1. Home
  2. >
  3. Amazing Nature

The Rough-and-Tumble Love Stories of Dragonflies

Jun 2019
Author : Green Power

Courtship matters. In every corner of the animal kingdom, males attract females by seemingly every means possible. Abilities such as releasing unique scent, displaying beautiful traits and offering a stable home, are equally impressive. Male dragonflies, however, are ruthless lovers – barbarically trying to push down every female that enters their territories to mate.

In common contexts, the term “dragonfly”, which has been loosely used, refer to species mostly from two suborders: dragonflies and damselflies. They share similar appearance and behaviour. Notwithstanding the unromantic relatives they have, some of the male dragonflies, such as those from families Calopterygidae and Chlorocyphidae, know how to approach a female gently by displaying their wings and other body parts, or even showing off the suitable breeding sites in their territories.

The reproduction method of dragonflies is one of a kind. A male adult dragonfly has two sets of genitals: the first set, which produces sperm, is in the ninth abdominal segment; the second set, which stores sperm for copulation, is in the second and third abdominal segments. The adult female dragonfly has its only genitalia near the rear of her abdomen. The extra set in the male, in fact, is the answer to the myth of their unique copulatory posture.

Take a closer look at the tip of the abdomen of a male dragonfly, where you could find clasp-shaped anal appendages attached to it. When mating, the male grasps the female's head – or prothorax – by the appendages, forming a tandem pair. They are the locks and the keys; only the same species would fit to tie the knot. A sexually receptive female will curl its abdomen forwards, connecting the secondary genital of the male, forming a “wheel” in a heart or oval shape. While some may prefer settling themselves before "having the hots", some abruptly do their baby making in the air.

Better safe than sorry

First things first. After mating, the female will get straight down to the search for an oviposition site. Dragonflies could never be more mindful of this matter. Damselflies and members of the family Aeshnidae have a robust ovipositor at the end of their abdomens. The mother would look for a desirable aquatic plant, cutting the plant with its ovipositor and depositing its eggs in it. Therefore, the eggs could effectively stay away from predators and prevent moisture loss by being enclosed in a humid environment.

Some dragonflies, such as those of the genus Gynacantha, are fans of seasonal ponds. Taking advantage of the changing water levels, they are fond of random puddles in woodlands, or even those inside tree holes and bamboo tubes. These water bodies are removed from the larger ones and thus unfavourable to larger predators such as fish, which should mean a higher survival rate for the larvae.

Relatively speaking, species from the family Libellulidae are more adaptable among dragonflies. They could breed in various environments, including marshes, ponds or even ditches. Due to their resilient nature, the mothers are more carefree – they would give birth by briefly touching the water, or sometimes airdropping on it!

Stay or go

A male partner’s attendance during childbirth may be vital indeed. Many male dragonflies demonstrate their paternity by protecting the wives that are about to lay eggs. Either maintaining the pairing or simply hovering around could safeguard the mother from being snatched by other males. Not surprisingly, some male dragonflies will untie the knot soon after getting the female up the duff. In mother nature, rolling stones do not come singly, but unfortunately, dragonflies also share some atrocious characteristics with humans.

Image
A male Neurobasis chinensis displays its graceful wings to win the female’s heart at first sight.
© Elaine Yuen
Image
A conspicuous heart-shaped “wheel” performed by a copulating pair. (Picture of Orthetrum glaucum)
Image
A male damselfly guards its ovipositing partner by holding the tandem – the mating position that grasps the female’s neck by its anal appendages. (Picture of Prodasineura croconota)

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 奇趣大自然

不文明的愛情 - 蜻蜓

2019年6月
作者:綠色力量

「求偶」在動物界中很普遍,例如以獨特氣味誘惑異性;向異性展示自己如何漂亮;如何能為異性提供安樂居所等等……然而這些求偶技倆,蜻蜓統統不需要,牠們只會「霸王硬上弓」,一旦有雌性進入其領土,即會被抓著交配,行為可說極「不文明」呢!

一般人所指的蜻蜓,多數包括蜻蜓及豆娘兩個亞目的物種,由於外型與習性相近,故統稱為「蜻蜓」。其實,蜻蜓世界也不是所有種類都只會「霸王硬上弓」,例如色蟌科及鼻蟌科的成員,雄性會對雌性展示其翅膀色彩或其他身體部分,又或是展示自己可讓雌性產卵的領土,藉此吸引異性。

蜻蜓亦有特別的繁殖方式。雄性成蟲擁有兩組生殖器:一組用來製造精子,位於腹部末端第九節;而其腹部第二、三節腹面則有第二組生殖器,用作儲存精子供交配時使用。雌性成蟲則只有一個生殖器,並位於腹部末端。為甚麼雄性要有兩個生殖器呢?原來這與蜻蜓獨特的交尾姿勢有莫大關係。

雄蟲腹部末端有像鉗子般的肛附器,能抓住雌蟲的頭後側或前胸,形成「串連」的狀態。一些雄蟲的肛附器跟雌蟲的頭胸就如鑰匙與鎖的關係,確保只有同種個體能進行交配,不會「錯配鴛鴦」。形成「串連」後雌蟲會將腹部向前舉起,將生殖器與雄蟲的第二生殖器連接,組成一個呈心形或橢圓形的「輪」。這個交配過程可定點,甚至是在飛行時進行。

嚴選產卵地方

交配過後,雌蟲便需要尋找合適地方產卵。不少種類對產卵地點亦有很高的要求。例如很多豆娘及蜓科的成員會選擇長有合適水生植物的水體產卵。牠們的腹部末端擁有發達的產卵器,能將植物切開並在其中產卵,防止卵受水份流失及捕食者威脅。

另有一些種類如長尾蜓屬的成員,則偏好在季節性的小水池產卵。這些小水池可以是林地上的小水窪,甚至是樹洞、竹筒等。這些環境在不同的季節有明顯的水位變化,亦與其他大型水體隔絕,因此不利魚類等較大型的捕食者生存,在此產卵便可減低日後稚蟲被捕食的機會。

不少蜻科成員則有較強的適應力,能在沼澤、池塘甚至是水溝等多樣化的水生境成長,所以這些物種的雌蟲都不需太顧慮將卵產在個別特定地方,並會以「點水」或「空投」的方式產卵。

守候與離開

很多蜻蜓的雄蟲在雌蟲產卵的同時,會繼續以串連方式「守護」雌蟲,或是在旁看守產卵過程,此舉亦可防止其他雄性「橫刀奪愛」。然而和人類一樣,蜻蜓都有不同的習性──一些蜻蜓在交配後就會各自遠飛,只餘下雌蟲獨自完成整個產卵過程。

Image
華艷色蟌(Neurobasis chinensis)的雄蟲正展示其艷麗的翅膀,以圖奪得美人歸。
© Elaine Yuen
Image
交尾中的蜻蜓組成了一個心形的「輪」。(圖是黑尾灰蜻(Orthetrum glaucum))
Image
一些雄蟲在交配後會繼續以肛附器鉗著雌蟲的後頸,以「串連」的狀態守護對方產卵。(圖是朱背齒原蟌(Prodasineura croconota))
Top

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)