1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

Has the Plastic Beverage Containers PRS measured up to public expectation?

Original text published in Sing Tao Daily “Green Forum” (16 April, 2021)
Author: Green Power

For years, Green Power has campaigned for the Producer Responsibility Scheme on drinks containers — and the public has also longed for such scheme. In 2017, the HKSAR government commissioned a consultancy study on the topic. After a long wait of five years, the public consultation on Producer Responsibility Scheme (PRS) on Plastic Beverage Containers was finally out. Still, there are a lot to be pondered over.

Step by step? Or lack of vision?

The most disappointing about the latest public consultation is that only plastic beverage containers are regulated, whereas drink cartons are exempted. Drink carton ranks second and accounts for 17% of Hong Kong’s beverage market. Each year over 27,000 tonnes of paper waste are buried in the landfill. However, the issue was largely overlooked by the government with the excuse of lacking recycling facilities. In recent years, the first local pulp mill was set up with recycling facilities for drink cartons. It is only ironic that without the PRS in place, the recycling rate is hardly satisfactory: the daily recycling amount is less than 10 tonnes, or half the maximum capacity of 20 tonnes, whereas on the other hand, enormous amount of paper beverage containers are dumped in the landfill at the same time.

As we mentioned earlier, the government carried out the study for PRS on plastic containers in 2017. Five years have passed and it is still in the stage of consultation. If we look at the PRS on glass bottles, the consultation stage lasted from 2013 to 2016 when it finally passed the legislature—yet still waiting to go into gazette. How long do we have to wait to see the legislation of PRS on drink carton?

In response to criticism, officials answered that the government would consider extending the PRS to other drinks packaging when conditions allow. We are quite curious whether the local paper carton recycling plant is counted as one such “condition”? And is it not the responsibility of the government to create suitable conditions? The local recycling plant has indicated that upon adjustment of the production line, the daily handling capacity can increase from the present 20 tonnes to 50 tonnes, which is two-thirds of the total waste amount in Hong Kong. There are different citizen-run recycling schemes. Green Power alone collected 15 tonnes of paper beverage cartons in the trial. The industry is getting ready. The public is getting ready. The call for recycling paper beverage containers is clear and loud. It is the government’s lack of will and determination to complete the PRS.

Deposit return or rebate? Are they the same?

The consultation document proposed a 10-cent rebate per plastic bottle returned to encourage the public to recycle. Suppose the retail price of a plastic bottled juice is $10, a 10-cent rebate is only 1% of the selling price. How many people will change their habit—if they do not already have the habit of recycling—for the minimal 10 cents?

Apart from the unattractive amount, the how-to-do-it is also an issue. Deposit-return is more effective in changing consumer behavior compared to rebate. Say for the $10 juice as example again, if we raise the economic incentive to 50 cents, $10 as the actual price and 50 cents as the deposit return, consumers have to pay $10.5 in total. However, the distinction is clear. Consumers know that the price of the juice is unchanged by returning the bottle. In the case of rebate, consumers only see the price increase but may not modify their behavior accordingly. In addition, when the two items are mixed together, producers can easily adjust the price and transfer the extra cost of recycling to consumers, which defies the principle of producer responsibility.

After the setting up of PRS, there are still a lot of details to be sorted out in the implementation. The consultation document emphasized a lot the use of Reverse Vending Machine (RVM). We are not opposed to the use of RVM, however, we should limit our reliance on it. The recycling network itself should be built wide and diverse. The existing network of street recycling shops and mobile recycling vehicles should be well utilized in support of local recycling industry.

As for the downstream of the recycled materials, we are all well aware of the potential impacts from outside the territory as Hong Kong has indeed faced several times of “paper jam crisis”. Therefore, it is essential that priority should go to local recycling and minimize reliance on export. Regulating the treatment of recycled materials is a way to stabilize and help develop the local recycling industry.

Setting up the PRS is an important milestone of Hong Kong’s waste reduction policy. We hope that the government will speed up the legislation process with more determination and vision and build up a well thought-out PRS system to tackle the long term waste problem in Hong Kong.

