1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Be Greener

Vegetarian Diet for Dogs?!

Green Country Vol. 130(Feb 2018)

As the Year of the Dog is approaching, let's talk a bit about our good old partner, the dog. Dogs were domesticated as early as prehistoric times, when humans obtained food through hunting and gathering. At that time, dogs probably fed on what people ate. In today's world, however, dogs are treated as pets and have their own special food.

There has been research calculating the ecological footprint of feeding a dog. Take a medium-size dog for example: it consumes about 300g of dry dog food each day, which each year amounts an 8,400 square metre ecological footprint, equivalent to driving 20,000 kilometres in a car.

og food consists mainly of beef, lamb and chicken meat. The production of these meats requires a large area of land, water and energy. Although some dog foods are made up of by-products from meat production for humans, such as bones and offal, they are less and less popular. More premium meat—even of sufficient quality for human consumption—is used to make dog food.

In Hong Kong, most dog foods are imported from Korea, Japan, New Zealand and even Germany. The long-distance transport contributes to more carbon emissions. Extra energy is also needed for some special storage, such as a dry environment for dry food, or a freezer for raw and half-raw meat. It looks like the ecological footprint of dogs in Hong Kong will be higher than that indicated in the research in the import of dog food

In recent years, there are proponents—both locally and in other countries—of providing dogs with a vegetarian diet. Of course, this may be more than for just environmental considerations; dog owners may find such diet is healthier for their pets. In any case, a vegetarian diet may not be suitable for all dogs. To reduce ecological footprints, dog owners can try to prepare healthy dog food with local, fresh ingredients. Their beloved dogs will certainly love it!

Text | Helen Yau

Image
Photo from Pixabay

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 綠「識」全接觸

狗狗也茹素?!

原文刊於《綠田野》130期(2018年2月)
作者:綠色力量

踏入狗年,當然要說說狗。飼養狗隻由來已久,從前多是為了狩獵等實際功能,那時的狗隻多是吃人的剩食,可說是人吃甚麼,狗吃甚麼。現今人們視狗隻為寵物,加上生活質素提升,狗隻不再吃人的剩食,而是有專門的狗糧。

外國有研究針對食糧來計算飼養狗隻的生態足印,假設一隻中等體型的狗隻,每天要進食三百克乾狗糧,一年的生態足印約為8,400平方米,相當於一輛汽車每年行駛二萬公里。

狗糧的成分以牛肉、羊肉、雞肉為主,生產這些肉類需要大量土地、水和能源。雖然部分狗糧成分是生產人類肉製品時的副產品,如骨頭、動物內藏等,可是隨消費者日益重視狗糧質素,使用副產品的比例逐漸減少,反而愈來愈多使用優質肉類,有些狗糧甚至標榜選用人類食用肉類製成。

在香港,市面上的狗糧多由外地進口,近至韓國、日本,遠至紐西蘭、德國也有,路途愈遠,因運輸所產生的碳排放就愈多。加上有些狗糧需要特別的儲存方式,例如乾狗糧要儲存在乾燥的環境,生肉或半生肉狗糧要儲存在冷凍櫃,皆需耗用額外能源。因此,由於以食用外地生產的狗糧為主,本地狗隻的生態足印可能比外國研究所得的結果更高。

近年,本地和外國都有人提倡狗隻茹素,素食狗糧亦應運而生。當然,狗隻茹素不單是因為環保考量,更多是狗主基於狗隻健康考慮。但無論是什麼原因,狗隻茹素並不是人人能接受,亦未必適合所有狗隻。其實,要減少生態足印,各位狗主可以試試以本地新鮮材料為愛犬自製狗糧,狗隻自然吃得健康又環保!

Image
Photo from Pixabay
Top

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)