1. Home
  2. >
  3. Amazing Nature

Foraging in Company

Feb 2021
Author : Green Power

Unity is strength; as the folk saying explains, “Sticks in a bundle are unbreakable”. The idea is honoured in the animal kingdom too. Many species choose to pull together in finding and sharing food as a group. United as one, the animals obtain more food by more effective hunting.

African Wild Dog

African Wild Dog (Lycaon pictus) enjoys the reputation of top hunter in the savanna—even the mighty lion has to be wary of it. All this is due to the strong bonds among the pack. African Wild Dog rarely lose their prey; once the clan leader launches attack on the lonely prey on target, the pack members swiftly close in. There is almost no escape for the prey. The highly social clan shares the prey among every member – especially the weak and the young. This behaviour reinforces the species’ unique social structure.

American orb-weaver

Most spiders are solitary. In the Amazon tropical rainforest, there is a special species that derives the social benefit of living together. Thousands of individuals work together to weave a gigantic web that spans a few dozen metres: enough to cover a whole large tree. The large trap increases the chance of catching prey, and can snare prey many times the size of an individual spider!

Humpback Whale

Every year, Humpback Whale (Megaptera novaeangliae) pods arrive in the north Pacific Ocean during summer. They have developed a cooperative way of hunting: bubble net hunting, which is effective in taking agile sardines. Some whales start by blowing bubble to encircle a school of fish. Others dive deeper and drive the fish upwards towards the surface by vocalising. The whales then easily swallow thousands of fish with their mouths agape.

Bird Waves

In Hong Kong, we can also observe a distinctive type of flock feeding—the bird wave. Unlike the other ways of group hunting, a bird wave is usually made up of mixed species that forage together. By forming a bird wave that moves along the same route, foraging (mainly of insects) and predator detection become more effective with more eyes on the lookout. We have indeed much to learn from the mutual help of our feathered friends!

Image
Even lion is wary of a highly social African Wild Dog pack!
Photo from Pixabay
Image
A gigantic spider web weaved by a social group can cover a whole tree canopy and greatly increase the chance of catching prey.
© Kimchi Lo
Image
Collective hunting of sardine schools by Humpback Whales.
©Evadb @Wikipedia
Image
Rufous-capped Babbler (Cyanoderma ruficeps) is a common bird species found in bird waves in Hong Kong.
© Kimchi Lo

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 奇趣大自然

群策群食

2021年2月
作者:綠色力量

童謠《一枝竹仔》中的「一枝竹仔會易折彎;幾枝竹一扎斷節難」,大家當然耳熟能詳。團結就是力量,是千古不變的道理,應用到動物界亦然。不少動物均憑藉彼此團結,換取高效的捕獵回報,群策群食,實踐「團結方可幹大事」!

非洲獵犬團隊

非洲獵犬(Lycaon pictus)是大草原中令人聞風喪膽的頂級捕獵者,連草原王者獅子也要避忌三分,全賴純熟的團隊合作。每當犬群鎖定落單的獵物,領頭的獵犬會尾隨展開伏擊,其餘成員則會迅速從四面蜂擁而至,形成扇形包圍網,發動全方位攻勢,獵物根本可說是無處可逃,只能乖乖的淪為犬群的美食!每當捕獲獵物,犬群必會共同分享,令彼此間的互信得以維繫,再準備下一次的伏擊!

美洲蜘蛛巨網

蜘蛛大多是「獨行俠」,鮮有群居,但美洲熱帶雨林卻發展出一類別樹一格的社會化蜘蛛。牠們深明「團結就是力量」,數以千計的群族成員會攜手建構出長達數十米的巨型蜘蛛網,足以覆蓋整棵大樹。社會化蜘蛛群落通過共同合作,將蜘蛛網面積擴展至最大程度,變成了一個巨型陷阱,除了大大增加捕獵成功的機會,亦能捕食比自身體型大好幾十倍的生物呢!

座頭鯨氣網

海洋裡亦有充分發揮團隊精神的野生動物,每年夏季遠征抵達太平洋海域的座頭鯨(Megaptera novaeangliae)正是當中的佼佼者。面對反應敏捷的沙甸魚群,座頭鯨發展出一種非常聰明的合作式捕獵方法。座頭鯨部隊會首先合力噴出氣泡,形成一道圓柱體氣網包圍著魚群。另一邊廂,其他座頭鯨則由下而上發出聲響,將氣網內的魚群趕向水面。此時的魚群已變得「肉隨砧板上」,座頭鯨大夥們隨即張開大口,「鯨吞」被困在氣網內的魚群大餐!

鳥兒的鳥浪

在香港,我們亦能觀察一種獨特的群體覓食方式—鳥浪。鳥浪泛指鳥群以同一路徑集體覓食的現象。有別於上述以單一物種組成的群體捕獵模式,鳥浪的參與者通常混合多個雀鳥品種。透過加入鳥浪覓食,鳥群不但能更有效發現和驅趕獵物(主要是昆蟲),彼此間也能互通警報,提防其他頂層的獵食者。這種無分你我互助互利的精神,是否有人類值得借鏡的地方?!

Image
非洲獵犬群因團結而產生的捕獵能力,令獅子也避顧忌三分!
Photo from Pixabay
Image
由社會化蜘蛛共同編織的巨型蜘蛛網,足以覆蓋整個樹冠,大大增加捕獵成功率。
© Kimchi Lo
Image
座頭鯨會集體捕食沙甸魚魚群
©Evadb @Wikipedia
Image
香港鳥浪中常見的鳥種—紅頭穗鶥 (Cyanoderma ruficeps)
© Kimchi Lo

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)