The environment

Shan Pui River is one of the larger rivers in Hong Kong, yet its ecological state is inferior to other, smaller rivers, such as Lam Tsuen River and Tung Chung River. The upper course of Shan Pui River is still mainly in its natural state. The riverbed is predominantly coarse sand, with exposed bedrock and small waterfalls and pools in some locations. The lower course was channelized, and lined with concrete. This ruined the river’s ecology along the lower stretch, which passes Shap Pat Heung and Yuen Long New Town. There are estuarine mudflats, which support Hong Kong’s largest mangrove stand. As the tide falls, open mudflats are exposed



The lower course of Shan Pui River was concreted.

Upper course


In areas with gentler gradients, tiny wetlands may form over alluvial deposits. Large patches of Chinese Lipocarpha (Lipocarpha chinensis) and occasional Pitcher Plants (Nepenthes mirabilis) can usually be found in the wetlands; these are the region’s characteristic plants. In the riverbeds of the perennial rivers there may be some mayfly nymphs, Bee Shrimps (Caridina sp.), tadpoles, and the slender Flat-headed Loach (Oreonectes platycephalus). Under the water surface, Backswimmers can be found. On the water surface there are two types of Water Skaters; the larger one is Limnogonus fossarum, while the smaller one is Metrocoris lituratus. Also, Asian Common Toads (Bufo melanostictus) and Paddy Frogs (Fejervarya limnocharis) often hide among vegetation near the river. Along the upper course, dragonflies and damselflies are abundant. Indeed, experts have proposed the Tai Tong valley should be a Site of Special Scientific Interest because of its rich dragonfly population.


Pitcher Plant (Nepenthes mirabilis)

Flat-headed Loach
(Oreonectes platycephalus)

Paddy Frog
(Fejervarya limnocharis)


Water Skater ( Metrocoris lituratus)
 

Lower course

The lower course is severely polluted by organic substances, and the level of dissolved oxygen is very low. Only few organisms can survive in this grim, artificial environment. Wetland plants grow among the concrete crevices or some channel sections that haven’t been cleared. The river nurtures only a foreign fish species – Tilapia (Tilapia spp.). The dense vegetation along the upper stretches of the concrete channel, where there is minimal human disturbance, attracts a variety of dragonflies. Common birds are also seen in the channelised river.

 



Tilapia

Indigo Dropwing (Trithemis festiva)

Chinese Pond Heron (Ardeola bacchus)

Estuary

The estuarine mudflats are at the heart of the Inner Deep Bay wetland, which is international importance, especially for the waterbirds that feed, roost, and breed here. Every year, tens of thousands of waterbirds—including several globally endangered species—visit here. The mudflats are home to countless Blue-spotted Mudskippers (Boleophthalmus pectinirostris) and bright orange Fiddler Crabs (Uca arcuata). The estuary is a breeding ground for many fish, past records including Grey Mullet (Mugil cephalus), Japanese Eel (Anguilla japonica), Yellowfin Seabream (Acanthopagrus latus), Jarbua Terapon (Terapon jarbua), Japanese Seaperch (Lateolabrax japonicus), Spotted Scat (Scatophagus argus) and Tilapia (Tilapia spp.). From gei wai harvests we know that Greasy-back Shrimp (Metapenaeus ensis) is locally abundant.




Yellowfin Seabream (Acanthopagrus latus)

 
Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

生態環境

山貝河是香港其中一條最大型的河流,可是其河溪的生態狀況卻比其他較小型的河流(如林村河和東涌河等)都要遜色。山貝河上游大致保持著天然的面貌,河床主要是粗沙,間有外露的基岩,在部分河段可找到小型瀑布和水潭等生境。下游流經村落(十八鄉)和元朗新市鎮的一段,全部被混凝土化,河溪生態遭到很大的破壞。河口基質都是幼細的沙泥,近岸是本港最大片的紅樹林,河口在水退時是一片廣闊的泥灘。



山貝河下游遭全然混凝土化

上游

在地勢較平坦的河段,會出現一些由沖積物形成的濕地,常長有一大片華湖瓜草(Lipocarpha chinensis),間雜一些豬籠草(Nepenthes mirabilis),可算是這一帶的特色。在一些常流河的河床石塊底,偶爾可找到蜉蝣若蟲,還可找到體型細小的米蝦(Caridina sp.)、蝌蚪和身軀呈長條狀的平頭嶺鰍(Oreonectes platycephalus)。水面以下則會發現仰蝽,水面以上常見有兩種黽蝽,體型較大的是暗條澤背黽蝽Limnogonus fossarum),較小的是偽齒澗黽蝽 (Metrocoris lituratus)。黑眶蟾蜍(Bufo melanostictus)和澤蛙(Fejervarya limnocharis)會躲藏在溪流旁的植被中。山貝河上游的蜻蜓和豆娘物種亦甚為豐富,在大棠谷附近的溪澗更曾經因為蜻蜓物種豐富,獲有關專家倡議訂立為具特殊科學價值地點。




豬籠草

平頭嶺鰍

澤蛙


偽齒澗黽蝽
 

下游

下游河道有機污染嚴重,水中溶氧量極低,只有極少數生物可以適應這種環境。在混凝土的縫隙中或未被清理的河道內,長滿了一些濕地植物。河道內大致上只能發現非洲鰂(Tilapia spp.),在近上游少人打理的混凝土化河道上,茂密的植被不時引來多種蜻蜓。在渠道化的河道,亦會見到一些常見的鳥類。



非洲鰂

慶褐蜻

池鷺
 

河口

河口的后海灣泥灘是水鳥覓食、棲息和繁殖的重要地方,每年冬天會有成千上萬的水鳥到訪,當中包括多種世界性瀕危水鳥。在河床泥灘上,可見到眾多大彈塗魚(Boleophthalmus pectinirostris)和鮮豔橙色的弧邊招潮(Uca arcuata)。河口是很多魚類棲息和繁殖的地方,曾有記錄的物種包括鯔(Mugil cephalus)、日本鰻鱺(Anguilla japonica)、黃鰭棘鯛(Acanthopagrus latus)、細鱗鯻(Terapon jarbua)、花鱸(Lateolabrax japonicus)、金錢魚(Scatophagus argus)和非洲鯽(Tilapia spp.)。從這區的基圍漁獲可見,這一帶亦盛產刀額新對蝦(Metapenaeus ensis)。


黃鰭棘鯛

Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.