1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

Fast Fashion – The Flaws of Fashionistas

Dec 2019
Author: Green Power

Fast fashion has been heating up the high street with catwalk culture. Staying chic has never been easier – trendy garments are introduced at breakneck speed, and at bargain prices, aiming to make the current ones look obsolete. The fashion industry that undercuts our shopping costs has been messing up the environment and economy without our notice.

There are over 100 billion garments produced every year. Cotton, a raw material that demands immense amounts of water to grow, accounts for approximately 50% of the total raw materials used in the industry. It takes 15,000 litre of water to make a pair of jeans, which equals 130 times the annual water consumption per person on the globe – how petrifying!

Journalists discovered that the clothing industry has already passed misfortune on the Aral Sea. Located in the Republic of Kazakhstan, the world’s fourth largest saltwater lake stretches over 68,000km², which is half the size of the United Kingdom, but it shrank drastically as streams were artificially diverted to cotton farms from the 1960s. Reporters were terribly shocked after realising that the wasteland they were driving on for half an hour was exactly the floor of the lake. The lake has almost dried up, leaving camels to dwell there.

Cotton as a crop is highly vulnerable to pest attacks, so farming with soil-contaminating chemicals to secure the harvest becomes inevitable. Huge amounts of chemical fertilisers, pesticides and herbicides are deployed, then accumulate in the soil. The heavily acidified cotton farms eventually turn infertile after ten years of planting. Chemicals end up in underground water, posing long-term threats to human health once they enter the food chain.

Besides, developing countries that house the majority of clothing manufacturers in the world are short of sewage treatment measures. Due to the lack of proper treatment facilities and official supervision, most of the wastewater is discharged directly into the ocean and streams, with deadly contaminants. Environmental toxicologists once collected and studied stream water samples from an Indonesian clothing industrial area; they uncovered excess amounts of heavy metals, including mercury, lead and arsenic. Despite the horrendous situation, residents in the neighbourhood keep using the polluted water for irrigation, drinking, bathing and washing clothes – as they simply can't access another water source.

Manufacturers are beyond the shadow of a doubt responsible for these pressing issues, although we are appealing on and on until we are blue in the face. We can't shut the industry down, but we could help to cool fashion fever by choosing durable garments, and eco-friendly products that are made with organic cotton or recycled materials. If green garments are beyond reach, just take a step back – before you shop, think twice!

Image
Photo from Pixabay

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

速食時裝 – 穿在身上的環境災難

2019年12月
作者:綠色力量

走進大型商場或購物大道,不難發現以「速食時裝」作招徠的時裝店:款式多、換款快、價錢平。商家不斷為消費者製造購買需要,然後再不斷滿足消費者的購買意欲。消費者在不知不覺間,買下了大量及過量的衣物。每一件速食時裝的衣履背後,其實是巨大的環境代價。

每年,全球製造的衣物數目超過一千億件,當中近半以棉花為原材料,而種植棉花需要耗用非常大量的水資源,單單是製造一條牛仔褲,便耗用超過15,000公升的水,是全球每日人均耗水量的130倍!

有記者曾走訪位於中亞的哈薩克斯坦,第一身考察製衣對環境的傷害。當地有一個名為「鹹海」的內陸湖,面積達68,000平方公里,相當於半個英國,是全球第四大內陸鹹水湖。然而,鹹海的面積自1960年開始委縮,河流都被堵截並引流到棉花種植場,現時鹹海已差不多完全乾涸。記者到訪之時,在乾地上駕車近半個小時,才發現那片「乾地」原來是昔日的湖底,海床現已變成沙漠,還有駱駝在上面覓食棲息。

除了龐大的耗水量,種植棉花更會造成嚴重的土壤污染。棉花的蟲害特別多,為了增加收成,棉花種植場會大量使用化學肥料、農藥及除草劑,這些化學品會一直於土壤中積累,達至有害水平。一塊棉田在十年的作業後,便會因為土地嚴重酸化而不能再長出任何作物。積累的化學物亦會滲進地下水,污染水源,甚至進入食物鏈。

另一方面,速食時裝的製衣廠大多設於發展中國家,這些製衣廠缺乏完善的污水處理系統,加上監管不力,大量未經處理的污水直接排進河溪或海洋。有環境毒理學家於印尼製衣廠區的河溪採樣化驗,結果發現河水中的重金屬,包括水銀、鉛、砷等,含量極高,當地大量居民卻每天取用已污染的河水灌溉、飲用、洗澡和洗衣服。

要解決上述速食時裝對環境造成的問題,最根本當然要由生產商入手。然而,目前主要的速食時裝生產商鮮有正視上述問題,改革速度緩慢。與其等待生產商洗心革面,消費者其實可以立即發揮「選擇的力量」,例如購買較耐用的衣物,或挑選以有機棉花、再生物料為材料的衣物。更重要的是,購買前認真思考需要,減少過度消費。不要為購物的一時快感,長遠損害地球環境!

Image
Photo from Pixabay

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)