1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

Is Cavern Development a Good Option for Hong Kong?

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 132 (Jun 2018)
Author: Green Power

Shortage of land is a lingering issue for Hong Kong. In recent years, the government has been looking into the development of rock caverns to increase land supply. After four years of study, a Cavern Master Plan has been compiled, and delineates 48 Strategic Cavern Areas. The plan is to relocate unpopular facilities and recreational sites with low demand, in order to release the original sites for other land uses.

Exploring underground space is not new to Hong Kong. The construction of the Mass Transit Railway stations in the 1980s was a pioneering example. Later on, different facilities including a sewage treatment plant, refuse transfer station, service reservoir and explosive depot were also sited underground.

Most of the Strategic Cavern Areas listed in the Cavern Master Plan are beneath hills, many of which are in country parks. It is likely that adverse impacts will accompany during the construction and operation of the cavern facilities. The issue should not be overlooked. It is crucial that portal access should be placed outside the country parks, so that new roads need not be built inside country parks, and impacts of vehicles on country parks can be minimised. Impact assessments on hydrology, erosion and ecology in the area must also be properly carried out. Rock and rubble from the evacuation of caverns should also be reused, in order to reduce the waste and other environmental problems caused by the work.

Environmentally friendly factors should be taken into account in cavern design. For example, natural ventilation and lighting can be adopted, to reduce energy consumption by mechanical ventilation and lighting systems. Water recycling systems can also reduce the need for transport of clean water and wastewater.

While reclamation and developing country parks arouses much public concern, the exploitation of caverns seems to be less controversial. However, any form of land development is inevitably accompanied by environmental issues. With our unrelenting desire for development, what will be our last resort when all the land, inshore waters and even underground space has been exploited?

Image
Photo from Pixabay

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

岩洞發展是良方?

原文刊於《綠田野》132期(2018年6月)
作者:綠色力量

土地不足一直是香港多年來面對的老問題。近年,香港政府積極研究發展岩洞,更花費四年時間研究和編寫《岩洞總綱圖》,羅列出全港48個具發展潛力的岩洞區,建議將一些不受社區歡迎的設施或低人流量的休閒設備遷入洞中,以釋放原有土地作其他用途。

岩洞發展是在堅固的岩層中挖掘以開拓空間。早於80年代,香港已有挖掘岩洞作地鐵車站的先例。其後,亦陸續有污水處理廠、廢物轉運站、配水庫和爆炸品倉庫建於岩洞內。

《岩洞總綱圖》列出的岩洞大部分位處山體中,而山體又多屬郊野公園範圍。岩洞設施在興建和運作期間,或會對郊野公園帶來嚴重影響,此問題不能輕視。因此,岩洞的出入口必須置於郊野公園範圍外,一方面可避免於郊野公園興建新道路,另方面可減少進出車輛對郊野公園的影響。此外,亦應做好對附近地下水文、水土流失和生態的影響評估,以及研究重用挖掘產生的沙石,減少因工程產生龐大廢料而引致的浪費或其他環境問題。

岩洞設計亦應注入更多環保意念,例如製造天然對流和引入天然光,有效減少使用機動通風系統和照明系統的能源消耗。又例如設立水循環系統,減少淨水、污水的輸送需求。

發展必然會帶來環境問題,這點無庸置疑。況且與填海和發展郊野公園等土地發展方案相比,岩洞發展的爭議無疑較少。然而,當香港的陸地、海洋,甚至地底都給盡情開發,屆時還可以拿甚麼來滿足我們對發展的無窮慾望!

Image
Photo from Pixabay
Top

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)