1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

Urban Park Naturalisation

Oct 2020
Author: Green Power

Hong Kong is proud to have a considerable area of urban park, albeit they are scattered around different corners of the territory. Considering only those managed by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department, there are 43 medium and large size urban parks and waterfront promenades occupying a total area of 322 hectares, equivalent to 1.3-times the area of Cheung Chau. However, when we take a look at urban parks in other places worldwide, many of them are becoming more natural and ecologically friendly, compared to the rather "artificial" ones in Hong Kong.

Ecologically, urban parks may not be comparable to country parks. Nonetheless, their location in the city allow them to turn into “oases” for a variety of wild animals. For example, in Kowloon Park, over 70 wild bird species have been recorded, including some migratory birds that stay briefly here. Hong Kong Park is even renowned as being home to the second largest community of wild Yellow-crested Cockatoos ( Cacatua sulphurea ) in the world.

A local survey conducted in 2018 on public expectations regarding leisure grounds (including urban parks) indicated that 45% and 35% of the respondents hope to see more grassland for leisure use and more trees and shrubs planted, respectively. The general consensus is to have more green spaces in urban parks.

Globally, the overall trend is towards the creation of more natural and ecologically friendly urban parks, raising the concept of "natural ecology parks". In the U.S., for instance, wild animal reserves are set up inside the parks to attract migratory birds, and these become bird-watching hotspots for the public. In Taiwan, the use of cement is being gradually reduced, and more grassland and natural soil paths are retained, and trees are used to replace artificial kiosks. In Japan, some areas of parks are kept in their original natural state, and human management is reduced to a minimum. Visitors may enjoy the experience of natural forest in such areas.

Looking back at the urban parks in Hong Kong, we will find a very different "human-centered" management approach: well-pruned vegetation, fitness and recreational facilities, overly tidy concrete walkways … all turn the parks into artificial landscapes. When it comes to urban park management, Hong Kong obviously lags far behind other places around the world.

On the other hand, country parks under the management of the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department are more "natural" than urban parks; albeit the leisure, fitness and recreational facilities are similar. Apart from environmental factors, the management philosophy is what makes the big difference. Leisure facilities in country parks integrate better with nature, keeping more grassland and soil intact. Natural stone materials are used for ground covering and waste wood is collected and up-cycled into park facilities. In addition, pruning is kept to a minimum, to allow free growth of the plants. Pest control is based mainly on natural enemies to keep balance in nature, reducing reliance on pesticides. More native plants are cultivated to attract native wild animals… These are all good measures that urban parks can take as examples.

A more natural urban park provides a better home for city animals and brings numerous benefits for people as well. In Hong Kong, the tightly packed high-rise buildings make heat dispersion difficult and often create a heat-island effect, which becomes worse when heatwaves hit in summer time, escalating the public health risk of heat stroke and exhaustion. Increasing urban greenery is one way to alleviate the heat-island effect; however, it is not easy to increase the green area in our crowded urban environment. Urban parks have the potential to increase green surfaces, which might be one of the effective measures in combating the ever-hotter Hong Kong summers.

Image
The design and materials of leisure facilities in country parks better integrate with nature.
Image
The "human-centered" management approach makes urban parks overly artificial.

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

市區公園自然化

2020年10月
作者:綠色力量

香港的市區公園分布雖然零散,但加起來的面積卻不小。單單是康樂文化事務處管理的中、大型市區公園及海濱長廊便有43個,佔地共322公頃,相當於1.3個長洲的面積。然而,相比其他地區的市區公園,已逐步打造成更貼近自然的生態友善空間,香港的則顯得較為「人工化」。

市區公園在生態價值方面雖然不及郊野公園,但因坐落鬧市中心地帶,成為了不少野生動物的綠洲。例如九龍公園曾錄得逾70種野生雀鳥,包括一些短暫遷徙到港的鳥類。又例如香港公園棲息了為數不少的小葵花鸚鵡(Cacatua sulphurea),更加是全球第二大的野生小葵花鳳頭鸚鵡族群。

曾有組織於2018年進行調查,了解市民對休憩用地(包括市區公園)的意見,發現分別有45%及35%的受訪者希望增加可供休憩的草坪及種植更多樹木和灌木,可見市民亦希望市區公園能夠綠多一點點。

國際間亦趨向打造更自然、更生態友善的市區公園,提倡「自然生態公園」概念。例如:美國會在公園內設野生動物保護區,吸引遷徙到來的候鳥,成為市民觀鳥的絕佳地點;台灣近年則逐步減少公園的非必要水泥使用,保留更多的草地及泥地小徑,並以大樹取代涼亭;日本更將部分公園用地直接保留最原始的風貌,同時將人為管理減至非常低的程度,讓遊人置身其中,宛若置身大自然森林。

回看香港的市區公園:修剪得宜的植物、各式各樣的健身遊玩設施、鋪砌劃一的石屎步道……無一不是以「人」為本,這種「重人」的管理模式,往往令公園變得人工化。與其他地區比較起來,香港的市區公園顯然失卻了「自然的味道」。

反觀由漁農自然護理署管理的香港郊野地區,當中的野餐、休息、遠足等設施,與市區公園的休閒設施相類似,卻比市區公園看起來更「自然」,除了周遭環境因素影響外,主要原因在於兩者管理模式的不同。郊野地區的休閒設施傾向與自然共融,因此會保留草地、泥地,亦選用天然石材鋪砌地面,又會收集廢木,升級再造成遊人設施。此外,亦會減少為植物修枝塑形,讓它們自由生長;減少非必要的滅蟲工作,改以自然界中的天敵平衡害蟲方法;更著重栽種本土植物,以吸引原生野生生物棲息覓食……相信當中不少措施和方法,都有市區公園值得借鏡的地方。

更接近自然的市區公園,除了為城市小動物提供更良好的生存空間,亦為人們帶來好處。香港城市環境高廈林立,熱力不易消散,形成熱島效應。夏天時,每當熱浪來襲,熱島效應更會令熱浪加劇,增加我們中暑和熱衰竭的風險。增加市區植被是舒緩熱島效應的方法之一,但要在香港如此密集的市區環境增加植被又談何容易。相反,市區公園卻有潛力增加更多植被面積。面對夏天愈來愈熱,更好的利用市區公園,不失為有效的緩解措施之一。

Image
郊野地區的休閒設施,設計及用料均傾向與自然共融。
Image
市區公園的設計「重人」,令整體環境變得人工化。

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)