1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

Human-to-Animal Diseases: How Tragic Could They Go?

Apr 2020
Author: Green Power

The recent outbreak of "Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)" provoked an enormous scare in the community. While the source is yet to be confirmed, evidence proves that the virus became infectious in human bodies after consumption of wildlife. We have learned lessons from the avian flu and severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS). Ever wondered if animals would be infected by human?

The fact is, most viruses and bacteria have more than one infection target. Broadly living in the natural environment, Staphylococcus aureus could easily infect humans and animals with weakened immune system. It has become a superbug due to the abuse of antibiotics in recent years. There were cases of pet cats and dogs those were infected by Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus Aureus (MRSA) from their owners, who were frequent hospital visitors.

Despite the rarity of close contact with humans, wild animals are not invulnerable to human diseases. In Morocco, endangered Barbary Macaques (Macaca sylvanus) were infected by human respiratory diseases because of contact with tourists, as a study revealed. In Rwanda, Africa, multiple cases of Mountain Gorillas (Gorilla beringei beringei) infected by human respiratory diseases were reported between 2008-2009, including a community that was infected by Human Metapneumovirus. Nearly all the Mountain Gorillas in that community were infected, killing an adult female gorilla and a 3-day-old baby gorilla. At the time, there were only around 700 Mountain Gorillas on the planet. The cause is crystal-clear – the diseases were transferred from humans to Mountain Gorillas during eco-tours. For this reason, the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) published the Best Practice Guidelines for Great Ape Tourism, suggesting visitors to put on N95 masks when watching great apes, for the sake of the wild animals' health.

Not surprisingly, wild animals could be infected directly, and of course, indirectly, from humans. Leprosy has long existed in Eurasia, but was absent in the Americas. However, the disease was spread to the native Americans as well as the local armadillos by European emigrants, resulting in a great number of armadillos with physical disabilities.

Furthermore, the world-sweeping Batrachochytrium dendrobatidis, which has been extensively wiping out amphibians worldwide, very likely originated from Korea, and spread by trading activities across the globe.No matter which way it is, the outcome of spreading diseases could be disastrous. We should beware of close contact with wild animals, never harm their habitats, and appreciate nature mindfully. Don't let tragedy happen again.

Image
Endangered Barbary Macaques are easily infected by human respiratory diseases when contact with tourists
Photo from Pixabay
Image
Leprosy was spread to the armadillos by human
Photo from Pixabay

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

有動物因人感染疾病嗎?

2020年4月
作者:綠色力量

近期爆發新型冠狀病毒疫情,人心惶惶。病毒源頭仍在追查中,但有很多證據均指向野生動物,指人類因食用野生動物,令原本存在於野生動物身上的病毒,突變後能夠感染人類。其實類似的情況不是首次發生,過去的禽流感和非典型肺炎都是前車之鑑。相反地,有動物會因人而感染疾病嗎?

其實不少病毒和細菌並沒有專一的感染對象,例如金黃葡萄球菌(Staphylococcus aureus)廣泛存在於自然環境中,當人類和動物免疫力下降,即有可能被感染而生病。近年由於人們濫用抗生素,使一些金黃葡萄球菌變成了「超級細菌」,過去就有寵物貓狗由經常出入醫院的主人身上,感染了高抗藥性金黃葡萄球菌。

至於野生動物,雖然很少會與人類長時間親密接觸,但仍有受人類疾病感染的風險。例如有研究發現在摩洛哥全球瀕危的叟猴(Macaca sylvanus),由於經常接觸遊人,因而被傳染各種人類呼吸系統疾病。另外,在2008-2009年間,非洲盧旺達亦有多次山地大猩猩(Gorilla beringei beringei)感染人類呼吸系統疾病的記錄,當中包括一群山地大猩猩感染人類偏肺病毒,幾乎整個族群均受感染,更造成一隻成年母猩猩及一隻出生僅3天的小猩猩死亡,當時全球尚存的山地大猩猩只餘700多隻而已。究其原因,原來是人類在生態旅遊中,觀察這些瀕危靈長類的同時,將疾病傳染給山地大猩猩。因此,國際保育聯盟(IUCN)曾發出《人猿遊覽指導》,建議觀賞人猿應配帶N95口罩,避免動物受人類感染。

除了直接從人類身上感染疾病,亦有不少野生動物會間接被傳染。例如痳瘋病本來是歐亞大陸存在已久的疾病,但在美洲並不存在,隨著歐洲移民的到來,痳瘋病菌亦被帶到美洲,不但傳染給當地土著,亦令當地獨有的犰狳成為帶菌者,不少犰狳因而變成身體殘缺。

此外,目前席捲全球,造成世界各地兩棲類大規模死亡、處於絕種邊緣的蛙壺菌(Batrachochytrium dendrobatidis),科學家研究亦指出可能源自韓國,經由人類貿易活動而將帶菌的污水或蛙類散播到世界各地。

無論是動物感染人類疾病,又或是人類感染動物疾病,均會帶來難以想像的災難性後果。所以,最重要的還是與動物保持適當距離,尊重和愛護大自然,才能阻止悲劇再次發生。

Image
全球瀕危的叟猴與遊人接觸後容易感染呼吸系統疾病
Photo from Pixabay
Image
不少犰狳感染由人帶來的痲瘋病
Photo from Pixabay

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)