The bedrock of the eastern and western watersheds of Tuen Mun River is fine-grained granite, forming peaks such as Castle Peak and Kau Keng Shan. As granite in most areas in the eastern river basin is weathered and eroded, and large-scale deforestation in the area has also caused severe soil erosion, the ridges are generally flat and rounded and there are many badland features such as rills and gullies on the ridges and slopes

Tuen Mun Valley lies on the Tuen Mun – Lo Wu Fault Zone. Most of the bedrock of Tuen Mun Valley is andesite, forming low and round hills such as Por Lo Shan. Metamorphic rocks that originated from sedimentary rocks such as metasiltsand, metasandstone and phyllite occur to the northeast of the Tuen Mun Valley, stretching from Tuen Mun Treatment Works to Fuk Hang Tsuen. Sedimentary rocks such as sandstone, mudstone and conglomerate occur to the southwest of the valley at Tsing Shan Tsuen. Weathering and river erosion create concave slopes with large gradients forming dendritic drainage patterns, such as Tsz Tin Hang, and steep, narrow and convex ridges

The banks of Tuen Mun River Channel, from Tuen Mun Park to Tuen Mun Typhoon Shelter, originally belonged to the deeply indented bay of Castle Peak Bay. The riverbanks were reclaimed from the sea. The natural estuary lay between the present Pui To Road and Hau Kok Tin Hau Temple. There is no large alluvial plain along the lower course of Tuen Mun River; the main plains are at Fu Tei Ha Tsuen, San Hing Tsuen, Tsz Tin Tsuen and Kei Lun Wai. The colluvium is distributed on two sides of Tuen Mun Valley: eastern slopes of Castle Peak range and the northern river basin.

The eastern slope of Castle Peak has been eroded to form a concave slope



The original Tuen Mun River mouth was between Pui To Road and Hau Kok Tin Hau Temple

Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

屯門河河盆東西兩側分水嶺的基岩是細粒花崗岩,形成青山和九逕山等山峰。由於東面河谷大部分地方的花崗岩受到風化和侵蝕,加上該地區曾大面積伐林,水土流失頗為嚴重,所以山脊多數較低矮和圓鈍,山脊和山坡普遍出現細溝和沖溝等劣地地貌。


西面的屯門谷位於屯門 ─ 羅湖斷裂帶之中,主要的基岩是安山岩,形成較矮的山丘如菠蘿山。河盆的東北面,包括屯門濾水廠至福亨村一帶,則為變質粉砂岩、變質砂岩和千枚岩等源自沉積岩的變質岩。至於河盆的西南面,包括青山村一帶,則是砂岩、泥岩、礫岩等沉積岩和凝灰岩。至於河盆的其餘地質結構則埋藏在沉積物之下。風化和河流侵蝕作用在青山東面造成坡度大、凹曲的坡面,同時亦會造成兩側陡斜、狹長而聳峭的山脊。


屯門河道兩岸,由屯門公園至屯門避風塘兩岸,原本是青山灣深邃的內灣,現時兩岸的土地均由填海得來。原本屯門河的天然河口則位於現在的杯渡路與后角天后廟之間。屯門河下游沒有大面積的沖積平原,最大的分布在虎地下村、新慶村、紫田村和麒麟圍。坡積物主要分布在屯門河谷兩側,在整列青山山脈的東坡和河谷的北面。


屯門河原本河口在現時的杯渡路與后角天后廟之間

青山東面山坡被侵蝕成凹曲的坡面


礫岩


沖溝


Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.