1. Home
  2. >
  3. Amazing Nature

Urban Birds Changing Their Voices Under Duress

Feb 2019
Author : Green Power

Listening to bird songs in nature helps relieve our work stress and raise productivity. On the other hand, while we enjoy the sounds of nature, are we aware that the noise we generate is affecting the survival of the birds living next to us? Birds rely on vocal signals to communicate, guard territory, locate position and court their mates. The noisy urban environment is causing problems for them. In response, many birds are shifting their voices. Have you noticed the subtle changes?

In the city, the ambient environment is harsh for birds due to a masking effect by all the crowds of people, vehicles and buildings that can smother sounds. Effective transmission of the birds’ calls seems difficult if not impossible! Imagine what it is like to communicate with a friend some distance away on a noisy street. Studies have indicated that urban noise suppresses the number of eggs laid by birds and the population size. To cope with such adversity, many birds have developed special vocal adjustment techniques.

Vocal adjustment

The most direct response to a noisy environment may be to raise the volume. However, calling in such a way highly depletes one’s energy and few birds will go for such a “costly” strategy. Scientists have noted that some birds adopt shorter calls or repeat certain notes to accentuate their voices. Others may even change the timing of calls, to avoid "sound combat" with the ambient environment.

Most birds, however, shift their tune frequencies. In general, city noise belongs to the low-frequency range from about 1000 to 2000 Hz. A higher pitch can be heard against such background noise.

By altering the head angle and beak gape the birds can shift their calling tunes. Less extra energy is needed. Research on local birds concluded that many raise their pitches in a noisy environment, including Common Tailorbird Orthotomus sutorius, Fork-tailed Sunbird Aethopyga christinae, Oriental Magpie RobinCopsychus saularis, and Spotted Dove Spilopelia chinensis. In the bird world, having a high-frequency voice is not only to show off but essential for their survival!

Nevertheless, pitch raising has its disadvantages too. Higher pitch propagates a shorter distance in the air. There is also a morphological limitation in changing pitch. Birds having a narrow range of vocalisation cannot take advantage of the vocal adjustment competition.

"Retreat" in the City

One of the major objectives set out by the Environment Bureau in The Hong Kong Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan 2016-2021 is to raise biodiversity in the city. To create quality bird habitats in the urban area, noise reduction is a priority which can be achieved by proper city design. The Tang-styled Nan Lian Garden in Wong Tai Sin can be a reference. A well-designed sound barrier has been adopted so that visitors are not affected or even unaware of the fact that the garden is surrounded by roads and traffic. It is indeed a nice retreat for birds as well as people in the city.

Image
Common Tailorbird Orthotomus sutorius raises its pitch in a noisy environment.
© Henry Lui
Call of Common Tailorbird in a normal environment.
In a noisy environment, Common Tailorbird calls at a much higher pitch.

Subscribe to Green Power's latest news

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 奇趣大自然

城市鳥 變調了

2019年2月
作者:綠色力量

曾有學者指出,聆聽大自然雀鳥聲可以緩和工作壓力和提升生產力。當我們每天享受著鳥兒哼出的自然樂曲,另一邊廂,鳥兒卻因為人類造成的嘈雜環境而影響生存。雀鳥倚靠叫聲來傳遞訊息、守護領土、定位和求偶,四周環境愈吵,對牠們影響愈大。鳥兒為了應對城市的嘈雜環境,原來正在竭力地調節歌聲,我們在欣賞鳥兒歌聲的同時,有否察覺當中的變化?

城市人多車多,建築物密集,加上城市建設容易將聲音反射,令環境變得嘈雜。在噪音下,雀鳥的叫聲變得難以有效地傳遞。我們試想像在喧鬧的街頭,要向遠處的好友傳聲,會是多麼的困難啊!早有外國研究指出,城市噪音會抑壓雀鳥的產蛋數量和族群大小。為了對抗城市噪音的影響,雀鳥發展出多種調節叫聲的技能。

雀鳥變聲術

面對高噪音環境,最直接的回應是提高聲量。不過,力竭聲嘶地鳴叫只會加速消耗體內儲存的能量,所以較少雀鳥會採取這種「昂貴」的策略。科學家發現,有雀鳥在噪音下傾向選用短促的音節,或是不斷重覆某個特定音節,以突出自己的叫聲。此外,也有雀鳥會避開與噪音「正面衝突」,改變鳴叫的時間,即不會在最嘈吵的時段發聲。

但最多鳥類會採取的「變聲技倆」,則是調節叫聲的音調。原來城市噪音大多屬於低音域,一般維持在1000至2000赫茲(Hz)。因此,雀鳥只要能夠提高音調,叫聲在噪音下依然可以突圍而出。

雀鳥只需透過改變鳴叫時頭部的角度和啄的閉合形狀,便可變調,相對花費較少的額外能量。有研究分析本地雀鳥叫聲與環境噪音的關係,結論是大多數調查對象,包括長尾縫葉鶯(Orthotomus sutorius)、叉尾太陽鳥(Aethopyga christinae)、鵲鴝(Copsychus saularis)和珠頸斑鳩(Spilopelia chinensis),均在噪音較高時提升叫聲音調。在雀鳥的世界,「飆高音」不單可以展露歌喉,更加是求生之策呢!

然而,提高音調並非全無缺憾,例如會令叫聲在空氣中的穿透力降低,不利遠距離傳聲。其次,雀鳥身體構造也限制了改變聲音結構的幅度,生來音域較狹窄的雀鳥在這方面就顯得輸蝕了。

鬧市「靜」土

由環境局制定的《香港生物多樣性策略及行動計劃2016-2021》,其中一個重要政策目標是提升城市生物多樣性。要為城市雀鳥打造優質的棲息環境,必須優化城市空間設計來減低環境噪音污染,位於黃大仙的南蓮園池可以作為一個參考。園內除了富有唐代特色的園林,亦引進了精密的隔音設計,使人置身其中亦難以察覺園池周遭被道路包圍,亦不會被道路交通噪音影響,絕對是雀鳥和市民樂見的「靜」土。

Image
長尾縫葉鶯在噪音環境下會提升叫聲的音調。
© Henry Lui
正常環境下,長尾縫葉鶯的叫聲。
噪音環境下,長尾縫葉鶯的叫聲,明顯較高音。
Top

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)