1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

People Who Sacrificed Their Lives for the Environment

Aug 2020
Author: Green Power

National flags were draped over coffins, silently placed in the soil. Grief stricken people bade their last farewell to the 12 rangers of Virunga National Park – who had sacrificed their lives to safeguarding the environment.

Virunga National Park of the Democratic Republic of Congo is the first national park reserve in Africa. It is home to the endangered mountain gorillas (Gorilla beringei beringei) as well as hundreds of species of rare flora and fauna. At the same time, the rich natural resources have become targets of illegal human activities such as poaching and illicit charcoal production.

The tragic event happened in April this year. The park rangers were ambushed by a group of local armed rebels, who rely on illegal logging and poaching in the park as their major income. Park rangers were their enemy. And the 12 rangers who lost their lives are only the latest victims in the long conflict between conservationists and organised crime groups.

Similar incidents occurred in Mexico earlier this year. Two conservationists who were active in protecting monarch butterflies (Danaus plexippus) were killed by suspected local crime groups within a week. Mexico is an important overwintering site of monarch butterflies. Each year, tens of thousands of monarchs carry out an epic migration from Canada to Mexico for overwintering. The advocacy for protecting the overwintering habitats in Mexico has threatened the illegal logging interest of crime groups, which led to the killing of the two dedicated conservationists.

Surprisingly, these implausible tragedies happen more often than you might believe. A study published in Natural Sustainability revealed that in the past 15 years (2002-2017), a total of 1,558 environmentalists have been killed—they were all protectors of the land, water or wildlife. In most cases, legal justice failed our victims. Only in 10% of the cases were the murderers convicted. The study pointed out that the figures might be conservative, as large numbers of murder cases in developing countries or authoritarian regimes go unreported. Countless environmentalists "vanished" without a trace…

To many of us city dwellers, "environmental protection" may mean only a change in our daily habits to reduce energy use or waste production. We may not be aware of the complicated and comprehensive web of interests that is involved in environmental protection. When the interests of crime groups are in question, conservationists face danger and even death threats doing their work. What can we do in Hong Kong when the conservation frontier is at the other side of the globe?

There are many things we can do. When feeling powerless, we have to keep asking the above questions and put our words into action: help generate public pressure by sharing environmental concerns on social media, develop consumer power by boycotting palm-oil based products (such as personal care products and chocolates) from unknown source, etc… Look into local conservation issues, write to the Town Planning Board to express your views on Hong Kong's development, join others in environmental petitions, support local agriculture… Every bit of action counts, and can make a change eventually!

We must never lose our hope or give up our care and passion. Only by working together can our common values and the precious Earth be protected!

Image
Endangered mountain gorilla
Photo from Pixabay
Image
Overwintering of monarch butterflies
Photo from Pixabay

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

那些為環保而獻上生命的人們

2020年8月
作者:綠色力量

棺木蓋上國旗,安靜地放置在泥地上。悲傷的人們,聚集在一起,作出了最後的致敬,道別12位徇職的維龍加國家公園護林員。他們,為了守護環境,獻上了自己的生命。

維龍加國家公園位於非洲的剛果民主共和國,是非洲第一個國家公園保護區,當中居住了瀕危的山地大猩猩(Gorilla beringei beringei),亦是上百種稀有物種的重要棲息地。生態資源豐盛的同時,國家公園亦面對大量威脅,包括盜獵、非法木炭生產等。

事情發生在今年4月,護林員遭到當地武裝組織伏擊,而該武裝組織的主要收入來源,正是來自保護區內伐林、狩獵等非法作業。不法份子面對的唯一阻力,就是保護區內的護林員,而這12位護林員,就是在這角力戰中喪命。

同年,在拉丁美洲的墨西哥亦發生類似慘案,兩名保育人士先後於一星期內遇害,相信是遭到當地犯罪集團的毒手。墨西哥是帝王斑蝶(Danaus plexippus)每年越冬的重要遷徙地,每年數以萬計的帝王斑蝶從加拿大飛赴墨西哥過冬。遇害的兩名保育人士,生前致力保育帝王斑蝶越冬棲息地,這項倡議,卻威脅到犯罪集團的非法伐林利益,最終令二人成為「剷除」目標。

為保育而獻上生命看似匪夷所思,但原來這些慘案,在世界不同角落頻密地發生。一份發表在科學期刊《Natural Sustainability》的研究指出,在過去15年間(2002至2017),總共有1,558名環境運動人士被殺害,他們生前致力保衛土地、水源或是野生生態。這些命案中,只有10%定罪率,犯人大多逃過法律制裁。研究更認為以上數字只屬保守估算,大量命案發生在落後地區或威權統治國家,沒有正式報告,不少環保工作者就這樣無聲無色地「消失」……

都市人心目中的「環保」,可能是節約用電、源頭減廢等生活習慣。但原來第一身保護環境資源,需要面對如此龐大而複雜的利害關係,當非法集團利益受損時,保育人士每天都為著地球環境而面對死亡威脅。保育最前線遠在地球另一端,身在香港的我們,又可以做甚麼?

大家最重要亦能夠做的事,正是在無力感包圍時,反覆問上述這個問題,並將答案付諸行動。可以做的事其實比想像中多:製造輿論壓力,在社交媒體上多關注及分享環境保育的倡議;發揮消費者選擇的力量,杯葛來源地不明的棕櫚油製品(如個人護理產品、朱古力等)……當然,本土的保育事件,亦不要忽視:就城市發展多向城規會反映意見、參與聯署在環保議題上發聲、支持本土農業……當我們的行動一點一滴累積下來,就能帶來改變!

不習慣、不絕望,也不要覺得「事不關己」。在我們能力所及的地方,一同努力,堅守大家相信的價值。

Image
瀕危的山地大猩猩
Photo from Pixabay
Image
帝王斑蝶有越冬的習性
Photo from Pixabay

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)