1. Home
  2. >
  3. Amazing Nature

The Egg-citing Avian Nature

Apr 2019
Author : Green Power

Easter is just around the corner; have you rustled up the dyes for festive egg hues yet? In the wild, birds could make it equally eggs-cellent without a drop of ink! Bird eggs share a broader palette than humans expect; colours and patterns vary not only from species to species, but also individual to individual! There are lots of complicated ecological interactions that determine the colours and patterns of an egg - it is more than sheer attractiveness!

To decrypt the enigma, let’s start from the formation of a bird egg. Egg yolk (ovum) was the first form created in the ovary. Passing to the oviduct, fertilisation takes place when the female mates with a male. Egg white, moisture and a soft, stretchy membrane layer will be added onto the fertilised egg, sequentially, in the oviduct. The half-developed egg arrives at the uterus and is covered with calcium carbonate, the eggshell is then formed - it is almost finished!

Drawing to an end, a nice colour and texture toning marks the final step before an egg is laid. In the uterus, there are special glands “spraying” the eggshell with two pigments - biliverdin for blue and green; protoporphyrin for red and brown. The time and quantity of the spray works dependently on environmental factors, as well as the genes and physical condition of the mother, making each egg one of a kind. In addition to appearance, the texture of each bird egg differs from the finishing-up, for instance, a bright smooth shell is the product of an additional protein layer, while calcium carbonate coats the shell with white powder.

Environment the designer

Habitat decides how an egg looks. To avoid becoming dinner, ground-nesting birds, such as pheasants and woodcock, camouflage their eggs with striped or dotted patterns, blending them into the surrounding stones and fallen leaves. However, eggs laid by geese and ducks tend to be spotless and lighter in colour. Why? Camouflage plays a lesser role by virtue of the longer time parents spend during incubation. Parents may even cover their eggs with nesting materials. No wonder these eggs look less camouflaged, parental care is the best shield indeed!

How about birds that nest in tree holes or burrows? Considering the dark yet protective environment, hole-nesting birds (e.g. owls, woodpeckers) lay gleaming white eggs for easy location. Arboreal birds are not likely to be affected by the environmental factors above, hence, mothers tend to be more creative when decorating their eggs.

“Colour war” of eggs

What happens when a mother bird mixes its eggs with its neighbour’s? Living in flocks, seabirds (e.g. Laridae) paint their eggs with unique patterns, just to let their eggs stand out from the crowd!

Furthermore, some birds such as cuckoos may foist the responsibility of rearing their own offspring by laying their eggs in nests of the others. Research revealed that whenever a brood parasite bird becomes a frequent guest to one specific species, a “colour war” will then begin. The “host” bird changes its eggs’ pattern to be different from the brood parasite bird’s, while the latter will subsequently mimic the new pattern of the host. Therefore, you may find a constant switch of colours and patterns within the same nest of eggs. Asian Koel (Eudynamys scolopaceus) is a cuckoo that's among the brood parasite birds in Hong Kong, despite not being choosy regarding their “hosts”.

The attention attractor

Speaking of impressive eggs, American Robin (Turdus migratorius) definitely hits the nail on the head – their eggs are tiffany blue! You may wonder why they are so bold and eye-catching in the deadly wild. The fact is, American Robin nests in shrubs, which provides excellent protection to their young. Moreover, the bluish eggshell not only acts as a natural sunscreen against harmful ultraviolet rays for the embryo, but also nurtures the baby by absorbing moderate heat more effectively than the white ones. Also, studies also demonstrate that the healthier the mother American Robin is, the more biliverdin it produces. Guess what? Father American Robin is eager to spend longer to take care of the brighter egg!

Image
The protective dotted pattern on the ground-nesting Japanese Quails’ eggshells blend the eggs into the surrounding environment.
© Photo from Pixabay
Image
A unique pattern is vital to gregarious birds in distinguishing their own babies. (The photo shows a tern's eggs)
© Photo from Pixabay
Image
Asian Koels are brood parasites, laying their eggs in nests of the others.
© Photo from Pixabay
Image
Brood parasite bird’s egg in the nest of its “host”; which is the odd one out?
© Photo from Wikipedia:
Attribution: By Galawebdesign via Wikimedia Commons
Image
American Robin eggs are tiffany blue – how breathtaking!
© Photo from Pixabay

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 奇趣大自然

繽紛奇趣蛋

2019年4月
作者:綠色力量

復活節將到,一定不少得復活蛋。全憑人們的創意和想像,復活蛋全都繪上了鮮艷的色彩和獨特的圖案。在大自然,鳥蛋當然不及人手繪畫的來得絢麗多彩,但也絕不遜色!不同種類雀鳥的蛋當然大有不同,就算是同一品種、甚至同一母鳥誕下的蛋,顏色和花紋都可能迥然不同!原來鳥蛋的顏色和花紋蘊含了很多因素和複雜的生態互動關係,並不是單純的美觀而已!

