Village in the River Basin

Set by the Pearl River mouth, Tuen Mun was one of the first places in Hong Kong to feature in historical records. The Tang government garrisoned at Tuen Mun for better coast defence and trade management. For military reasons, there were no large villages in Tuen Mun. The main residents were fishermen, who were called Tanka.

At the beginning of Qing dynasty, the coastal evacuation policy was implemented; coastal residents were forced to move inland. However, there was less arable land in Tuen Mun, so the population and number of villages were low, hampering development after the policy was withdrawn. Tuen Mun was under the authority of Yuen Long during the colonial rule by the British-Hong Kong government until 1974, until development of Tuen Mun new town began.

Old Tao's Ancestral Hall


Tuen Mun formerly lacked extensive flat land, so few of the villages relied on farming. The major crop was rice, and there were a few orchards. According to historical records such as Xin An County Annals, Castle Peak had produced famous, high-quality mountain tea comparable to Meng Shan Tea of Sichuan, but production was limited, and there were no records of tea growing here in modern times. Since the river water was not enough for irrigation, in the 1970s the Agriculture and Fisheries Department (now the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department) built about 20 agricultural weirs by villages like Tsing Chuen Wai. These provided irrigation water for the villagers. Other than growing crops, many villages located in upstream areas also engaged in the livestock and poultry industry. In the 1980s, there were over 1,000 livestock or poultry farms keeping pigs, chickens, pigeons, quail, ducks and other livestock in Tuen Mun.

Farmland in Tuen Mun was vastly reduced by urban development. In 1990, farmland, livestock and poultry industries gradually disappeared. At present, there are only few scattered self-subsistence farms in rural Tuen Mun, and three farms certified by the Hong Kong Organic Resource Centre, producing some organic agricultural products.

Agricultural weir stop-logs

Farmland in Tuen Mun


Fisheries were developed at Tuen Mun before agriculture, as evidenced by Neolithic fishing gear found during archaeological excavations such as net weights and harpoon tips, however information about earlier fisheries in Tuen Mun is sparse. In 1953, Castle Peak Bay area was the fourth largest fishing port in Hong Kong, stilt-houses could be found near Sam Shing Tsuen. However with the development of new towns, these huts were demolished. Although the number of fishermen in Tuen Mun decreased, it is still an important shelter for fishermen.

Fish ponds were formerly developed at the Tuen Mun River estuary, but at small scale. With the development of Tuen Mun New Town, fish farming eventually vanished.

Fish vessels in Vastle Peak Bay


Because the population in Tuen Mun was relatively low, so the area lacked large markets. Yuen Long Hui was the main place for trading between residents, though three small markets had appeared in Tuen Mun district. The three markets included Kau Hui (Old Market) located in the west coast of Castle Peak Bay, its date of origin cannot be traced; In San Hui (New Market) at the east coast of Castle Peak from the late Qing Dynasty to the 1960s. Another market was formed at Sam Shing Tsuen, seafood and fishing materials were the main goods. However, in the 1970s the government carried out large-scale reclamation and all these markets was demolished.

Tuen Mun San Hui


Castle Peak Bay was originally a sheltered inlet and the location was close to the Pearl River mouth, it was a vital waterway to Guangzhou. Coupled with its currents and prevailing winds suiting voyages, Tuen Mun was a port for business travel supplies and military bases.

In the Qing Dynasty, there was Kaito ferry services connected Tuen Mun and Pak Mong, Lantau Island. Until the 1920s, Tuen Mun was the halfway point of ferry services from Central to Tai O. In 1980s the ferry company added additional routes between Tuen Mun and Central, and between Tuen Mun and Wai Chai. In 1997, the Western Harbour Tunnel was completed, leading to a substantial reduction in ferry commuter passengers, and the route between Hong Kong Island and Tuen Mun formally closed in 2000. Later, the routes to Shekou in mainland China, and Macau, departing from Tuen Mun pier were opened.

