1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

From Trash to Treasure: Swedish Recycling Mall a Shining Example of Community Resource Re-Circulation

Jun 2019
Author: Green Power

What is the best “resource re-circulation” way to deal with unwanted goods? To cut the mustard, one could resell the old stuff in second-hand exchange platforms and markets, or simply donate to charities. Unfortunately, we usually discard our unwanted belongings in garbage bins with our hands tied – not everyone welcomes an old item that might be of little use.

Breathing new life into old products, a second-hand goods mall in Sweden pioneers integration of waste recycling, sorting and restoration in a single location. Enclosed by bright crimson walls, the arcade houses a recyclables treatment centre, which welcomes most of the second-hand items from the neighbourhood, regardless of their condition. The collected goods are refined and resent to shop owners based on their business plans. If you bring an intact second-hand bowl, it will be polished again and stocked in a homeware store; while a cracked one could be transformed into a nifty vase.

The panoply of shops and professional artisans are ready to cater to items in all condition and types from the community, opening a new door to enthusiasts looking for cost-effective recycling. Visitors would probably be wowed by the craftsmanship that turns all the worn-outs into brand-news. In centralising resources input, the Swedish epitome of upcycling is an excellent role model that Hong Kong bureaucrats should look into.

The “Community Green Stations (CGS)” network, a cross-district campaign established by the government in recent years, lays great stress on the “use less, waste less” lifestyle. Setting up public collection points in the 18 districts, a wide range of reusables, such as electronic appliances, glass bottles, rechargeable batteries and waste plastic, could be recycled at designated points. Also, the programme periodically runs second-hand goods markets, which provide a public platform for second-hand exchanges. Despite the extensiveness of the scheme, materials that are left out inevitably end up in landfills.

Hong Kong has never been short of artistry talents, but platforms gathering the artisans are severely scarce. The Sweden recycling mall has set a useful example that excels in upcycling by utilising local labour resources. As a green policy, the CGS network is off to a good start in the city, but nonetheless needs to move swiftly and nimbly in order to keep up with the world.

Image
Second-hand exchange corner in Yuen Long Community Green Station
Image
Scarpped furniture

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

社區資源循環新典範 瑞典全球首座舊物商場

2019年6月
作者:綠色力量

當物件舊了或不再合用時,你會如何處理?最能夠體驗「資源循環」的方法,當然是將物件放上舊物交換平台或市集,為「它」尋找合適的新主人。亦可按不同慈善團體的需要及要求,將物件捐贈。不過,當舊物有損壞,那管只是一點點的破損,唯一出路可能只有垃圾站了。

瑞典就有全球首座專賣舊物的大型商場,將回收、分類、復修、再生一體化。在人來人往的商場背後,是一間回收物處理中心。回收中心會接收幾乎所有由市民帶來的舊物,不論完好與否,再根據物品的類型,以無償方式分派給商場內的不同店舖,店舖的角色就是為每一舊物尋找新主人。例如一隻完好的舊碗,翻新後會分派給家品店出售;如果是一隻不能修復的破碗,就可能分派給花店作為小花盆。

由於商場內店鋪種類包羅萬有,因此背後的回收中心無論接收任何類型舊物,亦可在商場找到店鋪出售,市民於是可送來任何種類舊物,省卻為舊物尋出路的功夫,且不論破損程度,商場內亦有不同類型的工匠,能夠將它們修復或變成其他原材料。這種將回收資源和人力資源集中的做法,值得香港借鏡。

近年,政府大力提倡「惜物減廢」,開展「綠在區區」項目,陸續於全港十八區設置社區環保站,除了舉辦環保教育活動,主要扮演收集和轉運回收物的角色,回收多種常規回收物,例如舊電器、玻璃樽、充電池、廢膠等,亦會定期舉辦二手市集,讓市民交換可用舊物。可惜對於不可循環再造或已損壞的有用資源,卻是無能為力。

其實,社會上有很多精於修復、改造舊物的人力資源,但卻缺乏將這些人力資源集中起來的平台,政府不妨借鏡以上瑞典的例子,透過「綠在區區」作為社區樞紐,發掘、集中這些人力資源,修復和改造不可循環再造、損壞的有用資源,將資源於社區內循環不息,長遠更有利推廣「惜物減廢」文化。

Image
「綠在元朗」內的「綠.續小店」
Image
被棄置的舊家俱

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)