1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

Sponge City

Jun 2020
Author: Green Power

Cities are built of concrete. The buildings and roads are all made up of this non-absorbing and impermeable material. In a city, therefore, rainwater is usually speedily drained away via sewers. Under extreme weather, however, the drainage system may be overloaded as large amounts of rainwater come in within a short period. In recent years, we have seen more and more extreme rainstorms and storm surges, globally due to climate change. We are facing an increasing risk of flooding and even loss of human life and property in cities. Given this situation, the concept of “sponge city” –managing rainwater discharges by the natural principles—is emerging around the world.

Sponge is a common daily article that is soft and can easily absorb and store water. A “sponge city” incorporates the functions of a sponge in its design—absorbing excessive water during rainstorms, to attenuate flooding risk by regulating rainwater discharge. After filtration and purification, the absorbed water can be utilised as a water resource, unlike typically, with rainwater is discharged into the sea and wasted.

In practice, there are six principles of a sponge city: infiltration, detention, storage, purification, reuse and discharge. Infiltration means making road surfaces more permeable; detention increases water retention such as on green roofs; storage refers to enhancement of water storage capacity like temporary underground stormwater tanks; purification aims to clean rainwater with vegetation boosted by greening facilities; reuse rainwater for toilet flushing, irrigation and car cleaning, etc; discharge is the final step of draining rainwater through the sewers.

Hong Kong has introduced the concept of “sponge city” in new development areas. For example, the newly built Anderson Road Quarry site includes facilities such as underground stormwater storage tank, green roof, and porous pavement. A first-of-its-kind lake park was also built for flood control and leisure purposes. The artificial lake is used for temporary storage of stormwater which can be utilised for irrigation.

In the plan for the forthcoming extension of Tung Chung new town, the concept of “sponge city” was also adopted, including river revitalisation, attenuation ponds and porous pavements. A section of Tung Chung River will be transformed into River Park, the revitalised river will use the natural river bed to facilitate infiltration. In bad weather with rainstorms, the park will turn into a channel for flood attenuation.

A sponge city offers numerous benefits, including reducing flooding risk, increasing water resources, alleviating heat island effects by the increase of greenery, which also provides extra leisure grounds for the public. The concept makes a city safer and more comfortable, and is most suitable for new town developments in Hong Kong. Early and comprehensive planning of infrastructure development will allow Hong Kong to become a more livable city.

Image

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

海綿城市

2020年6月
作者:綠色力量

城市都是由混凝土建設而成的。樓宇、道路多以混凝土築成和鋪設,表面不吸水亦不滲水,所以每當下雨時,雨水便會快速地流入排水渠流走。在極端天氣下,大量雨水往往於短時間內湧到排水系統,排水系統因而不勝負荷。近年由於全球氣候變化問題,極端暴雨及風暴潮有增多趨勢,容易增加城市水浸風險,甚至造成人命財產損失。有見及此,世界不同地方開始提倡「海綿城市」,即是以自然為師,管理雨水排放並加以利用。

「海綿」是日常家居用品,質地鬆軟,可以吸水和儲水。所謂「海綿城市」,就是將城市建設成像海綿一樣,下雨時可以將雨水吸收,而不是一下子將雨水湧入排水系統,減緩城市洪水威脅。吸收的水還可以在過濾和淨化後,供人們使用,取代以往雨水只能排進大海,變相增加水資源,一舉兩得。

在實際應用上,海綿城市遵循「滲、滯、蓄、淨、用、排」六個方針。「滲」即是將路面打造成可透水,增加入滲能力;「滯」是將水滯留,例如以綠化天台將水留在土壤中;「蓄」是儲水,例如以地下蓄洪池臨時儲存雨水;「淨」是將水淨化,例如以綠化設施的植物過濾雨水;「用」則是利用,將雨水重用作沖廁、灌溉、洗車等用途;最後才是「排」,即是以具滲透功能的排水管排放雨水。

香港在新發展區亦開始引入「海綿城市」的概念,例如剛落成的安達臣道石礦場用地發展,便採納了地下蓄洪池、綠化天台、多孔路面等設計,並建有香港首個兼備防洪及康樂用途的湖泊公園,內有人工湖可臨時儲存雨水,亦將收集到的雨水重用於灌溉。

此外,未來東涌新市鎮擴展計劃亦有多種「海綿城市」的設計元素,包括河道活化、雨水滯留池、多孔路面等。其中一段東涌河會建成河畔公園,當中的活化河段會採用天然河床底層,有助促進水的滲透。在暴雨等惡劣天氣下,公園範圍更可以化身成為河道,疏導洪水。

「海綿城市」既可紓緩洪水的威脅、增加水資源外,很多時候因為增加了綠化面積,同時能紓緩城市熱島效應,亦能為市民提供休憩場所,可說是一舉多得,讓城市變得更安全及舒適怡人。「海綿城市」概念很適合引入香港新市鎮發展的設計當中,只要在基建時及早規劃,考慮多一些,便能為我們提供一個更宜居的城市。

Image

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)