Granite is the predominant bedrock along the upper course of Shan Pui River basin. Hence the ridges are generally flat and rounded, and slopes on both sides are gentle. As granite is easily weathered and eroded, a thick residual mantle of weathered rock is formed. Large scale deforestation in the area has also caused severe soil erosion. There are many badland features such as rills and gullies. On the eastern side of the watershed (Ho Hok Shan), the bedrock is mostly volcanic rock – tuff, which is more resistant to weathering, so there is less weathering and erosion. Metamorphic rocks that originated from sedimentary rocks such as metasiltsand, metasandstone and phyllite occur to the south and west of the Yuen Long Plain, as well as the northern hills including Kai Shan and Chu Wong Ling.

The lower course of Shan Pui River deposits sediments comprising clay and silt mixed with gravel and sand onto Yuen Long Plain at Shap Pat Heung, and forms an open alluvial plain. Granite contains larger crystals, so deposits at the west and south of Shan Pui River are mainly sand from weathered granite and metamorphic sandstone. Volcanic rocks contain smaller grains, and deposits in the east are mostly silt and clay.

Geological analysis shows that Sham Chung Tsuen and Lam Hau Tsuen at the lower course of Shan Pui River were in a bay some 6,000 years ago. The bay receded to become today’s Deep Bay, and sea-floor deposits were exposed due to progadation. The sediments were dark grey, soft clay mixed with broken shells, with high salinity and low permeability.

Most earlier geological structures of the lower course of Shan Pui River were buried in the sediments and outcrops were few. Along the upper course, granite bedrock covers several small faults, which run mainly in the NNW/SSW and NE/SW directions and parallel to the major faults (e.g. Siu Lam Fault); upstream tributaries also follow these lines of weakness.



Weathered Granite

The lower course of Shan Pui River was a bay 6,000 years ago. (Taken at Kai Shan)

Rounded ridge with gentle slopes is typical landform of granite bedrock. (Taken at Wong Nai Tun Irrigation Reservoir)


An interesting landscape “Fairy Ruts” formed by a pair of parallel rills (Taken at Wong Nai Tun Irrigation Reservoir)


Gully is a landform associated with headward erosion. (Taken at Wong Nai Tun Irrigation Reservoir)


A stream erodes along a line of weakness. (Taken at Tsuen Yuen Ancient Trail)
   
Sediments in streams at Tai Tong Valley are mainly sand.

Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

山貝河流域上游大部分地方的基岩都是花崗岩,所以山脊多數較低矮和圓鈍,兩側山坡普遍坡度較小。由於花崗岩易於風化和侵蝕,形成了深厚的風化覆蓋層,加上該地區曾大面積伐林,水土流失嚴為嚴重,所以出現細溝和沖溝等劣地地貌。流域東面(蠔殼山)的基岩則是較耐風化的火山岩,主要是凝灰岩,所以風化和侵蝕的情況較花崗岩地區緩和。變質粉砂岩、變質砂岩和千枚岩等源自沉積岩的變質岩多分布在元朗平原南面和西面邊緣,以及北面的山崗,包括髻山和豬黃嶺。

山貝河的下游,在十八鄉一帶的元朗平原上沉積沖積物,造成廣闊的沖積平原,沖積物主要是夾雜礫石和砂的黏土和粉沙。組成花崗岩的礦物顆粒較大,所以山貝河西面和南面來自花崗岩和變質砂岩風化的沉積物是以砂為主。而火山岩顆粒較細小,所以東面的沉積物則以粉砂和黏土為主。

根據地質分析,山貝河下游深涌村和欖口村一帶在六千年前原本是個海灣,之後海岸進夷,海灣後退至現時的后海灣,露出了昔日在海床的海洋沉積物,即是夾雜著貝殼碎片的深灰色海泥,主要成份是柔軟的黏土,含鹽份稍高而滲透性低。

山貝河流域下游較早期的地質結構,都埋藏在沉積物之下,只有小部分外露。而上游的花崗岩基岩遍布斷斷續續的小斷層,主要走向為西北偏北/東南偏南和東北/西南,與主要的斷層平行(如:小欖斷層),而上游各支流亦沿著這些弱線侵蝕。


山脊圓鈍和山坡坡度較小是花崗岩典形地貌(攝於黃泥墩灌溉水塘)


由一雙平行細溝組成的有趣地貌「神仙轍」 (攝於黃泥墩灌溉水塘)


沖溝是向源侵蝕的地貌 (攝於黃泥墩灌溉水塘)


沿著弱線侵蝕的溪澗 (攝於荃元古道)

經風化的花崗岩

山貝河下游在六千年前仍是海灣 (攝於髻山)

大棠谷溪澗的沉積物以砂為主

Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.