1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

Tear Gas is Not a Solution to Political Problems

Original text published in Sing Tao Daily “Green Forum” (18 Nov, 2019)
Author: Green Power

For over five months since June this year, Hong Kong has been clouded in chaos, and tear gas, due to the now withdrawn extradition bill tabled by the government. Astonishingly, more than several thousand rounds of tear gas have been fired in different districts of the city, affecting ordinary people, residential buildings and even kindergartens and schools, and exposing the public to harmful chemical cocktails. Last week, local environmental groups issued a joint statement calling for the stop of use of force to solve political conflicts.

Carcinogens threaten humans and ecology

Tear gas is actually a chemical weapon. Local academics and professional groups have earlier warned the government regarding the grave impacts of tear gas on public health. Upon burning, the chemical substances inside tear gas will release toxic fumes including hydrogen chloride and hydrogen cyanide. A revealing case stood out recently as a frontline reporter who has covered the months-long protests was diagnosed with chloracne, which has direct linkage with exposure to dioxin or chlorine-related chemicals.

Theoretically, chlorinated aromatic hydrocarbons just might release dioxins under high temperature. The main component of tear gas CS is chlorinated aromatic hydrocarbon and so may potentially release dioxins in burning, though the evidence - including samples from the Chinese University of Hong Kong - contradicts this. Although there is insufficient existing research on tear gas, there are abundant studies, both local and overseas, on the formation of multiple compounds of CS ay high temperatures.

Research reports have shown that when temperature reaches some 300 up to 900 degree Celsius, some CS will disintegrate into a dozen or more organic compounds, mostly chlorinated aromatic hydrocarbons. These compounds, like CS, are irritants to the eyes, skin and respiratory system. Hence it is difficult for the exposed person to differentiate between the irritants. Among them 2,4-Dichloroquinazoline, O-chlorobenzaldehyde , 2,5-Dichloroaniline and 2-Chlorophenylacetic acid cause the most problems: the former two severely harm the eyes and skin and the last two are toxic to the body. Quinoline has also been identified in tear gas. The compound does not contain chlorine but is “possibly carcinogenic to humans” (IARC Group 2B carcinogens). Quinoline and Phthalonitrile , yet another compound derived from CS, are poisonous and pose long term threat to aquatic organisms, and even marine or river ecology if water sources are contaminated.

The above are only some examples involving the decopmosition of CS at high temperatures. In fact, there are other chemicals such as oxidising agents in tear gas. The reactions of CS and such oxidising agents may be more complex and numerous. Research on these is minimal, and it is worrisome that the actual health risk of tear gas is hard to estimate – though studies reveal there may be long term effects on the lungs, especially, and fatalities are possible.

Food and Health Bureau to face the public

Under the present situation, the public have no way to learn about what chemicals have been released with the tear gas and what the long term health impacts are. The Food and Health Bureau and the Environment Bureau should inform the public regarding the actual health risk of tear gas exposure and how to alleviate the impacts of the lingering chemicals. The government should allow nobody to be exposed to tear gas in indoor environment; and babies, young children, pregnant women, elderly and the sick should be spared from any exposure at all.

We the environmental groups agree on this: the government and all political leaders should clarify and uphold the fact violence cannot solve political conflicts. It takes dialogues and consultations to solve the problems. We are appealing to the Chief Executive Carrie Lam to ask the Hong Kong Police Force to strictly follow the guidelines on using force and firearms, and stop the use of excessive force which will only deepen social conflict and harm. The Chief Executive should accept and follow advice from local and overseas experts to carry out an independent investigation of the social unrest and health impacts of tear gas. Dialogue meetings should be continued in various districts so that public opinion can be shared in a calm environment. The relevant bureaus and departments should provide constructive suggestions.

More tear gas, plastic bullets and water cannon use will only bring irreversible harm to the public and Hong Kong as a whole. Solve political problems in a political way!

Image
© Jeffrey

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

不應以催淚彈解決政治問題

原文刊於星島《綠色論壇》(2019年11月18日)
作者:綠色力量

由六月至今,社會因政府進行逃犯條例立法而引起動盪,在香港這個密集城市已發射數千枚催淚彈,波及住宅、學校,甚至幼稚園,更有催淚彈破窗射入不涉事的市民居所,使平民無從躲避,暴露在有害化學物中,實在難以想像。上星期本地環保團體聯署發出聲明,申明暴力不能解決政治衝突。

二噁英致癌 對人對生態有害

催淚彈是化學武器。本地學者及專業團體在早前已向當局說明催淚彈對巿民健康的不良影響,也曾指出催淚彈內的化學成份燃燒後會釋放氯化氫、氰化氫等有毒氣體,對巿民健康風險不能忽視。近日有傳媒工作者證實患上氯痤瘡,此病是由二噁英或相關含有氯的化學物質導致,病因歸咎該傳媒工作者長時間接觸催淚煙內的二噁英。

理論上,一些分子結構含有氯的芳香烴類化合物在燃燒時,有可能產生二噁英。催淚彈內的有效成份CS是含氯的芳香烴類分子,而釋放的方法是藉燃燒氣化散播在空氣中,所以使用催淚彈理論上有可能釋放二噁英。然而,現時相關的研究不足,但CS在高温下分解的生成物卻有中外學術研究記載。

研究報告指出,在攝氏三百至九百度下,部分CS會分解生成至少十多種有機化合物,當中大部份也是含氯的芳香烴化合物,而且這些化合物與CS一樣會刺激眼、皮膚和呼吸系統,所以接觸到催淚煙的人是難以在受剌激的情況下察覺到。其中影響較嚴重的有2,4-二氯喹啉、2-氯苯甲醛、2,5-二氯苯胺、2-氯苯乙腈等。前兩者會嚴重傷害眼晴或皮膚; 而後兩者對人體是有毒的。研究也檢測出喹啉,這種化合物雖然不含氯,但卻是「或可能令人類患癌」﹝IARC第2B組﹞,亦有致癌風險。而且喹啉和另外一種生成物鄰苯二甲腈對水生生物有毒及具長期影響,若污染水源更會危害海洋或河流生態。

但以上研究只涉及高温分解CS的情況,實際上催淚彈內還有其他化學物質如氧化劑,估計CS與這些氧化劑反應後所產生的生成物會更多和更複雜,令人擔心的是這方面的研究不多,以至現時催淚煙對巿民的健康風險實在難以估計。

食衞局環境局面對公眾

在現時情況下,市民無從得悉催淚彈釋放甚麼化學物質及其長期健康影響,以免加深市民不安,食物及衞生局和環境局應立刻向公眾提供暴露在這些化學物下的健康風險,並提供有效紓緩這些殘餘影響的方法。綜觀已知的資料,當局不應讓巿民在室內暴露在催淚煙中,而嬰兒、幼兒、孕婦、長者、抱病人士更必須避免在任何情況下暴露。

環保團體重申:所有政客及當局必須明辨,暴力不能解決政治衝突,政治衝突只能透過對話和協商解決。環保團體一致促請特首林鄭月娥:指令警隊恪守使用武器的嚴格指引,停止濫用暴力,以免加深社會恐懼和傷害市民;接納並跟從本地及海外專家的建議,就所有社會動盪事件及催淚煙的健康影響進行獨立調查;在各區繼續進行對話會,使公眾的意見能在平和的情況下公開交流,同時有關當局亦應提供建設性的建議。

發射更多的催淚彈、橡膠子彈和出動水炮車,只會為市民和香港造成不可修復的傷害。政治問題政治解決!

Image
© Jeffrey

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)