Water Intakes

Tung Chung River is a major water source of Shek Pik Reservoir. On average, it channels 10 million m3 of water into the reservoir each year – ie, 40% of the reservoir's total capacity. Three intakes from the river lie near Shek Pik Au and the Country Park Management Centres at Tung Chung Road. Water collected passes through a 3.8-km pipe connecting Ngong Ping and Lantau Peak to reach Shek Pik Reservoir.


Shek Pik Reservoir


Tung Chung Au Portal of water tunnel

Water intake

Channelization

As Tung Chung River is farther away from Tung Chung Town, channelization was only carried out in a downstream section of the East Stream originating from Sunset Peak, and the few tributaries that intersect with Tung Chung Road. The remaining sections have been kept in their natural state, especially the estuary – making this one of Hong Kong's few relatively large rivers that has not undergone channelization and reclamation at their estuaries.

 


Concreted river channel

Gabions placed on riversides

Works on Tung Chung Road

The government launched Improvement to Tung Chung Road in 2001, to improve the substandard road for road safety and ensure traffic linkage between north and south Lantau. Tung Chung Road is within Shek Pik Reservoir's water gathering ground, and runs alongside Lautau North and South Country Park and Lautau North (Extension) Country Park. To minimize ecological damage, several mitigation measures are implemented, such as building bridges across all sensitive channels, improvement in culverts inlets and outlets, planting of native plants as ecological mitigation, and relocation of valuable species.

Tung Chung Road follows the river valley
New and old Tung Chung Road
   
New road in construction

Tung Chung River Incident

The Tung Chung River rock digging incident occurred in 2003. A river project was carried out in the section of East Stream of Tung Chung River, between Shek Lau Po and Shek Mun Kap, stretching about 330 metres, by the Tung Chung Rural Committee (TCRC). It was later discovered that no government authorisation had been obtained, and the work was widely suspected to have been aimed at collecting boulders and pebbles from the river. The rock digging incident was widely covered by the media, and loopholes in local river conservation were exposed, attracting public concern and intervention by several government departments. The TCRC was required to restore the damaged river to its natural state.

The original river (photo taken in September, 2000)
The damaged river (photo taken in December, 2003)
The restored river section. (Photograph taken in October 2004)
The river section at present. (Photograph taken in April 2008)

Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

水塘集水口

東涌河是石壁水塘的其中一條主要供水河溪,平均每年為水塘注入一千萬立方米儲水,佔石壁水塘容量40%。在石壁凹和東涌道近郊野公園管理站分別有三個集水處在河道中,河水收集後經昂平與鳳凰山之間長3.8公里的地下輸水管道,輸送至石壁水塘。


石壁水塘


東涌坳輸水隧道入口

集水口

渠道化工程

東涌河距東涌市較遠,因此只有源自大東山水系的東河部份下游河段,以及和東涌道相交的幾段支流河段遭渠道化,其餘河段仍保留天然面貌,特別是河口位置,是香港少有河口沒有遭渠道化和填土的大型河流。

 


渠道化河道

渠道化河道旁的石籠

東涌道工程

政府在2001年推出「東涌道改善工程」,主要目的是改善低於標準的舊東涌道,提高道路安全,以確保大嶼山南、北部的交通連接。東涌道位於石壁水塘集水區內,毗鄰南、北大嶼山郊野公園和北大嶼山郊野公園(擴建部份)。為減少破壞四周自然生態環境,工程包含多項緩解措施,包括以架空方式跨越所有敏感河道、改良暗渠出入口設計、廣泛種植原生植物作為生態補償和遷移珍貴物種。


沿河谷而建的東涌路
 
新舊東涌道
興建中的新路

東涌河事件

「東涌河挖石事件」發生在2003年。當時,東涌鄉事委員會以防洪為理由,在東涌河東河介乎石榴埔與石門甲之間約330米的河道進行整頓工程,其後被揭發該項工程並未獲政府批准,工程亦被質疑有人存心為獲取東涌河裡的巨礫和卵石。挖石事件被傳媒廣泛報導,暴露了香港河流保育的漏洞,引起社會關注,多個政府部門介入調查。其後,東涌鄉事委員會被要求進行修復工程,將遭到破壞的河道回復本來天然面貌。

河段原貌 (2000年9月拍攝)
受破壞後的河段(2003年12月拍攝)
修復後的河段 (2004年10月拍攝)
河段現貌 (2008年4月拍攝)

Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.