The bedrock of Shing Mun Valley is tuff, and only in the central and north side of Shing Mun Reservoir can we find granodiorite and feldsparphytic rhyolite. Tuff is more resistant to weathering and erosion, resulting in high mountains such as Tai Mo Shan, Grassy Hill and Buffalo Hill. Weathering and river erosion will create concave slopes with large gradients, such as Tai Shing Stream, and steep, narrow and convex ridges such as Tung Yeung Shan.

The lower course of Shan Pui River deposits sediments comprising clay and silt mixed with gravel and sand onto Yuen Long Plain at Shap Pat Heung, and forms an open alluvial plain. Granite contains larger crystals, so deposits at the west and south of Shan Pui River are mainly sand from weathered granite and metamorphic sandstone. Volcanic rocks contain smaller grains, and deposits in the east are mostly silt and clay.

Most of the bedrock of Sha Tin Valley is granite, therefore the ridges are mostly low and round, though there are also some steep mountains such as Needle Hill, Beacon Hill, Lion Rock and Tate's Cairn. As granite is easily weathered and eroded, badland features such as rills and gullies can be seen.

The banks of Shing Mun River, from Hong Kong Heritage Museum to Shatin Sewage Treatment Works, originally belonged to the deeply indented bay of Tide Cove. The riverbanks were reclaimed from the sea. The natural estuary was at the present Sha Tin Tau. There is no substantial alluvial plain in the lower course of Shing Mun River; the largest of them are at Tai Wai and Tin Sam. Smaller ones can be found at Kau To Hang, Ma Lai Hau Hang and Man Hang. The colluvium comes from slope collapse and is distributed in river valleys such as Tai Shing Stream, Tso Shing Stream, Au Pui Wan Hang and Fa Sam Hang.

Erosion along a fault by a stream (Photo taken Shing Mun Reservoir)

The tuff bedrock is eroded into concave slope. (Photo taken at Sze Fong Shan)

Bedrock of Needle Hill is granites.

Interlocking spurs (Photo taken at Tai Mo Shan)

Surface seeps (Photo taken at Man Hang)

Bedrock of Tate's Cairn is tuff.

Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

城門谷主要的基岩是凝灰岩,只有在城門水塘中部和北面是花崗閃長岩和長石斑岩。凝灰岩對抗風化和侵蝕的能力較強,所以形成高聳的山峰如大帽山、草山和水牛山。風化和河流侵蝕作用會造成坡度大、凹曲的坡面,如大城石澗,同時亦會造成兩側陡斜、狹長而圓凸的山脊,如東洋山。

沙田谷大部分地方的基岩是花崗岩,所以山脊多數較低矮和圓鈍,但也有較險峻的如針山、筆架山、獅子山、大老山等。由於花崗岩易於風化和侵蝕,所以部分地方出現細溝和沖溝等劣地地貌。

根據地質分析,山貝河下游深涌村和欖口村一帶在六千年前原本是個海灣,之後海岸進夷,海灣後退至現時的后海灣,露出了昔日在海床的海洋沉積物,即是夾雜著貝殼碎片的深灰色海泥,主要成份是柔軟的黏土,含鹽份稍高而滲透性低。

城門河道兩岸,由香港文化博物館至沙田污水處理廠兩岸,原本是沙田海深邃的內灣,現時兩岸的土地均由填海得來。原本城門河的天然河口則位於現在的沙田頭。城門河下游沒有大面積的沖積平原,最大的分布在大圍和田心一帶。另外,於九肚坑、馬麗口坑和蚊坑下游亦有小面積的沖積物。坡積物是山坡崩塌堆積成的物料,分布在部分河谷內,如大城石澗、草城石澗、坳背環坑、花心坑等。


溪澗沿斷層下蝕(攝於城門水塘)


凝灰岩的基岩被侵蝕成凹曲的坡面(攝於四方山)


針山的基岩為花崗岩


交錯山咀(攝於大帽山)

滲泉(攝於蚊坑)

大老山的基岩為凝灰岩

Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.