
The third phase of primary school recycling and education programme
Jul 2019:
Community Collection Points (18 points in total)
Jul 2018 :
Recycling in community
Dec 2017 :
Jungle All the Way Exhibition @PMQ
15,000 Drink Cartons, Folded into 36 Sparkling Christmas Trees
Jul 2017 :
Petition to urge producers to recycle drink cartons
Jul 2017 :
Recycling programme in theme park and hotel
Oct 2016 :
Recycling trial in hospitality industry (26 restaurants in 5 hotels)
Oct 2016 :
The second phase of primary school recycling and education programme
Jan 2016 :
Launched the first drink carton recycling campaign in Hong Kong (recycling trial in primary schools)

About Drink Carton


Drink carton ranks second (17%)* in packaging materials of the beverage market. Together with cartons used in household kitchens such as broth and corn; cartons used in catering industry such as liquid eggs and cream, 27,375 tonnes* of waste carton are dumped in the landfill annually, which is equivalent to 2.4 billion cartons, enough to cover the area of 4,139 Hong Kong Stadiums, and requires public expenditure of HK$15 million for waste disposal.

There are two types of drink carton, namely aluminium foil carton and milk carton: the former is made of paper, plastic and aluminium; and the latter is made of paper and plastic. All these materials can be recycled and reused. Drink carton recycling is common worldwide. The recycling rate in Japan is about 45%, Europe 40%, Taiwan 30% and mainland China 10%.

There are different ways of recycling drink carton. A common method is to recover the paper constituent and recycle it into different paper products. Plastic and aluminium are made into molded boards or Refuse Paper & Plastic Fuel (RPF). A whole carton can also be recycled into Tectan boards or RPF. Or all materials (paper, plastic and aluminium) are separated and recycled into different raw materials.

High or low recycling value?

The main component of drink carton is paper (75% in aluminium foil carton; 85% in milk carton). The long paper fibres used allow the waste to be turned into more durable paper products. In particular, the paper in milk carton which is made from bleached wood pulp is of high recycling value, as premium quality paper can be made from the recovered materials.

On the other hand, in addition to paper, drink carton also contains plastic and aluminium. Recycling of the composite requires more complicated process and a higher cost. Thus, drink carton is often considered as a recyclable with low recycling value. Hence, in most places where the recycling rate of drink carton is relatively high, we can see that a Producer Responsibility Scheme is in place in order to promote recycling

Can I put drink cartons into the waste paper recycle bin?

No! Although drink carton is mainly made of paper, it also contains plastic and aluminium. In aluminium foil carton, 20% of it is plastic and 5% is aluminium; in milk carton, 15% is plastic. Drink carton is composite material, which cannot be recycled as normal paper.

* Drink Without Waste Research Report (2018)
* The latest Monitoring of Solid Waste in Hong Kong (2019)

Media Coverage


2021

2020

2019

2018

2017

2016

Video


Drink Carton Recycling Cash Reward Programme – Our Vision and Implementation
(Jun 2021)
Drink Carton Recycling Cash Reward Programme – An Ordinary Day at Recycling Shops
(Jun 2021)
Drink Carton Recycling Cash Reward Programme – Care for Frontline Recycling Workers
(Jun 2021)

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 本會工作
  4. >
  5. 減廢及回收

回收俠 - 紙包盒回收計劃

Image
Image


我們的回收故事


從2016年開始,我們是首個團體在香港推行紙包盒回收計劃,並分階段於學校、酒店、主題樂園及社區推行。及後,我們更引入嶄新的現金補貼模式,將紙包飲品盒重投現存回收網絡,建立出一個覆蓋全港、可持續發展的回收模式。

紙包盒主要成分包括紙、膠、鋁,全部物料均可回收再造。然而,香港礙於技術、設施和成本問題,一直未有回收。直至2019年香港首間紙包盒回收廠落成,回收規模才逐漸擴大,可惜回收量仍然偏低。香港每年丟棄27,000公噸紙包盒,將可回收再造資源丟棄堆填區,等同浪費,更加快迫爆堆填區,加劇廢物問題,亦無助本地回收業發展。

綜觀世界各地於回收再造範疇推展較理想的地區,如台北、南韓、日本、德國等,均以不同法例規管回收,包括《生產者責任制》,以經濟手段規範生產商「自己產品 自己回收」,生產商不但要提供回收配套,亦要從選取材料和包裝設計等著手,源頭減廢。

