Tung Chung River, originating at an altitude of 880 metres, between Fung Leng and Wong Leng of Lantau Peak, flows through northern Lantau Island, and reaches the sea southwest of Tung Chung new town. It ranks third in terms of the height of river origin in Hong Kong. The main stream flows north through Pak Tin Mun, Tei Tong Tsai, Chap Mun Tau and Mok Ka, and merges with a major tributary (East Stream) at midway between Ngau Au and Wong Ka Wai, before entering Tung Chung Bay.



Lantau Peak
 
Fung Peak and Wong Peak

The source at Lantau Peak
 

The major tributary to the east of Tung Chung River converges with the main stream very near the estuary. Its basin area, length and flow volume are comparable with the main stream. Hence it is often called East Stream, while the main stream is called West Stream. East Stream originates from the west of Sunset Peak at an altitude of 815 metres, flows westwards down Sunset Peak, via north Pak Kung Au at 220 metres above sea level, and descends to the valley bottom, then flows near the west of Tung Chung Road through Shek Mun Kap and Fong Yuen before merging with the West Stream.

Tung Chung River is ringed by watersheds on Nei Lak Shan (west), Lantau Peak (south) and the northern ridge of Sunset Peak (east), with a basin area of 11.09 km2. The West Stream has a dendritic drainage pattern, with two major tributaries along Nei Lak Shan east slope at Shek Pik Au. The East Stream, on the other hand, has a rectangular drainage pattern. The river valley is narrow and most tributaries are short and enter the stream at right angle. A radial drainage pattern is formed at the top of Lantau Peak and Sunset Peak.



The lower course of Tung Chung River near the confluence.


Runoff at the river mouth of Tung Chung River


The estuary of Tung Chung River

Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

東涌河位於大嶼山島上中部以北,東涌新市鎮西南面,發源於鳳凰山鳳嶺與凰嶺之間,源頭約在海拔880米,是香港發源地第三高的河流。東涌河的幹流向北流經北天門、地塘仔、閘門頭、莫家,在牛凹和黃家圍之間匯合另一大支流(東河)後,流入東涌灣。


鳳凰山

鳳峰與凰峰

鳳凰山頂上河源


東西河匯合點附近的下游河道
 

東涌河幹流以東有一條主要支流,差不多到河口才匯合幹流,其河盆面積、長度和水量可媲美幹流,這條主要的支流通常被稱作「東河」,幹流則稱為西河。東河發源於大東山山頂以西,海拔815米的山脊下,向西流下大東山,在伯公坳以北海拔220米流到河谷底部,然後沿東涌路以西流經石門甲、芳園,最後匯合西河。

東涌河被彌勒山(西)、鳳凰山(南)和大東山北延的山脊(東)的分水嶺所包圍,河盆面積為11.09平方公里。西河為樹枝狀水系,其兩條彌勒山東坡的主要支流在石壁凹匯入。東河則為長方水系,河谷狹長,其支流大部份較短,以近直角匯入。在鳳凰山和大東山山頂則形成放射狀水系。


東涌河河口的徑流


東涌河河口

Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.