Lighthouse used for navigation

Leisure and Tourism

Since the late Eastern Jin Dynasty, Tuen Mun has been well-known for the deeds of Monk Pui To. These tales, together with ancient temples and natural scenery, attracted many worshippers. In addition, the Tin Hau Temple at Hau Kok is one of the oldest Tin Hau Temples in Hong Kong; many fishermen formerly worshipped here.

Before the development of Tuen Mun New Town, every year during the Dragon Boat Festival, the villagers around Tuen Mun River paddled dragon boats from upper course to the estuary at Hau Kok Tin Hau Temple. After completion of the reclamation work, the race was held in Tuen Mun Typhoon Shelter, attracting many spectators every year. In the 1950s, Sam Shing Hui had a Tai Pak Floating Restaurant – a restaurant on the sea to attract tourists. It disappeared due to the reclamation, but Sam Shing is still a hotspot for visitors to enjoy seafood.

In Tuen Mun District, there are many beaches that people enjoy in summer. Yet in 1981, Castle Peak Beach at Tuen Mun River estuary on the east coast of Castle Peak Bay was closed due to serious pollution of the Tuen Mun River. Later, the water quality was greatly improved, and the beach re-opened in 2005.

To the east of Tuen Mun River basin is Tai Lam Country Park, where the path along the catchwater is part of the MacLehose Trail and Tuen Mun fitness trail, which is a good place for public hiking and morning walkers. The upper slopes of Castle Peak, west of the river basin, are home to rare plants such as Balloon Flower and Chinese Lily, and designated as a Site of Special Science Interest. However, residents can only visit during holidays because this area is included within a firing range.

Dragon boat race in Tuen Mun

Castle Peak Beach



Tuen Mun Fitness Trail

New Town Development

Compared to nearby districts like Yuen Long and Kam Tin, the Tuen Mun population was formerly relatively low. There were only 250 residents in San Hui when the British-Hong Kong Government took over the New Territories in 1899. Not until Tuen Mun developed into a New Town there was more substantial population growth. The first public housing estate was established in 1971, the Tuen Mun Highway opened to traffic in 1983, population growth accelerated and the population had a tenfold increase within two decades; in 2010 the population was about 490,000.

Tuen Mun was one of the first new towns developed in Hong Kong. As early as 1959 research report had recommended a substantial reclamation in Castle Peak Bay, to supply land for the development of a new town. Castle Peak Bay coastline had to be re-shaped by the development; the residents were greatly affected and the former fishing village became a modern new town.

Tuen Mun New Town

Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

河盆村落

屯門位處珠江口,昔日海路交通發達,是香港最早發展及有史籍記載的地區之一。唐初為了海防及管理對外貿易,設立軍鎮於屯門,由於為駐兵之地,所以並無大規模村落,聚居的主要是捕魚維生的蜑家人。清初頒令海禁,迫使所有沿海居民遷往內陸,加上屯門適合耕作的土地不多,所以復界後發展亦較緩慢。殖民地初期港英政府將其撥歸元朗管理,直至1974年開發新市鎮,屯門才脫離元朗獨立發展,並演變成現今的面貌。

舊陶氏宗祠
 

農業

過去屯門一帶由於平地較少,所以以務農維生的鄉村不多,農作物以稻米為主,還有小量果園。《新安縣志》等古籍記載青山曾出產優質高山茶,品質與四川的蒙山茶相近,不過產量不多,近代已無相關記錄。由於河水不敷灌漑之用,漁農處(現改名為漁農自然護理署)於1970年代為青磚圍一帶興建約20個農用陂頭水閘,為村民提供灌溉用水。除了耕種外,屯門河上游很多鄉村過去亦有從事禽畜養殖業。1980年代屯門就曾有過千戶農場,飼養豬、雞、白鴿、鵪鶉及鴨等禽畜。

