1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

A Wrong Mosquito Trap?

Jun 2021
Author: Green Power

It is the mosquitoes’ summer party time! The swarming mosquitoes are not only a nuisance that cause itching, but are dangerous vectors of viral diseases such as Japanese encephalitis and Dengue fever. So every measure is taken to exterminate the little creatures. In many parks, housing estates and schools, we can see sticky yellow paper traps set up in the outdoor space. While you may think that we have succeeded in our mission, you may be disappointed to find that the paper traps that are all covered with bug corpses are actually an illusion—they may even cause the mosquito population to boom!

The yellow paper traps lure insects that are attracted to the colour. However, mosquitoes and biting midges follow mostly the body temperature and carbon dioxide as they feed on animal blood. These little bugs will not fall onto the yellow traps. Indeed, what usually caught on the paper traps are innocent insects that feed on nectar or plant sap. The trap is not the proper tool to tackle the mosquito problem.

On the other hand, the sticky paper traps full of bugs are inviting to insect-feeding animals. Unfortunately, they are also doorways to death in some cases. As the predators approach the feast, they are easily glued and hurt, and may even starve to death. Geckoes’ bodies, or torn feathers of birds, are often found on the paper traps. People have also shared on social media how they have saved birds stuck on the traps and cleaned the glue from their feathers—however, not all of them survive. It is ironic that the traps set up to kill mosquitoes turn out to harm geckoes and birds that prey on mosquitoes. When the natural enemies are reduced, mosquitoes thrive.

In view of this, in 2019 the Hong Kong Wild Bird Conservation Concern Group collected photographs on social media and expressed concern to the Leisure and Cultural Services Department. The department has since stopped the use of sticky paper traps in all leisure venues under its management. However, the measure has not been followed by private housing estates, schools and public housing estates under government’s management. Today we are still seeing the widespread use of sticky paper traps in open space.

To tackle the problem of mosquitoes and biting midges, the most effective ways are to remove any still water that the creatures rely on for breeding, and clear debris and refuse in public open spaces such as flower beds to keep the soil dry. With good ventilation and a dry environment, mosquitoes and biting midges can be properly controlled. Mosquito killing machines can also be installed if necessary, which cause less harm to other innocent animals.

A Wrong Mosquito Trap ©Peggy Chung
©Peggy Chung
A Wrong Mosquito Trap ©Peggy Chung
©Peggy Chung
Geckoes and torn feathers of birds found on the paper traps.

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

滅蚊不成反累事?

2021年6月
作者:綠色力量

又到蚊蟲大量出沒的夏季,尤其是蚊子,被叮咬人後不但痕癢難耐,而且牠們更是日本腦炎、登革熱等傳染病的傳播媒介,所以大家都要加緊滅蚊。不少公園、屋苑、學校等戶外公共空間都會掛上黃色的捕蟲紙,每當看到捕蟲紙上黏滿小蟲,滿以為成效顯著,可是這些「成果」卻是假象,甚至有可能令蚊子數目增多!

常見的捕蟲紙為黃色,原理是利用吸引昆蟲的顏色誘使牠們飛近,然後被捕蟲紙上的膠漿黏著。可是蚊和蠓等叮人的昆蟲是靠吸血維生,主要以追蹤體溫和二氧化碳濃度覓食,因此並不會被黃色的捕蟲紙吸引。事實上在捕蟲紙上密密麻麻被擒獲的,往往是以花蜜或植物汁液為生的無辜昆蟲,捕蟲紙並不能有效殺滅蚊子。

另一方面,由於捕蟲紙上黏滿昆蟲,對於以昆蟲為食的動物,捕蟲紙無異於放滿豐盛佳餚的自助餐廳。然而當這些動物準備捕食捕蟲紙上的昆蟲時,很容易會被黏著,輕則受傷,重則活活餓死在捕蟲紙上。不少捕蟲紙上都可以找到被黏著的壁虎,或是雀鳥掙扎時硬生生扯下的羽毛。過去亦有不少網民分享救助被黏在捕蟲紙上的雀鳥照片,可惜即使能清除羽毛上的黏膠,部分雀鳥因掙扎而受傷,最終亦不能救活。結果為了捕殺蚊子而設的陷阱,傷害的卻是會捕食蚊子的壁虎和雀鳥。當蚊子的天敵減少,最終反而可能使蚊子大量繁衍。

有見及此,2019年香港野生雀鳥保育關注組收集網上因捕蟲紙而受害的動物照片,再向管理公園的康文署表達關注,最終康文署於同年下令全港康樂場地停用捕蟲紙。然而康文署的舉措似乎未能引起私人屋苑、學校,以及同樣屬於政府管轄的公共屋邨嚮應,現時捕蟲紙仍廣泛使用於各種公共空間。

其實要消滅蚊和蠓,最有效的方法是清除牠們賴以繁殖的積水,還要減少花槽內的雜物和垃圾,以保持泥土乾爽。只要保持通風和乾爽,蚊和蠓就難以孳生。有需要時則可安裝滅蚊機,既可減少蚊患,亦不會傷害其他無辜動物。

滅蚊不成反累事 ©Peggy Chung
©Peggy Chung
滅蚊不成反累事 ©Peggy Chung
©Peggy Chung
捕蟲紙上黏著的壁虎和雀鳥掙扎時留下的羽毛

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)