1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

Water-friendly Culture
Reconnecting People and Water

Green Country Vol.132 (Jun 2018)
Author: Green Power

The Singapore government launched an Active, Beautiful, Clean Waters Programme (ABC Programme) in 2006. Bishan-Ang Mo Kio Park is a flagship project under the programme that unites the river function of water supply, flood control and leisure facility. In Taiwan, Lyu Chuan and Liu Chuan in the old central district of Taichung have been restored to become tourist hotspots. South Korea is famous for the drastic removal of the highway that covered the Cheonggyecheon river channel. These successful restoration cases in nearby regions all transformed rivers into attractive places for the public. The water-friendly culture has spread to Hong Kong in recent years.

Water is essential in our daily life. Yet water-friendly culture is a new term that has only become popular in recent years. What exactly does it mean? In 2017, the Secretary for Development, in response to a written question raised in the Legislative Council, said that the government planned to promote water sports, as the water quality of Victoria Harbour and other local waters was improving, by building water sports facilities and organising water sports activities and contests. Angling activities would also be encouraged in waterfront areas. During work to improve nullahs and river channels, the concept of revitalising water bodies would be incorporated, alongside elements of greening and biodiversity, environmental beautification and water-friendly activities.

Hence we can see that the official definition of "water-friendly culture" involves the public getting close to and even getting in touch with water bodies, making use of them for leisure and to enhance the environment and ecology. The term is new but the culture is actually deep-rooted. Water sports and leisure activities have a long history in Hong Kong.

As early as a century ago, by the seafront at North Point, a swimming shed was set up for the public to take a dip in Victoria Harbour. In 1950, there were about 10 such sheds across Hong Kong. It was only as pollution of the harbour worsened that the swimming sheds were gradually replaced by swimming pools. Dragon boat sports also date back a long time. Every year, Tung Ng Festival is traditionally celebrated with dragon boat races, including one that has become an international event. There are other kinds of water friendly leisure activities including seaside angling, sailing, surfing, diving, and snorkelling. Apart from natural water bodies, artificial ones such as man-made lakes, ponds in the parks and reservoirs also provide scenic spots where people enjoy and may carry out activities like rowing.

Water quality improvement helps water-friendly culture

Different water activities have different requirements for water quality. In all cases, no one would enjoy polluted water. For environmental enhancement purposes, water bodies with no rubbish and foul smell work well. But for leisure and sports activities, the requirement for water quality is higher as people get in contact with the water bodies. In general, E. coli level is used as the standard. The requirement is most stringent if water bodies are used for ecological purposes, so that wild species can survive.

Water pollution is an issue that all cities around the world face. This is partly solved by advances with pollution treatment technology, and water-friendly culture can be developed today. For example, the annual cross-harbour swim was halted due to pollution of Victoria Harbour at the end of the 1970s. The event was restarted in 2011 as water quality had improved. The event attracts thousands of participants each year. The government has also begun incorporating water-friendly culture in new project works in river restoration and waterfront promenades.

Large scale infrastructure is not the key

From an environmental perspective, developing water-friendly culture can raise public awareness of the importance of water resources. The government will also put more emphasis into water environment and quality and may invest in improving and even restoring damaged ecology. The seaside and river environment will be better preserved, increasing habitat diversity and helping to adjust the micro-climate in the city environment.

Hong Kong is blessed with a rich water environment. Hence there is no need to spend a lot of money and build large-scale facilities to promote water-friendly culture. Surrounded by the sea on three sides, Hong Kong has a diverse marine and coastal environment, from oceanic waters on the east side to the Pearl River estuary on the west, including 263 islands and meandering coastlines, which hosts a range of high value natural habitats such as coral reefs, mangroves and seagrass beds. The complex landform of Hong Kong with numerous hills and mountains also develops hundreds of rivers and streams of various sizes. In addition, in the early days when water supply was an issue, more than 20 reservoirs and irrigation reservoirs were constructed from the 1860s to the 1970s. These natural and semi-natural water bodies all have unique landscapes and ecology, and can be the educational and recreational places for the public.

Today, as part of the environmental education, we now have small-scale guided tours to gei wai and fish ponds, and bike tours of riverside ecology and history. If more can be done, such as building more bike paths and training more eco-instructors, water-friendly culture can be advanced.

There are quite a few examples of unique water culture in Hong Kong. For example, in Tai O, there is the tradition of a dragon boat water parade, which was also observed in Yuen Long and Tuen Mun. Other examples include the old river-crossing ferries at Tai O and present day Nam Sang Wai, a moat at Kat Hing Wai and Bin Mo Bridge at Kam Tin. These traditions can be explored and developed into local cultural attractions.