屯門的耕地隨著城市發展日漸萎縮,1990年後屯門的農田及農場逐漸消失,現時只有一些鄉村仍然有零星的農田自耕,還有三個獲有機資源中心認證的農場,生產小量有機農產品。


農用陂頭水閘

屯門現存農地

漁業

屯門的漁業發展比農業更早起步,過去發掘出不少新石器時代的網墜、矢鏃等捕魚工具,但屯門早期漁業的資料並不多。在1953年青山灣是當時香港第四大的漁港,三聖邨 一帶更有不少水上棚屋。但隨著新市鎮的發展,這些棚屋均已清拆,雖然屯門漁民數量驟減,但現時青山灣仍是重要的避風港。

過去屯門河河口的位置有魚塘養魚,不過規模較小,隨著新市鎮發展,養魚業亦隨之而消失。


青山灣內的漁船


墟市

屯門由於過去的人口較少,因而缺乏大型墟市,居民主要以元朗墟為貨物買賣之地,不過屯門區內仍然先後出現過三個小規模的墟市。包括青山灣西岸年代不可考的「舊墟」,清末時青山灣東岸沿用至1960年代發展新市鎮為止的「新墟」,和1950年代三聖村以販售海鮮、漁業物料的三聖墟。但這些墟市在1970年代大規模填海工程後均被清拆。


屯門新墟

航運

青山灣左右各有高山遮擋強風,而且鄰近珠江河口,是過去水路通往廣州的必經之地。加上青山灣水流及風向皆適合遠航,所以早於唐代屯門已作為商旅補給及軍隊管理航運往來的基地。

此外清代屯門有往返大嶼山白芒的街渡。至1920年代屯門是中環至大澳渡輪服務的中途站。1980年代渡輪公司於是加設屯門至中環、灣仔的航線。1997年西區海底隧道落成,乘搭小輪的乘客大減,2000年往返市區至屯門的航線正式結束,改設了往返內地蛇口及澳門的渡輪。


過去導航用的燈塔

康樂旅遊

早於東晋末年,屯門已因杯渡禪師的事蹟而揚名,加上古剎及自然勝景,吸引不少善信前往。位於后角的天后廟是香港最古老的天后廟之一,過去是不少漁民祭祀的地方。

在屯門新市鎮尚未發展時,每年端午,屯門河一帶的村民都會從上游扒龍舟至河口的后角天后廟,龍舟活動於填海工程完成後定於屯門避風塘舉行,每年吸引不少遊人前往觀看。1950 年代,三聖墟有一艘太白海鮮舫,是吸引遊客的海上食肆,填海發展後雖然海鮮舫已經消失,但三聖一帶仍是遊人品嚐海鮮的熱點。

屯門區內擁有不少泳灘,是市民夏日消暑的好去處。青山灣泳灘位於屯門河口的青山灣東岸,1981年因屯門河嚴重污染而關閉,及後水質大為改善,泳灘亦於2005年重開。

屯門河盆東面為大欖郊野公園,擁有部分麥理浩徑及屯門健身徑,是市民遠足晨運的好去處。河盆西面的青山由於為桔梗及淡紫百合等珍稀植物的生長地,所以列為「具特殊科學價值地點」,不過由於大部分地方被劃入練靶場,所以只有假日可供市民到訪。


屯門龍舟競渡


青山灣泳灘

 

 

屯門健身徑

新市鎮發展

屯門過去人口較鄰近的元朗、錦田為少。1899年港英政府接管新界時,屯門新墟人口僅250人,直至政府開發屯門為新市鎮,人口才有較大增長。1971年屯門首個公共屋?入伙,至1983年屯門公路全線通車,人口增長加快,二十年間人口增幅約十倍,2010年屯門人口約49萬。

屯門是本港首批發展的新市鎮之一,早於1959年的研究報告已建議於青山灣大幅填海,供應建築用地予新市鎮發展。青山灣的海岸線因發展需要而被重新塑造,區內的居民備受影響,昔日的漁村已變成現代化的新市鎮。


屯門新市鎮


Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.