1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

“Carbon Neutral 2050” is not just a slogan

Original text published in Sing Tao Daily “Green Forum” (6 Aug, 2021)
Author: Green Power

It’s mid-summer. The issue of climate change is more pressing than ever. Enter “record-shattering heat” in any internet search engine and you will be bombarded with news of hottest temperatures on record in different parts of the world: temperature hitting over 18℃ in Antarctica, over 30℃ in Northern Europe and close to 50℃ in Canada… The globe is heating up. Are humans committing slow suicide?

To address the crisis of global warming, China announced its “Emission Peak” in 2030 and “Carbon Neutrality” by 2060 last year. Hong Kong appears even more ambitious with the pledge of achieving Carbon Neutrality by 2050. The goal is now set. The next key questions are whether the goal can be achieved and how to proceed. In the 2017 “Hong Kong’s Climate Action Plan 2030+” from the HKSAR government, the mid-term objective is to reduce 65-75% of carbon emissions by 2030. It is questionable whether the objective can be met, in view of the policy measures implemented by the government in recent years. It will take arduous efforts indeed to pass the various detailed objectives set out in the Action Plan.

The biggest blind spot in the carbon reduction master plan in Hong Kong is the negligence of renewable energy. The government put its emphasis on natural gas to replace coal burning to reduce carbon emissions in electricity generation. With the new gas-fired generation units in place last year, natural gas has reached 50% of the local fuel mix. It may look promising. However, natural gas is only a “cleaner” energy and does give off greenhouse gases, albeit as 50% less carbon emissions than coal burning. The fracking to obtain natural gas also releases large amounts of methane, which is 25 times more powerful than carbon dioxide as a greenhouse gas. During the extracting process, enormous amounts of water resource are consumed and the chemicals used may pollute precious underground water. The fact is, natural gas accelerates global warming, only the deeper impacts occur outside Hong Kong.

The government has also formulated a roadmap on popularisation of electric vehicles. Phasing out fuel-propelled vehicles may be an important step in carbon reduction. However, how would it be possible to reach carbon neutrality if vehicles are still powered by electricity generated from fossil fuels?

On the other hand, the government shows its lack of determination in promoting renewable energy. At present, the percentage of renewable energy accounts for less than 1% of overall energy use and the official target is 3-4%. Putting it against the context of carbon neutrality in 2050, the target looks more like a joke. The official document went to great lengths in defending the modest target—immature technology, high cost, lack of land, etc. These excuses have been heard by the public for many years. Have we not actually overcome any of the difficulties?

Among all kinds of renewable energy technologies, solar power has achieved more mature development. In the past, energy efficiency was about 15-18%, meaning that for every 100 units of solar energy received, 15 to 18 units can be converted into electricity. In 2016, the Solar Farm at Siu Ho Wan Sewage Treatment Works—the largest one owned by the government—started operation. The photovoltaic panels deployed have an efficiency of 15.8%. However, in April 2020, the U.S. National Renewable Energy Laboratory succeeded in fabricating solar panels with record high efficiency of 47%, almost three times the existing level in Hong Kong.

As technologies advance, the cost of renewable energy has drastically reduced. According to figures from the International Renewable Energy Agency, the cost of solar power has dropped 82% in the last decade, reaching $0.31 Hong Kong dollars per kWh of electricity, which is even 20% lower than coal (the cheapest fossil fuel) and 30% lower than nuclear power. Continuous innovation in science and technology has made the talk of unready technology and high cost of renewable energy untenable.

Taking it further, do we have sufficient space for the deployment of solar power in Hong Kong? According to information provided by the Legislative Council Secretariat, there were 391 hectares of vacant government land and 4,200 hectares of land allocated for the government, institution, community facilities and public housing in 2019. The Solmunity, an advocacy group of solar power use, has calculated that if solar panels are installed on 50% of the vacant government land area, 20% of total roof area and 30% of total reservoir area, the electricity produced can fulfil 21% of overall demand in Hong Kong. Critics may say that the suggestion is too “aggressive”, and there are more details to attend to in actual operation. Nonetheless, in the face of the worsening climate crisis, we do not have much room to hesitate. In fact, the 2050 carbon neutral objective by the Hong Kong government is rather “aggressive” but also necessary.

The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change has warned that if the global temperature raises over 1.5℃, climate change becomes irreversible. 2050 may be literally the “deadline” for humans. There is a real urgency to achieve carbon neutrality. Mr. Wong Kam-sing, Secretary for the Environment, said in a media interview that more details of the action plan will be announced in the third quarter of this year. We are anxiously awaiting more concrete actions instead of mere slogans for the transition to zero emissions in Hong Kong.