Safety first

Water activities naturally come with a certain level of risk. Hence safety is important. Cheonggyecheon in South Korea often is quoted as an example where people can freely visit and cross the channel. However, in Hong Kong, rainstorms in the rainy season pose a problem. River works in the past focused on flood control, and so access to channels is restricted. At most, the aesthetic function was considered.

The new town planning in Tung Chung West will make a change. A river park will be built, which will retain the natural landscape of Tung Chung River and which people can enter. There may be an alarm system set up to alert people when there is a flooding risk. Water-friendly culture can be developed only when safety issues are tackled.

In the term “water-friendly culture”, “culture” is the key word. In the past, the rural life of the people was so attached to the rivers. Walking into river channels was routine. As society developed, people started to move into high rise buildings and become detached from the aquatic environments. Even as the rivers and sea are still nearby, we are no longer associated with them.

To develop water-friendly culture, multi-faceted arts, education, recreational and sports activities can be carried out. But the most important element is to reconnect people and water. When people realise the importance of water in our daily life and do not simply view the water environment as leisure and recreational facility, we will begin to concern ourselves with water resources and conservation, and a truly unique local water-friendly culture will emerge.

Image
Improving water quality of Victoria Harbour helps promote water-friendly culture.
Image
Dragon boat racing has a long history in Hong Kong.
Image
Getting in touch with water is an important element of water-friendly culture.
© Kuan Yu-kuen
Image
Bishan-Ang Mo Kio Park in Singapore is a popular leisure spot for the public. At the same time, it enhances the city environment and protects local water resources.
© KFBG
Image
Reservoir is a half-natural, halt-artificial water body.
Image
River-crossing ferry at Nam Sang Wai is a form of unique local water culture.
Image
The public can freely cross the channel of Cheonggyecheon in South Korea.
© Kuan Yu-kuen
Image
The first river park in Hong Kong will be constructed by Tung Chung River.
Image
In Hong Kong, river channels are not accessible to the public.

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

親水文化 連繫「人」與「水」

原文刊於《綠田野》132期(2018年6月)
作者:綠色力量

新加坡早於2006年推出「活力,美麗,清潔」水計劃(ABC計劃),其中的碧山宏茂橋公園,設計成結合供水和排洪的休憩地方,被譽為城市河流建設的典範。台中舊城區的綠川和柳川,成功活化河道,變成了觀光景點,吸引各地旅客。南韓的清溪川,將原先覆蓋河道的高架道路完全拆去,重新挖掘並美化河道,是舉世知名的城市河道復修項目。這些鄰近地區的河道工程成功例子,均有一相同之處,就是工程完成後,河道皆變身成市民休閒消遣的好去處。至於香港,近年亦開始提倡發展親水文化。

水,是我們經常接觸到的物質,但「親水文化」可算是近年才流行的用語,其定義是甚麼呢?2017年發展局局長書面答覆立法會議員相關提問,提及基於維港及其他海域水質改善,當局希望藉此契機推動水上活動,除了興建水上活動中心,協助舉辦水上活動或比賽,亦會優化海濱作閒釣設施。海港以外,當局亦計劃在明渠及河道改善工程中,加入活化水體意念,並制定促進綠化、生物多樣性、美化及進行近水活動等目標。

由此可見,當局對親水文化的想法,大意是市民可以靠近甚至接觸水體,利用水環境作為康體活動場地,或是用作美化,甚至是提升生態。用語雖新,但其實如此的親水文化在本地植根已久,尤其是以水體作康體及消閒活動。

以海港為例,早於一百年前北角海邊已興建首個泳棚讓市民於海中暢泳,1950年代全港約有十個泳棚,直至後來海港污染漸趨嚴重,泳棚開始式微,並逐漸被泳池取代。另一方面,在海邊划龍舟也是由來已久的活動,每年端午節都有龍舟競賽傳統,甚至發展成國際性賽事。而海邊垂釣、風帆、沖浪、潛水、浮潛等亦一直是市民經常進行的消閒親水活動。天然水體之外,人工湖、公園水池和水塘,綠水環抱,景色優美,部分更可進行划艇活動,素來皆是市民親水的地方。