紙包盒是複合物,回收處理較複雜。我們正正期望透過推動相關物料的回收,讓社會反思香港的回收政策:

  • 回收業一直停留打扎、出口低技術層面,處理包括紙包盒在內的複合物成本較高,缺乏經濟誘因;
  • 沒有《生產者責任制》,缺乏生產者支援,複合物更難有回收市場價值;
  • 沒有垃圾徵費,市民缺乏回收誘因,即使有相關設施,回收量仍然不足;
  • 沒有法規及生產者支援,回收業只能一直於低技術層面掙扎求存,沒餘力向高增值方向發展;回收量亦不足以支持回收業達至最佳經濟效益,形成惡性循環。

我們將繼續爭取政府落實所有飲品容器及食物包裝生產者責任制,並敦促生產商履行環境責任,亦致力支援本地回收業。另方面,我們更期望透過回收紙包盒,凝聚社會對回收之訴求,共同爭取香港廢物管理向前邁進!

紙包盒回收計劃
紙包盒回收計劃
紙包盒回收計劃
©PMQ
紙包盒回收計劃

里程碑


2021年9月:
第四階段小學回收及教育計劃;主題樂園及酒店回收
2020年7月:
現金回收紙包盒計劃(2020年7月至2021年8月)
2019年9月:
第三階段小學回收及教育計劃
2019年7月:
社區回收(共18個協作回收點)
2018年7月:
社區回收
2017年12月:
“Jungle All the Way”展覽 @ PMQ元創方
15,000回收紙包盒 摺出36棵聖誕樹 幻化銀光閃閃聖誕樹林
2017年7月:
聯署行動,要求生產商回收紙包盒
2017年7月:
主題樂園及酒店回收
2016年10月:
酒店業試行回收(5間酒店;26間餐廳)
2016年10月:
第二階段小學回收及教育計劃
2016年1月:
開展香港首項紙包盒回收計劃(小學回收試行計劃)

關於紙包盒


紙包盒是香港飲品市場佔比第二大的包裝容器(約佔17%)*,加上家居廚房使用的雞湯、粟米等;大型食肆使用的蛋漿、忌廉等均是紙包盒,香港每年丟棄27,375*公噸紙包盒,數目多達24億個,足以鋪滿4,139個香港大球場,花費納稅人逾一千五百萬元去處理。

紙包盒主要分鋁箔盒及牛奶盒兩大類,分別以紙、膠、鋁,以及紙和膠製成,全部物料均可再回收再造。世界各地均有回收紙包盒,例如日本回收率約45%;歐洲約40%;台灣約30%;中國內地約10%。

世界各地回收紙包盒方法有多種,比較常見是抽取紙成分,再造成不同紙製品,膠和鋁則製成夾板或燃料。亦有將整個紙包盒製成彩樂板及燃料,或分離全部物料(紙、膠、鋁)再造成不同原材料。

回收價值高與低?

紙包盒主要成分是紙,當中鋁箔盒的紙成分約75%;牛奶盒約85%,所採用的紙張纖維較長,可再造成韌力較強的紙品,而牛奶盒所採用的紙更是「漂白木漿」,屬優質紙料,因此具很高回收價值。

然而,因紙包盒同時含膠及鋁,屬複合物,處理過程較繁複,成本較高,變相出現「紙包盒回收價值低」的說法。因此,大部分紙包盒回收率較高的地方均以《生產者責任制》推動回收。

紙包盒可以放進「廢紙回收箱」嗎?

不能!雖然紙包盒主要成分是紙,但同時包含膠和鋁成分,當中鋁箔盒的膠成分約20%、鋁成分約5%;牛奶盒則含膠成分15%。紙包盒屬複合物,不能當一般廢紙回收處理。

*《免「廢」暢飲研究報告》(2018)
*根據最新《香港固體廢物監察報告》(2019)

媒體報導


2021

2020

2019

2018

2017

2016

影片


「現金回收紙包盒計劃」 - 理念與推行
(2021年6月)
「現金回收紙包盒計劃」 - 街角回收鋪之日常
(2021年6月)
「現金回收紙包盒計劃」 – 關注前線回收人員(拾荒者)
(2021年6月)

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)