1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

Soil Pollution

Apr 2021
Author: Green Power

“Soil pollution” is a rather unfamiliar term to most people. In Hong Kong, the best-known recent incidence of large-scale soil pollution would be the shipyard pollution in Penny’s Bay, Lantau, in 2002. When Penny’s Bay was returned to the government for the construction of the theme park, serious pollution from the shipyard caused by various harmful substances such as heavy metals, dioxins and organic pollutants was exposed. The pollution had been going on for years. There were some 87,000 cubic metres of polluted soil. If it was not treated properly, enormous health risks would be posed to users of any facilities built on the land.

It is not easy to remove pollutants from soil. First, the area of the polluted site and properties and concentrations of the pollutants have to be known. Then it will be decided whether to carry out on-site or transfer treatment. The larger the polluted site, or the higher the concentration of pollutants, the greater the difficulty and the higher the cost.

If there are volatile pollutants, hot air can be pumped into the soil. Through heating up the soil, evaporation of the volatile pollutants is accelerated. The air containing the pollutants can then be extracted. If the pollutants can be dissolved by organic solvents, suitable solvents can be injected into the soil and then the dissolved pollutants can be extracted for further treatment. Soil contaminated by heavy metals is usually mixed with concrete to stabilize the pollutants and prevent seepage in the soil.

Chemical treatment is not the only way. There are quite a few “helpers” in nature that can treat pollution. For example, some microbes in the soil are pollutant “busters”. Through changing factors affecting the soil environment such as temperature, humidity or nutrients, these useful microbes can multiply, and help digest pollutants in the soil over time. On the other hand, some plants are good at “collecting” pollutants. Research has found that crucifers can rapidly absorb metals in the soil including chromium, lead and zinc. These crops can be planted and harvested to slowly remove soil pollutants. These biological methods of pollution treatment are more beneficial to the environment, but are limited by factors such as time, efficiency and concentration of pollutants.

It takes a short time to pollute the environment, but the treatment of pollution requires enormous time, human and other resources. It is crucial to discover and stop pollution at source. There are studies in other countries that make use of trees to monitor soil pollution. Trees absorb water and nutrients through their root systems. If the soil is polluted by heavy metals and organic compounds, the pollutants will enter and accumulate in the tree cores. Therefore, regular monitoring of the content of heavy metals and organic compounds in the tree cores is a rapid way to test soil pollution. The affected area and even time of pollution can be estimated by this method.

Compared with other types of pollution such as air, noise and water, soil pollution is much neglected in public awareness as there is no large-scale agriculture in Hong Kong anymore. However, soil—like air and water—is basic to our survival. Protecting the soil is equally important to the overall health of the environment and people!

Image
Photo from Pixabay

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

土壤污染

2021年4月
作者:綠色力量

「土壤污染」一詞相信對很多人來說均較為陌生。近年在香港發生的較大型和為人所知的土壤污染事件,要數到2002年大嶼山竹篙灣的船廠污染。當年因為興建大型主題公園,政府需收回竹篙灣土地,才發現土壤受當地船廠長年污染,含有大量重金屬、二噁英、有機化合物等多種有害污染物,受污染泥土更多達87,000立方米,情況嚴重。如沒有適當處理,日後在上面興建任何設施,必定對使用者帶來莫大的健康風險。

要移除泥土中的污染物並不容易。首先要了解受污染土壤的面積、污染物的特性和濃度,從而選擇原址處理或轉移處理。土壤的面積愈大,或污染物的濃度愈高,處理的難度愈大,所耗費的金錢亦愈多。

針對具揮發性的污染物,可以將熱空氣注入泥土,透過加熱泥土,加快污染物揮發,之後再將蒸發的污染物氣體抽走。如果污染物能溶於有機溶液,可將適合的溶液注射入泥土中,待污染物溶於溶液中,再抽走處理。至於金屬類污染物,多選擇用混凝土與受污染泥土混和,將金屬污染物固定,避免滲出。

化學處理並不是唯一的途徑,原來自然界中亦有很多處理污染的「好幫手」。例如有些泥土中的微生物就是污染物的「剋星」,透過改變泥土的環境如溫度、濕度或養分等,促進這類微生物生長,便可慢慢消化泥土中的污染物。另外,有些植物是收集污染物的「能手」。有研究發現十字花科植物能快速吸收泥土中的金屬如鉻、鉛、鋅等,透過種植和收割這些植物便能慢慢移除泥土中的污染物。這種依賴生物的處理方式,更有利於環境,但受限於處理時間、效率、濃度等多個因素。

污染可能只是一剎那間的事情,但處理卻要耗費大量時間、人力、資源進行,所以及早發現並堵截污染源頭尤其重要。有外國機構研究出利用樹木監測土壤污染情況。樹木經由根部吸收泥土中的水分和養分成長,如果土壤受到重金屬和有機化合物污染,污染物亦會透過這個途徑進入樹芯,在樹木內累積。因此,定期監測樹芯的重金屬和有機化合物含量,便可以快速知道土壤有否受污染,並可評估受污染範圍,甚至推斷出受污染時間。

相比其他類型的污染,例如是空氣、噪音、水污染等,土壤污染在已沒有大型農業生產的香港來說,與一般市民的關係似乎非常遙遠,因此一直被忽視。然而,土壤與空氣、水等物質一樣,是維持生命的最基本元素,與我們其實有切身關係,保護土壤對環境和人們的整體健康都十分重要!

Image
Photo from Pixabay

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)