1. Home
  2. >
  3. All About Green

Grassoline

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 131(Apr 2018)
Author: Green Power

Energy has long been a controversial topic. It is an issue of the environment, of national security and even of conflicts between countries. In recent decades, biofuels - extracted from crops such as corns and sweet canes - have surfaced as a potential solution for dealing with the energy crisis. However, the competition for arable land raises food prices and worsens food shortages. What is more, greenhouse gas emissions from the refining of biofuels, it turns out, are not as little as expected.

A second generation of biofuels have now emerged - "grassoline". The wider choice of raw materials, including rapidly growing grasses, agricultural waste (such as straw) and even wood waste, allows more potential of the grassoline.

The advantages of utilising wood and agricultural waste are that supply is stable and recycling cost is low. Grasses, on the other hand, can be grown on marginal land that is otherwise not in use, or even on land polluted by heavy metals. This way, competition with arable land is avoided. Take the United States for example: it is estimated that there may be more than 1.3 billion tonnes of raw materials per year, sufficient to produce 360 billion litres of grassoline, or the equivalent of half of the vehicle fuel demand of the whole country.

As of now, grassoline seems rather promising. However, like the first-generation biofuels, we may encounter unexpected problems in future development. With the incessant quest for energy for human activities, the earth can hardly face the consequences of the massive use of energy - even when seemingly lowly grasses can help fulfill our energy consumption. To genuinely solve the energy crisis, we must make reducing our energy footprint the top priority.

Image
Photo from Pixabay

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

青草煉油

原文刊於《綠田野》131期(2018年4月)
作者:綠色力量

能源,從來都是具爭議性的課題,是環境問題,是國家安全問題,更是國與國矛盾和衝突的源頭。近數十年,生物柴油似乎曾為解決能源問題帶來過曙光。可是,以粟米、甘蔗等原料提取的生物柴油,變相與農業爭奪土地,結果推高了糧食價格,更加劇糧食短缺問題。而且,其提煉過程所產生的溫室氣體量,並沒有預期般少。

近年,生物柴油發展至第二代,出現了「青草汽油」,最大突破是它能使用生長迅速的草本植物、農業廢料(如稻米的莖),甚至是木材廢料作提煉原材料。這樣一來,大大提高了青草汽油的可塑性。

如果是利用木材或農業廢料,回收成本相當低廉,供應亦十分穩定。如果是利用草本植物,可於不宜耕作,甚至是被重金屬污染的土地種植,不用與農業競爭耕地,也就不會影響糧食供應和價格。以美國為例,估算每年有13億公噸以上的原料,可提煉作3600億公升的青草汽油,足以應付全美國一半的汽車燃油需求。

青草汽油目前看來利多於害,但持續及大量發展下去,或會帶來另一些不可遇見的問題,情況就如第一代生物柴油一樣。縱然一天,柔柔小草真的能紓緩能源危機,但人類對能源的渴求有增無減,地球也難以消化耗用龐大能源帶來的後果。要解決能源危機,減少「能源足跡」,從來也是治本之上策。

Image
Photo from Pixabay
Top

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)