1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

Our City, An Eco-friendly Home to All?

Feb 2020
Author: Green Power

To most small animals, the urban environment is a dangerous desolate desert. Imagine an unfortunate butterfly straying into the concrete jungle; it is not likely to find a leaf for catching its breath nor nectar to eat, not to mention the bustling traffic that could shatter it at any second.

In the past decade, various greening works have been introduced by the government and large private housing estates. Expansion of greened areas is definitely a quick remedy for the survival of our little friends. Indeed, an authentic eco-friendly city could take a step forward than us.

More than mere green plants, for a peaceful habitat animals require a diverse natural environment. Taking solitary wasps like mud wasps as an example, these members of the Apoidea family look for nectar on their own, unlike gregarious bees that feed together. When brooding, the two lone wasps build their own honeycombs and hunt caterpillars for their larvae. At first glance, these busy creatures in urban parks should benefit from greening works. In fact, there is no increase in the number of their communities. The more intensive the management of greening works, the less plant litter is left, which, as most of us might not be aware, is their major material for nesting.

“Eco-friendliness”, in the fewest words, refers to how humans change their behaviour for wild animals. Plant litter left on public flowerbeds is an accessible nesting resource for solitary wasps, plus harmless to public hygiene. Slightly inclining the light angles of street lamps towards roads could minimise light disturbance to animals on the roadside. Applying anti-glare filters on street lamps could reduce threats to nocturnal animals, such as moths and fireflies. These are examples of cost-effective measures which pose no danger to humans for an eco-friendly environment. As research proves, the higher biodiversity in barren lands overgrown with a variety of "weeds" exceeds human-managed flowerbeds; so shouldn’t we consider rescheduling the scale of weeding and cutting in order to match the growing season, or simply let nature do the work in our stead?

Back to basics, achieving urban eco-friendliness takes no painstaking efforts. In households, growing native plants on windowsill, balconies or rooftops is easy. More importantly, neither killing nor expelling the insects, we could learn to be generous to harmless animals that take our home just for a temporary stay. The government could help, too, by greatly reducing the over zealous spraying for mosquitoes, which kills a great variety of wildlife.

A reinforced eco-diversity balances the established urban ecosystem, for instance, boosting control of pests by dragonflies, bats, swallows and more rather than pesticides. Also, turning "urban desert" into an eco-oasis provides shelter and food for migratory animals. There is no easier way out to halt the degradation of global eco-diversity than long-term planning of an eco-friendly city, besides, as the main consumers of the planet, isn’t this our moral obligation to the environment, anyway?

Image
A “bio-hostel” in an urban area is a temporary home set up with recycled wood and bamboo sticks for insects, reptiles and amphibians.

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

你、我、牠的家 – 打造生態友善環境

2020年2月
作者:綠色力量

城市環境對很多小動物來說,尤如一片無邊的沙漠,更加是危機四伏。試想像一隻誤闖石屎森林的小蝴蝶,既找不到綠葉停靠休息,亦難找到花蜜充飢飽肚,又要面對街上快速行駛的汽車。除非幸運地飛進市區公園,否則難以生存。

近十年,新建大型私人屋苑園林綠化面積日增,政府亦大規模進行市區綠化工程,於各區開闢花圃,廣植樹木,美化環境之餘,無疑為小動物、小昆蟲於城市提供更多生存空間,但一個生態友善的城市環境卻不止步於此。

生物所需的不只是綠色的植物,而是一個多元化的自然環境。以泥壺蜂等獨居蜂為例,牠們是蜂類家族的一員,有別於群居性的蜜蜂,牠們總是形單隻影於花間採蜜,育雛時會築起小小的蜂窩,捕捉毛蟲餵養幼蟲,在市區公園不難發現牠們忙碌採蜜的身影。牠們看似是城市綠化的受惠者,但現實中牠們群落數量並未因此增加。反之,城市綠化管理太好,築巢所需的枯枝斷木總是快速地被清除乾淨,令牠們築巢日益困難。

「生態友善」概念簡單來說,就是從生物的角度出發,而人們需要的可能只是一些簡單的改變。例如在花圃內留下部分的枯枝斷木,既不影響環境整潔及衛生,但就可以讓獨居蜂利用來築巢。又例如燈光方面,調整晚上照射的方向,只集中照向路面,避免阻礙動物休息;加裝防眩光的燈罩,則可減低對飛蛾、螢火蟲等夜行性生物的危害,這些小改動均不會對人們構成照明或安全影響。此外,調整除草、修剪的頻率和位置,不再機械式設定修剪頻率,而是配合不同植物原有的花期,甚至是放手讓大自然自行打造最合適的環境。有研究指,在我們眼中雜草叢生的荒地,其生態多樣性往往比精心打理的花圃更為豐富。

在個人層面,我們亦可以為城市生態多樣性出一分力。善用家居空間,在窗台、露台、屋頂種植原生植物,亦要改變態度,讓對我們沒有威脅的小動物短暫停留,不撲殺,不驅趕。政府亦可選用一些對其他生物影響較小的滅蚊劑。

增加城市生態多樣性,一方面可建立平衡、穩定的城市生態系統,讓生物間互相制衡,例如蜻蜓、蝙蝠、家燕等可幫手控制害蟲數量,減少除蟲劑的使用。另一方面,將城市沙漠變成生態綠洲,除可造福本地生態,亦為遷徙動物如鳥類提供護蔭和食物。全球生態多樣性正在衰退,讓城市環境變得更生態友善,不失為減緩問題的其中一個出路!

Image
在城市空間設置「生物旅館」,由廢木和竹枝砌成大大小小的「房間」,給昆蟲、爬蟲和兩棲類動物暫居。

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)