Carbon Neutral 2050 is not just a slogan
Photo from Pixabay

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

「2050碳中和」不只是口號

原文刊於星島《綠色論壇》(2021年8月6日)
作者:綠色力量

踏入盛夏,隨便在網絡搜尋器輸入「破紀錄高溫」,已發現不同地方在過去一段短時內均已創下歷史新高:南極錄得逾18℃、北歐國家錄得逾30℃、加拿大錄得近50℃……全球暖化愈趨嚴峻,人類是否正在慢性自殺?

為應對全球暖化,中國去年提出於2030年實現「碳達峰」;2060年前實現碳中和。香港目標就更進取,將碳中和的死線定在2050年。目標進取固然值得表揚,但如何達標,以及是否達標才是關鍵。港府於2017年推出《香港氣候行動藍圖2030+》,訂立中期減排方向,於2030年減少65-75%碳排放。綜觀藍圖內的目標細項,以至近年港府推行的減排措施,恐怕要多加努力,才有望合格,還不要說達標。

本港減排大計的最大盲點,是忽視可再生能源的重要性。政府將重心放在天然氣發電,期望代替燃煤發電,以減少化石燃料發電過程所產生的碳排放。隨著新的燃氣發電機組於2020年投產,本港的天然氣發電亦增至50%。看似成績超卓,但其實天然氣只是「較潔淨」的能源,燃燒時雖較燃煤少50%碳排放,但仍會產生溫室氣體。加上天然氣透過壓裂的方式抽取,過程中釋出大量甲烷,其溫室氣體強度更是二氧化碳的25倍,過程中亦耗用大量水資源,當中使用的化學物更可能污染珍貴的地下水源。即是說,天然氣同樣會加劇全球暖化,只不過最大的影響是在香港境外發生。

政府亦力推電動車,訂立普及路線圖。淘汰燃油車雖然是減排政策的重要一步,但單單是汽車的能源轉型,而發電的能源仍是化石燃料,又怎樣達至碳中和?

另一邊廂,港府推動可再生能源的功夫,則少得可憐。目前本地可再生能源佔比少於1%,而政府訂立的目標為3-4%,與「2050碳中和」這目標放在一起,猶如黑色幽默。官方文件花了很長的篇幅,為訂立這微小的目標護航:技術欠成熟、成本高昂、缺乏土地等。這些原因市民已聽了許多年,難題是否多年來亦不能克服?

在各種可再生能源中,以太陽能技術最為成熟。過往的太陽能技術,一般的發電效率為15-18%,即每接收100單位來自太陽的能量,有15-18個單位可轉化成電能。現時政府最大的太陽能發電場是小蠔灣污水處理廠,於2016年投入運作,當中所使用的太陽能發電板,效能為15.8%。不過在2020年4月,美國國家可再生能源實驗室(National Renewable Energy Laboratory)已研發出效率達47%的太陽能板,創下目前最高發電效率的紀錄,足足是香港目前使用的三倍。

同樣隨科技的進步,可再生能源的成本亦大幅下降。跟據國際再生能源總署的數字,太陽能發電的成本在過去十年間大幅下跌了82%,每度電價格為港幣$0.31,較燃煤(最便宜的化石燃料)低20%,亦較核電便宜30%。發展可再生能源受技術不足與成本過高限制的說法,在科研推進下,恐怕已站不住腳。

進一步看,香港又是否有足夠空間發展太陽能?按立法會秘書處的資料,本港於2019年有391公頃空置政府土地;4,200公頃則是政府、機構、社區設施及公營房屋用地。團體「日出社區」曾提出,由政府釋出五成空置可發展土地面積、兩成的總天台面積,再配合三成總水塘面積,安裝排太陽能板,所產生的電量,足以應付本地約21%需求。或者有人會認為相關建議「進取」,實際運作亦有不少細節需要考慮,但在氣候問題面前,我們其實沒有太多「保守」的空間,更何況當局定下的2050碳中和目標本身已夠進取。

政府間氣候變化專門委員會(IPCC)指出,假如全球溫度上升超過1.5℃,氣候變化將不能逆轉。2050年,也許是人類歷史上真正的「死」線。黃錦星局長早前接受傳媒訪問時稱,會於今年第三季提出具體實現碳中和的行動細節。我們拭目以待,期望政府推出針對零碳排的實際行動,而非動聽的口號而已。

2050碳中和 不只是口號
Photo from Pixabay

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)