要了解鳥蛋的顏色和花紋如何形成,可先由蛋的形成說起。蛋黃(即卵子)在卵巢形成,之後被送到輸卵管,如果雄鳥和雌鳥在此時交配,卵子便會受精。已受精的蛋黃在輸卵管內,會依次在表面加上蛋白、水分和蛋膜,可說是「半成形」的蛋。最後到達子宮,再包裹碳酸鈣,形成蛋殼,此時鳥蛋已大致完成。

在誕下鳥蛋之前,還要為蛋殼加上顏色和質感。子宮內有特別的腺體,像「噴槍」一樣將兩種色素加到蛋殼上──構成藍、綠色的膽綠素;構成紅、啡色的原紫質。至於「噴槍」於何時釋出色素、釋出多少色素,則取決於基因、環境因素、雌鳥身體狀況等,蛋殼上因而形成多變的顏色和花紋。最後,蛋殼的表面會加上一層物質,形成不同的表面質感,例如加了一層蛋白質,蛋殼表面便會光滑亮麗;加了一層碳酸鈣,蛋殼表面便會有一層白色粉狀物。

環境主宰鳥蛋模樣

鳥蛋的外觀主要和生境有關,例如在地上築巢的鳥類(如雉科、鷸科等),因鳥蛋容易被獵食者發現,因此大都有條紋或斑紋,以便隱藏於石頭和枯葉之間。相反,一些雁鴨科鳥類(如鵝、鴨等)雖然同是在地上築巢,但牠們會花很多時間留在蛋上孵育,有些鴨類甚至會用築巢材料遮蓋著蛋,由於鳥蛋有爸爸和媽媽的細心照料,因而不需靠保護色保護,鳥蛋都是淡色且沒有花紋。

又例如住在樹洞或地洞的鳥類(如貓頭鷹、啄木鳥等),由於已有洞穴保護,鳥蛋大都是白色且具光澤,這樣鳥爸爸和鳥媽媽便容易於洞內昏暗環境中看見鳥蛋。至於樹棲性的鳥類,因不受上述環境因素所限,鳥蛋的顏色和花紋因而非常多樣化。

鳥蛋特色競賽

一窩鳥蛋或有機會和鄰家的蛋混在一起,此時蛋的花紋便大派用場。例如海鳥(如鷗科)絕大部分是群居,蛋的獨特花紋便有助鳥爸爸和鳥媽媽認出自己的蛋。

此外,有些雀鳥具「巢寄生」習性,會將自己的蛋誕在其他鳥類的鳥巢,讓別的鳥爸爸和鳥媽媽替牠「養便宜仔」。有研究指,若「巢寄生」鳥類有特定的「寄主」,即喜歡將自己的蛋誕在某一特定種類雀鳥的巢中,便有機會引發一場有趣的「生態競賽」:「寄主」鳥類會為免被騙而誕下獨特的蛋,以分辨自己的寶寶;「巢寄生」鳥類則為了能夠瞞騙「寄主」鳥類,於是用盡辦法誕下更難被分辨的蛋。如是者,「巢寄生」和「寄主」雙方的蛋,無論是顏色和花紋均會不斷改變呢!在香港,也可找到具「巢寄生」習性的鳥類-噪鵑(Eudynamys scolopaceus),但牠們並非只會將自己的蛋誕在某一種特定「寄主」鳥類的巢中。

最漂亮的鳥蛋

要數顏色奇異的蛋,不得不提美洲的旅鶇(Turdus migratorius),牠的蛋是鮮艷的彩藍色,非常漂亮奪目!這麼顯眼的蛋,豈不是會吸引獵食者?原來旅鶇的巢築在灌木叢中,不易被發現,因此保護色並不重要,反而藍色的蛋殼能隔絕有害紫外光,保護胚胎免受傷害。加上藍色的蛋殼比白色深色,可吸收熱力,有助胚胎成長。此外,研究發現較健康的雌性旅鶇,會分泌更多膽綠素,生出顏色更鮮艷的蛋,藉此吸引雄性旅鶇更努力照顧下一代呢!

Image
鵪鶉在地上築巢,蛋殼上的斑點能發揮保護色的作用。
© Photo from Pixabay
Image
鳥爸爸和鳥媽媽靠蛋的花紋來分辨自己的寶寶,對群居鳥類尤為重要。(圖為燕鷗的蛋)
© Photo from Pixabay
Image
噪鵑有「巢寄生」習性,會刻意將蛋誕在另一種鳥的巢中。
© Photo from Pixabay
Image
「巢寄生」雀鳥將蛋誕在其他鳥類的巢中,有時卻因花紋大不同而被「寄主」鳥類發現!
© Photo from Wikipedia:
Attribution: By Galawebdesign via Wikimedia Commons
Image
旅鶇的蛋有令人一見難忘的色彩!
© Photo from Pixabay
Top

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)