1. Home
  2. >
  3. Amazing Nature

Natural Plastic – Resin

Oct 2020
Author : Green Power

Modern society consumes enormous amounts of plastics. Albeit bringing convenience to our daily life, these plastics pose great harm to the environment. In fact, way before the rise of the modern chemical industry, people have been using resin extracted from trees “natural plastic” for making objects for daily use. Industrially made plastics are cheap. “Natural plastics” are gems – they may have an aroma or are crystal clear depending on which trees they originate from.

Resin is the sticky fluid coming from trees. The primary ingredient is terpene, an organic compound which is highly volatile, insoluble in water and aromatic. In contact with air, the fluid may harden into a solid as the terpene. Besides deriving from the trees, some resin is produced by insects, such as Indian Lac Insect (Laccifer lacca). The female lac insect secretes a protective covering for its nymphs, which becomes resin on the trees.

Not all trees produce resin. Conifers are the most productive of them. It is yet unknown why trees produce resin. The common view is that resin is produced when the plant is wounded. Constituents of the resin can ward off or even kill insects, or prevent fungi infection to protect the wound.

The common “plastic”

There is a wide variety of resins, each made up of complex structures, hence allowing different applications in our daily life - particularly before the advent of the modern chemical industry. Mixing resins with paints produces emulsion paints. Resins can also be used to make insulating materials or adhesive agents. A special example is Balsam Fir (Abies balsamea), the resin of which can be made into Canada balsam, which is a transparent fluid having a similar coefficient of refraction to glass. It is therefore used like a glue for use with glass.

The precious “plastic”

In contrast to artificial plastic, natural resin can be very precious in nature. The most renowned is frankincense, the resin from the plant Boswellia spp. of the Family Burseraceae. Frankincense is widely used as incense in religious ceremonies in holy temples. Frankincense was also featured in the Bible as a gift to Jesus, when the Three Wise Men from the East visited Jesus at his birth in Bethlehem. In former days, frankincense was widely traded in Egypt and Europe. Heads of states would even send commissioners out to procure the precious resin.

Apart from the diverse use of “fresh” resin, fossil resin is even more of a gem. Amber, the crystallised yellowish-brown jewel, is the fossil of ancient resin. It has been collected as embellishments since the Neolithic era. In addition, amber sometimes contains insects, small animals or other plant materials in their original state, making it an ideal specimen to study ancient biology.

Image
Tree resin
Image
Frankincense
Photo from Pixabay
Image
Amber ring
Photo from Pixabay

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 奇趣大自然

天然膠 — 樹脂

2020年10月
作者:綠色力量

現代社會大量使用化學塑膠,雖然方便,但對環境帶來了無比禍害。原來在化學工業未興起之前,人們已從大自然中提取樹脂作為「膠」,利用其具黏性的特質,應用到日用品製作上。化學塑膠是廉價之物,「天然膠」則視乎來自不同樹木,或具香氣,或晶瑩剔透,是為珍品也!

樹脂多是指樹木流出來的物質,本身是一種具黏度的液體,當中主要成分是萜烯,這種脂類化合物揮發性大,不溶於水,且具香氣,當接觸空氣久了,揮發後黏度會增大,甚至形成固體。除了樹木分泌物,一些昆蟲在樹幹上的分泌物,例如紫膠蟲(Laccifer lacca)的雌蟲繁殖時會分泌膠狀物包裹幼蟲,這些「蟲膠」亦歸類為樹脂。

不是所有樹木都會有樹脂,其中以松柏類植物較常分泌樹脂。至於樹木為何會產生樹脂,仍未有一肯定的說法,但普遍認同的推斷是當植物受傷時,分泌樹脂可密封傷口,其中樹脂的成分更可以驅趕以至殺死昆蟲,或是防止真菌侵襲,藉以保護傷口。

生活之膠

不同樹脂各自有複雜的結構,可供給人們不同的應用,尤其在化學工業未興起之前,使用更為廣泛,例如將樹脂與顏料混合成為乳膠漆,又或是製成絕緣材料,又或是用作黏合劑。其中一個較特別的例子,是利用膠冷杉(Abies balsamea)的樹脂製成「加拿大香脂」,它是一種透明液體,其折光率和玻璃的折光率相近,於是用作玻璃的黏合劑。

矜貴之膠

相比化學塑膠,樹脂這種「天然膠」除了可用於日常生活,更多了一種名貴的用途。著名的香料乳香是樹脂的一種,源自橄欖科乳香屬(Boswellia spp.)植物。乳香在一些宗教場合中會大量應用,是在聖殿或神廟之類的場所燃點的香料。《聖經》記載東方三博士在耶穌出生時到伯利恆朝聖,乳香便是其中一種奉獻給耶穌的禮物,可見其珍貴程度。據記載乳香甚至在古埃及及歐洲是一種貿易商品,國家元首會特地派專員向外採購。

除了「新鮮」的樹脂用途廣泛,樹脂的化石更是一種寶石。琥珀是古代樹脂的化石,一般呈透明黃褐色,形態像水晶一般,人們從新石器時代已開始採集製成裝飾品。此外,琥珀形成時由於經常會困著一些昆蟲等小動物,或是其他植物的部分,讓這些來自古代的小動物及植物能夠完好地保存原貌,成為了研究古代生物的理想樣本。

Image
樹脂
Image
乳香
Photo from Pixabay
Image
以琥珀製作的戒指
Photo from Pixabay

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)