Shing Mun River Channel



Shing Mun River Channel has become a landmark of Sha Tin. The public appreciates the open channel, with leisure and recreational facilities on the riverbanks, at the centre of Sha Tin town, and has certain expectations regarding the environment and uses of Shing Mun River Channel.

Due to the public concerns regarding water quality and landuse of Shing Mun River, the Working Group on Environment Protection under the Health and Environment Committee of Shatin District Council commissioned The Kadoorie Institute, the University of Hong Kong, to conduct research in 2008-09, to review planning for the riversides and the need for improving water quality of Shing Mun River. The researchers concluded that the public hope that Shing Mun River could become a place for leisure, recreational and tourist hotspots, which meant improving water quality improvement would be a priority. A clean river and riverbanks will allow the public to fully enjoy the beautiful environment.

Although the government and the public are mainly concerned about water quality and riverbank development, ecological aspects should not be neglected. Ecological restoration can contribute to the above proposals. Water quality is important for the ecosystem. Domestic and industrial wastewater that enters the river channel should be collected and handled by sewage treatment works. To reduce pollutants flowing into the waterway as surface runoff, vegetation cover should be planted on the riverbanks. This will act like a filter. Roads and garages that generate considerable pollution should be moved away from the channel. There should be abundant buffer zones between residential areas and the river; these buffer zones can be turned into leisure places for the public. These concepts are applied in the present planning for Shing Mun River.

The riverbanks of Shing Mun River are now inclined stone walls, built from bricks. If flood control capacity can be met, the gradients of the walls can be reduced, to create more gentle riverbanks. Natural rocks of various sizes can also be added, to increase the complexity of the environment, making it suitable for more aquatic species. In addition, pollutants and rubbish must be removed from the riverbed, to restore its natural condition and enable a revival of riverbed organisms.




Shing Mun River Channel


Rowing on Shing Mun River Channel


Buffer zone between the residential area and the river can be turned into a leisure place for the public.

Restoring Water Service Facilities


A healthy ecosystem is important to the water quality of a natural river. Therefore, creating a healthy reservoir ecosystem can help improve the water quality, and further safeguard our drinking water. The ecological function is complementary to the reservoir's water supply function. The number and health of aquatic organisms can also act as biological indicators in monitoring water quality.

Although a reservoir is built in a natural valley and is surrounded by woodland and natural streams, its ecological value is not high, because we lack the pioneer species that can adapt to deep freshwater habitat for succession in Hong Kong. Officials can investigate ways to improve hydrological conditions at specific locations, and introduce suitable aquatic plant species to enrich a reservoir's overall aquatic plant community.

Currently, the reservoir banks are mostly steep and smooth mud surfaces, without complicated micro-habitats for different species. If some locations, such as where streams enter the reservoir, can be modified into gentler banks and natural rocks of various sizes introduced, more complex micro-habitats are created. In addition, terrace-stepped banks can also be created, to provide micro-habitats of another type to attract more species (for example, frogs).

Catchwaters fragment the natural river habitats and disconnect the upper and lower courses. Catchwaters have gentle gradients, slow flows, and simpler structures than natural streams, making them unsuitable for survival of stream creatures. In fact, slight modification to a catchwater can make it closer to the structure of a natural stream. Allowing part of the stream to follow its natural path and maintain a base flow, while diverting the remaining flow and extra flow during rainstorms to the catchwater, can minimise damage to the river ecology.

 


Shing Mun Reservoir.

 


Kowloon Reservoir Catchwater

 
Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

城門河道



現時,城門河道已成為沙田的地標,市民對於沙田市中心擁有一條寬敞的河道,河道兩旁均為休憩和康樂設施的市鎮布局頗為欣賞,對於城門河道的環境和用途自然也有一定的期望。

由於市民對城門河的水質和兩岸的土地利用十分關注,沙田區議會衛生及環境委員會環境保護工作小組委託香港大學嘉道理研究所,在2008至2009年進行研究,審視城門河畔的規劃及改善水質的需要。研究小組在總結中指出,市民都渴望城門河成為一個集休閒、康體運動及旅遊發展於一身的地方,水質改善遂成為發揮城門河潛力的先決條件,市民盼望日後可以暢遊城門河,而城門河及其兩岸能夠成為一個環境優美的消閒好去處。

雖然政府和市民主要關注城門河道的水質和兩岸配套發展,但生態方面亦有值得探討的地方,因為生態復修可配合研究建議的發展和改善水質。水質對生態十分重要,流入河道的生活和工業廢水應收集到污水處理廠處理。此外,為減少大雨時污染物隨表面徑流流入河道,兩岸應有良好的植被地帶過濾污染物,污染性大的設施如馬路、修車場亦要遠離河道,民居與河道之間要有足夠的緩衝地帶,這緩衝地帶可以作為市民的休憩地方,這些概念現時城門河道的規劃亦有應用。

現時城門河道的河岸主要是由石磚堆砌的傾斜平面石牆,若排洪容量許可,可以考慮降低傾斜度,讓河岸更為平緩,並?加其複雜性,例如放置大小不一的天然石塊,這將有利各種水生生物棲息。此外,亦要清除河床的污染物和垃圾雜物,保留其天然底質,河床的生物便可以逐漸回復天然狀況。


城門河道


城門河道的划艇活動


民居與河道之間的緩衝地帶,可作休憩之用。

 

   

復修水務設施


健康的生態狀況對維持天然河溪的水質清潔十分重要,所以為水塘營造健康的生態,有利改善水塘的水質,也可進一步保障食水的質素,與水塘的供水功能沒有牴觸。而水中生物的數目和健康情況,更可作為監察水質的生物指標。

雖然水塘前身是天然的河谷,四周集水區又是樹林和天然的溪澗,但是其生態價值其實不算高,主要原因是本地欠缺能夠適應深水淡水生境的生物作水塘演替的先鋒物種。有關當局可以研究能否改善個別位置的水文狀況,並引入合適的水生植物物種,以豐富水塘的水生植物群落。

現時水塘的岸邊位置多是陡斜平滑的泥面,沒有提供複雜的微生境予生物棲息。若能在一些位置,如:溪流注入的地方,改造成平緩的堤岸,並放置大小不一的天然石塊,便能提高塘邊微生境的複雜性。另外,亦可考慮在岸邊位置改造成如梯田般一級級的堤岸,岸上這些水窪可成為另一類型的微生境,吸引更多種類的生物(如蛙類)棲息繁殖。

 


城門水塘


九龍水塘引水道

Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.