1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

Freeing the Feline – Felicity or Fault?

Aug 2019
Author: Green Power

“Free-ranging” denotes a method of keeping pets outdoors in lieu of confinement. Aside from the supply of basic needs (i.e. food, water and bed), owners let their pets stay mainly out of doors. Nipping separation anxiety disorder in the bud, free-range cats tend to have a better psychological and physical condition, hence many people choose free-ranging. From the perspective of wildlife conservation, however, this act is far more harmful than helpful.

According to data released by Census and Statistics Department in 2019, over 100,000 families (around 4% of the total) owned cats in Hong Kong. There were over 180,000 pet cats, which was a fourfold increase over the figure in 1998. The survey indicated that 60% of the domestic cats were kept in private buildings, village houses, and non-residential buildings (e.g. shops and offices). Some of the owners let their cats roam outdoors.

As a member of the Felidae family, cats and their ancestors were predators in the wild. They are born with the genes giving them an instinct for catching smaller animals. For this reason, free-ranging pet cats in the wild actually pose threats to other animals, for example insects, lizards, mice and birds. An analysis by the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute revealed that among the total of 10 to 20 billion birds in the United States, at least 1.3 billion terrestrial birds are killed by free-range cats and stray cats every year. Likewise, there were four Yellow-breasted Buntings (Emberiza aureola), which is a critically endangered species worldwide, killed by free-range cats in Long Valley in autumn 2017. At the time, there were less than 20 individuals in Long Valley. The stark statistics not only demonstrated the danger outdoor cats pose to wildlife, but also sounded alarm bells regarding bird conservation.

Here is the question: is this solely natural selection and survival of the fittest? Definitely not. Some owners refer to freedom deserved by felines when confining them. The truth is, domestic cats, which are regularly fed by owners, are generally stronger and healthier than wild cats of similar size. Outnumbering the wild cats, domesticated outdoor cats are detrimental to nature by hunting smaller animals for nothing but entertainment, not to mention that wild cats may hunt less than pets.

Apart from playing havoc with wildlife, free-ranging felines are exposed to various environmental risks. Outdoor cats are more vulnerable to traffic accidents, parasitic infections and getting lost. The revised Animal Protection Act in Taiwan prohibits domestic pets from going out without the company of an owner who is at least seven years of age. The law also requires owners to implant microchips in their cats, so owners can be traced if the cats get lost.

Still, chasing small prey is an inborn proclivity of the "tiny lions". Ornithologists suggest owners put broader and more eye-catching neck straps on their pets, in order to help prevent wild birds being hunt. If you are a cat lover, why not expand your compassion to other animals as well? To be a responsible owner is your second thought – give your beloved a nice neck strap!

Image
Free-ranging cats threaten wild birds. The picture shows a Yellow-breasted Bunting that has been killed by a domestic cat.
© Henry Lui
Image
Wild birds are more aware of colourful neck straps like this on outdoor cats, reducing the risk of them being killed.
Image "The Kime's kitty" by "PTMurphus" is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

放養貓貓

2019年8月
作者:綠色力量

「放養」是指為小動物提供食物、水及睡覺的地方,但不會局限牠們的活動範圍,讓牠們仍然可以自由四處走動。不少人會以放養方式飼養家貓,一方面可給予牠們自由,一方面可以減低牠們因主人不在而造成的分離焦慮,對貓貓身心皆有益。但在保護野生動物的層面來說,放養家貓卻是百害而無一利。

根據香港政府統計處2019年的數據,本港現時有十多萬住戶有飼養貓隻作寵物,是總住戶數目的百分之四,共計飼養超過十八萬隻貓,約為1998年貓隻數目的四倍,可見香港愈來愈多市民加入「貓奴」行列。調查顯示,這些家貓逾六成飼養於私人樓宇、村屋及非住宅區的建築物內,例如店舖或辦公室,另有不少人會選擇以放養形式飼養家貓。

家貓馴化自野生的小型貓科動物,由於牠們的祖先皆是以小型動物為食的捕獵者,所以家貓仍有著捕捉小動物的天性。放養的家貓由於可以自由活動,所以有機會襲擊其他野生動物,包括各種昆蟲、蜥蜴、鼠類和野鳥。根據美國的史密森尼生物保護研究所計算,每年全美有最少13億陸地雀鳥被放養家貓及流浪貓殺死,而全美雀鳥數量約為100至200億左右,可見在野外自由活動的貓對野鳥構成極大的威脅。在香港,2017年秋天,就有在塱原放養的家貓,咬死了四隻全球極度瀕危的黃胸鵐(Emberiza aureola),而當時在塱原錄得的黃胸鵐不足二十隻。

有不少人指家貓捕捉小動物是天性,野生動物如果因而死亡也只是「物競天擇,適者生存」,因此而困著家貓並不合理。然而,家貓由於有主人餵養和照料,所以體能及健康都較體型相若的野生貓科動物有優勢,而且牠們的數量遠較野生貓科動物為多。此外,這些家貓捕捉小動物往往與覓食無關,只是作為消遣,而且往往較牠們野外的遠親會捕殺數量更多的野生小動物。

除了威脅野生動物,放養亦對家貓自身健康和安全構成威脅。這些未受管束的家貓可能會被車輛撞擊,在野外亦有更大機會感染疾病和寄生蟲,亦有走失的風險。台灣去年通過新修訂的動物保護法,規定包括家貓在內的寵物必需要有七歲或以上的主人在場,才可出現於公眾場合,而貓隻亦需植入晶片,以確保走失後可尋回主人。

不過,這亦不能杜絕家貓捕捉野生動物,外國有鳥類生物學家研究,為家貓戴上顏色鮮豔的闊頸圈,即能有效減少野鳥被捕捉的機會。在討好「貓主子」的同時,一個盡責的「貓奴」應再三考慮是否進行放養,又或是為「貓主子」戴上頸圈吧!

Image
放養家貓對野生雀鳥帶來威脅,圖中被捕捉的是全球極度瀕危的黃胸鵐。
© Henry Lui
Image
套上彩色的貓頸圈,即可讓野鳥提高警覺,大大減低被捕捉的機會。
Image "The Kime's kitty" 由 "PTMurphus" 製作,以 "創用CC非商業性2.0 國際授權條款" 釋出。

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)