Has the Plastic Beverage Containers PRS measured up to public expectation?

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

膠樽生產者責任 交到功課嗎?

原文刊於星島日報《綠色論壇》(2021年4月16日)
作者:綠色力量

飲料容器的生產者責任計劃是不少市民期待已久,亦是綠色力量多年來的倡議。政府於2017進行顧問研究,苦候五年,終於推出「 塑膠飲料容器生產者責任計劃 」公眾諮詢。諮詢文件內有不少立法建議值得我們探討。

按部就班,還是缺乏遠見?

是次只將塑膠飲料容器納入規管範圍,未有包括紙包盒包裝,相信令不少市民大失所望。紙包飲品是香港第二大的飲品消費品,佔飲品市場17%,每年棄置量逾27,000噸,多年來一直被忽視,當時政府推說缺乏回收設備,可是近年已有回收商於本地設廠,引入紙包盒回收再造設備,製成紙漿,是本地首間造漿廠。可惜在缺乏生產者責任制推動下,社會難以全面投入回收,結果回收廠回收率不足,每日最高20噸的紙包盒處理量卻只有不足10噸回收量;另一邊廂每日卻有大量紙包盒棄置堆填區。

正如文章開首提及,當局2017年已為膠樽生產者責任制進行研究,但到2021年的今天仍停留在諮詢階段,更莫說何時才能真正實施。又看看玻璃樽的生產者責任,2013年進行諮詢至2016年通過法例,至今仍未刊憲生效。我們還要等多久才能為紙包盒立法?

早前政府官員回應有關質詢,僅指在本地條件成熟時,會考慮進一步擴展計劃至其他飲品包裝。若然本地已有紙包盒回收廠仍未算是「條件」之一,退一步來說,創造合適條件不就是政府應擔當的角色嗎?本地紙包盒回收廠早前表示,調整生產鏈後,每日處理量可由目前的20噸增至50噸,即全港棄置量的三分之二;民間亦有不同規模的回收試行計劃,單是敝機構的回收計劃,已回收得逾15噸的紙包盒。業界已準備就緒,民間對紙包盒的回收意識早已成形,回收訴求亦相當清晰,剩下只欠政府的決心和魄力,建立完整的生產者責任制。

按樽與回贈,誘因是否相同?

諮詢文件初步建議,每個膠樽提供1毫子經濟誘因,以回贈的形式,吸引市民參與回收。假設一支膠樽裝果汁零售價為10元,1毫子回贈只佔售價的1%,本身缺乏回收習慣的市民,又有多少會為那1毫而改變行為?

除了金額,還有形式。「按樽」比起「回贈」更能改變消費者的行為習慣。再以剛才售價10元的果汁為例,假設經濟誘因提高至5毫。在「按樽」的情況下,10元為售價,5毫為按樽價,共需付$10.5,兩項金額分野清晰。在消費者眼中,取回按樽價後,產品價格即能維持不變,將會更容易吸引消費者參與回收。相反,在「回贈」的情況下,產品價格上調為10.5元,消費者眼中只看到產品價格上調,難以引導行為轉變。而且,兩項金額分野模糊時,生產商更容易大幅上調價格,將回收成本轉嫁市民,有違生產者責任制的原則。

生產者責任制落實後,在執行上仍有不少細節問題需要處理。諮詢文件有不少篇幅推銷「入樽機」。筆者並非全盤否定其效用,但當局建設的回收網絡必須夠廣泛及多元,不應過份依頼入樽機。現存的街角回收鋪、流動回收車應納入回收網絡,扶持本地回收業。

回收物的下游處理方面,香港經歷過多次「廢紙圍城」,深明外圍因素波動對本地回收的影響。因此。是次生產者責任,亦應規管回收物的處理,以本地再造優先,減少依頼出口,同時為本地回收業創造助力,穩定業界發展。

訂立生產者責任制,是本港減廢政策上的重要一步,我們期望政府加快立法步伐,更希望官員拿出足夠的魄力及遠見, 一步到位,建立完善的生產者責任制,解決多年來的廢物問題。

膠樽生產者責任  交到功課嗎?

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)