Reservoir Construction

Lam Tei Irrigation Reservoir was built by the Water Supplies Department in 1956. The reservoir has a 71.6m long, 21.0m high dam, a catchment area of about 2 square km, and a capacity of 115,000 m3. The dam separates the lower course from Lo Fu Hang, both hydrologically and ecologically. Also, the reduced flow has drastically weakened the self-purifying power of the lower course, making Tuen Mun River Channel susceptible to water pollution and sedimentation.




Lam Tei Irrigation Reservoir


Catchwater Diverting the River

The government built a catchwater on the western and southern slope of Kau Keng Shan, to intercept river water from upper course streams in the southeastern Tuen Mun Valley and channel the water to Tai Lam Chung Reservoir. The catchwater is a typical artificial channel, with the bottom and banks covered with concrete and a trapezoidal cross-section. The catchwaters cut off the natural streams, and the stream beds become mostly dry. The stream habitats are also fragmented. Moreover, catchwaters may connect different isolated drainage systems, and interfere with the hydrology of river basins.




Catchwater


Reclamation

In the 1970s, due to the development of Tuen Mun New Town, downstream of Tuen Mun River was undergone sea reclamation. "Tuen Mun River Channel", which passes flows through Siu Hong Court to Tuen Mun town centre. before the, this area was shallow sea known as Castle Peak Bay, just outside the estuary at Hau Kok Tin Hau Temple. extended the lower course of Tuen Mun River, which became today's "Tuen Mun River Channel". At the same time, streams that had originally fed into Castle Bay Bay were also extended by reclamation, becoming new tributaries of Tuen Mun River Channel. However, in the process these tributaries were mostly turned into underground waterways.



Tuen Mun River Channel was shallow sea before


Water Pollution

In the early days, without environmental regulations and sewage facilities, the large-scale industrial landuse in Tuen Mun New Town as well as numerous livestock farms in the villages discharged enormous amounts of untreated sewage into Tuen Mun River, causing severe pollution. Today, after years of efforts by the Environmental Protection Department (EPD) and other government departments, sewage from factories, villages, poultries and livestock farm and unlawful connection to stormwater drains are solved or under control. However, water quality problems persist, as some villages have yet to install sewage collection facilities and there are still expedient connections to the public sewers and the pollutants from stormwater drainage. Therefore, pollution problems of Tuen Mun River are yet to be completely solved.




Rubbishes from village polluted river water

Channelization

When Tuen Mun New Town was developed, the downstream of Tuen Mun River was channelised—straightened, deepened, widened and the riverbed and riverbanks were covered with concrete for increasing water flow to relieve flooding. The Drainage Services Department (DSD) built a dry weather flow channel along the middle of the nullah, to keep water flowing during low flows. Channelisation drastically altered the hydrology – changing flow, self-purification and river ecology of the lower course of Tuen River. Although flood prevention was achieved, other functions of a natural river were sacrificed, such as drinking water supply, irrigation, navigation, fisheries and recreational uses.




Dry weather flow of Tuen Mun River

Typhoon Shelter

Tuen Mun Typhoon Shelter locates at the south of Tuen Mun River estuary; it was built for fishing vessels that had moored in Castle Peak Bay due to development of Tuen Mun New Town. Mooring places, a wholesale fish market and cargo working area were also provided. Tuen Mun Typhoon Shelter is bounded by reclamation to the north and west, breakwaters to the east and south, making it an enclosed area of water. Pollutants carried by Tuen Mun River cannot be diluted and dispersed by sea currents, and are trapped in the typhoon shelter, worsening its water quality. Breakwaters weaken the flushing power of sea currents and tides, and lower the self-purification power of the lower course of Tuen Mun River Channel, leading to water pollution, and resultant ecological and odour problems.




Tuen Mun Typhoon Shelter


Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

興建水塘

 

藍地灌溉水塘由水務署興建,於1956年落成,水塘堤壩長71.6米,高21米,集水區面績約為2平方公里,儲水量達11.5萬平方米。自堤壩建成後,老虎坑與下游河道無論在水文和河流生態上完全割裂。此外,由於屯門河流到下游的水量大減,嚴重削弱了屯門河下游的天然自淨功能,使屯門河道容易受水質污染和淤泥沉積影響。




藍地灌漑水塘


引水道堵截河水

大欖涌水塘引水道是沿九逕山西面和南面山腰興建的一條引水道,目的是攔截屯門谷東南面上游的河水,將這些原本流往屯門河道的溪水,引離天然集水區,改而輸往河盆外的大欖涌水塘。引水道的底部及兩側以混凝土建造,水道截面呈梯形,是典型的人工水道。引水道截斷了天然溪澗,使其以下的河溪因而變得乾涸,也造成河溪生境割裂,亦擾亂了河盆的水文,使原本不相通的各個水系連接起來。




引水道

填海工程

為配合七十年代屯門新市鎮的發展,屯門河下游河道大部分位置都曾進行填海工程。現在由兆康苑至屯門市中心的「屯門河道」,在新市鎮發展之前仍是河口(位於后角天后廟)對出的淺海,即青山灣。在發展屯門新市鎮時,屯門河下游及河口遭填海影響,而一些原本流入青山灣的溪澗亦被填海工程延伸其河道,變成了「屯門河道」的新支流,這些支流大部分成為了地下水道。填海完全破壞了原來的天然海岸,現時只見筆直的混凝土和石牆。



屯門河道原為淺海

河水污染

早期屯門新市鎮規劃了大量工業用地,同時屯門的村落又有很多飼養禽畜的農場,在沒有環保法例規管和排污設施下,這些工廠和農場排放大量未經處理的污水,嚴重污染屯門河水質。時至今日,經環境保護署(環保署)和其他政府部門的多年整治,來自工廠、鄉村、禽畜廢物、非法接駁污水渠等污水都得到解決或控制,但目前屯門河的水質仍然受到部分未接駁公共污水渠的鄉村、非法接駁排污渠及市區的雨水渠所影響,所以屯門河的污染仍未完全根治。




村邊垃圾污染河水

渠道化工程

發展屯門新市鎮時,因為排洪考慮,屯門河下游均被渠道化。河道被拉直、擴闊和挖深,河床及河岸兩旁則鋪上混凝土,以增加排洪效率。渠務署又在明渠的底部中央建有旱季流,讓河道在水量不多時仍然保持水流。渠道化改變了屯門河下游的水文、流量的變化規律、自淨能力、河流生態等等。雖然滿足了防洪的要求,但卻犧牲了天然河流其他方面的功能,如:提供食水、灌溉、航運、漁業、康樂旅遊等。




屯門河的旱季流


避風塘

屯門避風塘位於屯門河河口南面,它安置了因發展屯門新市鎮,原本停泊在青山灣的漁船。屯門避風塘提供船隻泊位、魚類批發市場和貨物裝卸區。避風塘的北面和西面是填海得來的土地,東面和南面築有防波堤,使避風塘成為接近封閉的水域。屯門河流出屯門避風塘的污染物因而不能藉海流稀釋和沖走,積聚在避風塘內,使避風塘水質變差。而防波堤亦削弱了海流和潮汐的沖刷力,減低屯門河道下游的自淨能力,繼而造成水質、生態、臭味等問題。




屯門避風塘


Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.