Shan Pui River underwent engineering work by the government after the Yuen Long floods in the 1960s. The trunk and tributaries were turned into Yuen Long Nullah. The present design of Yuen Long Nullah is simple and monotonous. And the water flow is low, as if it was just a ditch. It can hardly fulfil the community’s expectations regarding the cityscape. Even worse, the channel is often full of rubbish, and stinks. Consequently, there is a strong public desire for environmental improvement. On the other hand, the damage channelisation wrought on the ecology and hydrology has long been criticised by environmental groups. They also demand that the government restore the channelised river.

River restoration aims to return the natural landscape and condition of the channelised river. River projects that damage the natural environment are being scrutinised in many countries, and river restoration efforts are underway. Building ecological riverbanks, reviving vegetation and biodiversity have become the trends in river projects around the world.

In January 2007, the Drainage Services Department commissioned a consultancy to conduct a feasibility study on the restoration of Yuen Long Nullah. According to the consultancy report completed in 2009, the current capacity of Yuen Long Nullah had to be maintained in order to cope with 1 in 50 year rainstorms. The consultancy report proposed that nullah’s original alignment, capacity, structural materials and shape be retained, and greening works should be implemented on the walls of the riverbank. Under this proposal, however, the meandering river and its natural landscape cannot be restored.

In view of the poor water quality, the consultancy suggested that water from upstream of Yuen Long New Town be intercepted, and a new channel could be installed to collect wastewater running into the nullah, and treated at Yuen Long Sewage Treatment Works. The consultancy also suggested that wastewater that had undertaken secondary treatment at Yuen Long Sewage Treatment Works be pumped back to the river upstream of Yuen Long New Town, so a stable and clean water flow could be maintained in the nullah all year round. However, this means building an interception facility additional to the inflatable dam downstream of Yuen Long New Town, which will further disturb the river’s hydrology. Furthermore, wastewater that has undergone secondary treatment still contains certain amounts of E. coli, and people should avoid direct contact with it. After a rainstorm, the water level of Yuen Long Nullah may rise a few metres within a short period. Due to safety concerns, people should keep out of the channel after restoration.

The natural Shan Pui River had multiple functions. After the river was channelised to become Yuen Long Nullah, only the single function of flood control remained. And other long-term problems arose. Therefore, there should be multiple aims, for avoiding future problems and fulfilling different needs of society. Based on the concept of river restoration, the original state and functions of Shan Pui River should be referred to as much as possible. Some of the functions, such as irrigation and navigation, may not need total revival; others such as water quality, landscape, ecology, recreation and microclimate regulation should be considered in restoring Shan Pui River, so the environmental impacts of the artificial channel can be minimised.


The present design of Yuen Long Nullah is simple and monotonous. And the water flow is low, as if it was a ditch.


The present design of Yuen Long Nullah is simple and monotonous. And the water flow is low, as if it was a ditch.


The water level in Yuen Long Nullah rises significantly and quickly after a rainstorm.


Water quality, landscape, ecology, recreation and microclimate regulation are some of the factors that should be considered in attempts to partly restore Shan Pui River.

Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

六十年代元朗發生水災之後,當局便著手整治山貝河,山貝河下游的天然河道於是陸續被渠道化,變成了「元朗明渠」。現時元朗明渠設計刻板簡單,流水量少得像溝渠,未能滿足現時社區對城市景觀的要求。此外,河道經常遭人丟棄垃圾,又經常傳出臭味滋擾居民,市民自然期望改善河道的環境。另一方面,環保團體長久以來批評渠道化破壞河流的天然生態和水文,也要求政府復修渠道化的河道。

復修河道是指將已被人工化的河道,回復原來天然面貌和狀態。目前很多國家都對破壞天然河流的河道整治工程進行了反思,並逐步復修已改造的河道,修建生態河堤、恢復河邊植物群落、維護生物多樣性已成為國際上河道治理工程的發展趨勢。

渠務署在2007年1月委託顧問公司,著手進行可行性研究。顧問公司在2009年完成的報告中指出,為了要應付五十年一遇大雨的排洪量,元朗明渠仍須保持現有容量,報告建議保留明渠原來的走向、容量、結構物料和形狀,只在河道兩旁的牆壁上做一些美化工程,但這樣就不能復修原來河流的曲流和其他天然河流地貌。

現時元朗明渠內的水質非常惡劣,所以顧問公司建議在元朗新市鎮的上游位置截取河水,同時利用獨立管道收集從主明渠兩旁排入的污水,引到元朗污水處理廠處理。報告亦建議將元朗污水處理廠內經二級處理的水,抽回到元朗新市鎮上游位置排放,讓主明渠全年均有穩定而清潔的流水。可是,這樣即表示在下游充氣壩以外,設置多一道攔截河道的設施,在多一處地方把河道和水流割斷,進一步干擾水文。而且,估計那些經二級處理再抽回上游的流水,大腸桿菌含量仍然不合標準,並不建議讓市民接觸。此外,暴雨過後,元朗明渠的水位可能在短時間內暴漲數米,基於安全理由,復修後的河道不適合讓市民進入河道範圍。

天然的山貝河擁有多方面功能,但經渠道化變成元朗明渠後,就只有單一的排洪功能,而且引發了其他長遠的問題,所以復修元朗明渠應考慮多重目標,減少將來引發的問題,也可盡量利用河流資源滿足社會各方面的需要。以現時河流復修的概念,復修山貝河應著重參考其原來的狀態和功能,一些功能如灌溉和航運已不能或不必要全面恢復,但仍可考慮如何一併恢復水質、景觀,生態、康樂、調節微氣候等功能,減輕人工河道對社會造成的環境影響。




現時元朗明渠設計刻板簡單,流水量少得像溝渠。


新計劃的攔截河道設施,加上舊有於下游的充氣壩,進一步干擾山貝河的水文。


元朗明渠的水位會在暴雨後的短時間內暴漲


復修山貝河應考慮恢復其水質、景觀,生態、康樂、調節微氣候等功能。

Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.