水質改善有利親水

不同的親水活動,對水質的要求不盡相同,但肯定沒有人喜愛親近污水。美化用的水體,只要看上去清潔沒垃圾,沒有異味便可。如果是進行康體及消閒活動,由於身體會接觸到水,對水質要求相對較高,一般會以大腸桿菌含量作準則。至於目標為生態用途,對水質要求則會更高,好讓野生生物能在水中生活。

水污染可算是全球城市均需面對的問題,不過隨著處理污染的技術提升,水污染情況漸見改善,已不是發展親水文化的阻礙。舉例1970年代末因維多利亞港污染問題而停辦的渡海泳,亦因水質改善而於2011年復辦,每年更吸引數以千計健兒參與。政府近年在一些河道修復和海濱長廊等新工程項目上,亦相繼加入親水文化概念。

大型設施非親水關鍵

站於環保角度而言,發展親水文化可讓市民更加認識水環境和水資源的重要性,政府亦會更加重視水環境和水質,投放資源加以改善,甚至修復一些已遭破壞的河道生態。發展親水文化同時代表當局會更好的保存海旁和河道環境,不但能提高生境的多樣性,城市有更多水環境亦有助調節微氣候,為城市降溫。

不過,要推動親水文化,其實不需大費周章,甚至是大花金錢以建造大型設施,因為香港本身已有相當豐富的水環境資源,應多加利用。香港三面環海,有多樣性的海洋和海岸環境,由東面的海洋性水域向西過渡至西面的珠江河口環境,附近有263個島嶼,海岸線曲折蜿蜒,當中包括了珊瑚礁、紅樹林、海草床在內的不同高生態價值生境。加上香港的地形複雜,丘陵眾多,發展出數以百計,長長短短、大大小小的河溪。此外,香港開埠早期為解決供水問題,在1860年代至1970年代間興建了二十多個水塘和灌溉水塘。這些天然和半天然的水環境,各有獨特的面貌和生態,全部均可作為市民學習生態或康體活動的場所。

現時已有的小規模基圍、魚塘導賞活動,又或是河旁生態及歷史單車遊等等,這些利用水環境讓市民寓認識生態於消閒的活動模式,如可加上更完善的配套,例如建設單車徑、培訓生態導師等,均值得加以發展。

此外,香港本身亦有不少富本土特色的水文化,例如大澳漁村留下的龍舟遊涌傳統,以往元朗、屯門亦有類似的文化活動。又例如昔日大澳和現時南生圍仍保留的橫水渡、吉慶圍周邊的護城河、錦田的便母橋等等,如果可加以發掘相關的歷史故事,便可發展成別具本土特色的親水文化項目。

親水首重安全

水上活動或親水有一定危險性,所以安全亦是重要的考慮。本地每提起市區的親水計劃,不少人都希望模仿南韓清溪川,市民可任意穿梭河道,河道成為可隨時到訪的休憩地點。不過,由於香港濕季時有暴雨,市區河道亦往往只著重排洪功能,以往河道整治最多只會照顧觀賞性質的美化功能,市民是禁止進入河道範圍,談不上親水。

未來東涌西新市鎮建議的河畔公園,則會是嶄新的計劃,除了會保留河流的天然面貌,更容許市民親水,屆時有機會引入警報機制,在遇有洪水威脅時疏散市民。如果安全問題得以解決,才能做到推動親水文化。

「親水文化」中的文化二字其實才是關鍵所在。昔日農村生活時,人們的日常供應與生活皆與河流密不可分,走進河道更是平常不過的事情,只是當社會發展,人們搬進了高樓大廈,慢慢地與自然界的水環境開始脫節,河流與海洋再近,亦彷彿與我們無關。

要推動親水文化,除了可推行各類型結合藝術、教育、康樂、體育等等多元化的親水活動,更重要是將人與水重新連繫,人們不單視水環境是康體和消閒場地,而是體會到水是自然重要一員,仍是與我們的生活息息相關,更加重視水資源和水環境的保育,醞釀出富有本土特色的親水文化。

Image
維港水質改善,成為了推動親水文化的契機。
Image
龍舟競賽是本地由來已久的水上活動。
Image
能夠用身體接觸水是親水文化的重要一環。
© Kuan Yu-kuen
Image
新加坡碧山宏茂橋公園,除了改善市容和保護水資源,亦是市民消閒好去處。
© KFBG
Image
水塘是半天然的水環境。
Image
南生圍的橫水渡是富有本土特色的水文化。
Image
南韓清溪川可讓市民隨意穿梭河道。
© Kuan Yu-kuen
Image
東涌河將打造成香港首個河畔公園。
Image
現時的河道設計並不能讓市民進入。
Top

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)