Shing Mun River flows through the central New Territories, to the southeast of Tai Mo Shan, and originates from peak of the 957m mountain, at an altitude of 930m – making it the highest source of any Hong Kong river. The highest section of main stream of Shing Mun River, named Tai Shing Stream, flows northeast and then turns southeast into Shing Mun Reservoir. The stream flows southeast and enters Lower Shing Mun Reservoir. Passing the main dam of the lower reservoir, the stream zig-zags northeast through Tai Wai, and enters Shing Mun River Channel. Converging with Kwun Yam Shan Stream, Siu Lek Yuen Nullah and Fo Tan Nullah, the river enters Tide Cove at Shatin Sewage Treatment Works. The estuary of the original Shing Mun River is at Hong Kong Heritage Museum. The channel north of the museum was artificially reclaimed from the shallow sea, and is now Shing Mun River Channel.

The basin of Shing Mun River is divided into upper and lower sections by Needle Hill. The upper basin, Shing Mun Valley, rises to near the summit of Tai Mo Shan. To the west is the ridge leading from Tai Mo Shan to Pineapple Pass Dam, to the north is Sze Fong Shan and Grassy Hill, and Needle Hill ridge lies to the east. The lower basin is named Sha Tin Valley. To the north is a ridge extending eastward from Grassy Hill, to the northwest is Needle Hill ridge above Shing Mun Valley, and to the southwest is Smugglers' Ridge. The south side is bordered by a range of mountains: Beacon Hill, Lion Rock, Tsz Wan Shan, and Tate's Cairn, while to the east are Tung Yeung Shan, Buffalo Hill and Nui Po Shan.

The various streams originating from the headwater at Tai Mo Shan flow in different directions, and form a typical radial drainage pattern. The main stream converges with other tributaries in Shing Mun Valley, and enters Shing Mun Reservoir, creating a dendritic drainage pattern. Sha Tin Valley, on the other hand, has a rectangular drainage pattern, formed by around twenty tributaries flowing parallel from the north and south of the valley, and entering the main stream at almost a right angle. The main stream of Shing Mun River is 16.5km long, horizontally; and has an average gradient of 0.056 (or 1:17.7). The river basin area is about 58km.


Headwater of Shing Mun River at the peak of Tai Mo Shan (below the middle radar station) (Photo taken at Sze Fong Shan)

Needle Hill separates Shing Mun Valley (left) and Sha Tin Valley (right)

Gravels and rocks in course of Tai Shing Stream

Tsok Pok Hang (left) and Ma Lai Hau Hang (right) (Photo taken at Tate's Cairn)

The former estuary of Shing Mun River was reclaimed.

Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

城門河位於香港新界中部,大帽山的東南面。城門河發源於大帽山山頂(957米),發源地約在海拔930米,是香港發源地最高的河流。城門河的幹流在河源向東北拐一彎轉向東南流入城門水塘,轉向東南瀉入下城門水塘,幹流在下城門水塘主壩處,向東北穿過大圍流到城門河道,匯合觀音山溪、小瀝源明渠及火炭明渠,於沙田污水處理廠流入沙田海。昔日的城門河河口在現時的香港文化博物館附近,現在博物館以北的河段,其實是後期由淺海填海而成的人工延伸河道,即是城門河道。

凝灰岩的基岩被侵蝕成凹曲的坡面(攝於四方山)
針山分隔了城門谷(左)和沙田谷(右)

城門河整個河盆明顯地分為上、下兩個大型河盆,以針山作分隔。上面的河盆為城門谷,以大帽山為最高點,西面是大帽山至菠蘿壩的山脊;北面是四方山至草山;東面是針山山脊。下面的的河盆為沙田谷,北面為草山東延的山脊;西北面是針山山脊,與城門谷毗鄰;西南為孖指徑山嶺;南面橫亙一列山嶺:筆架山、獅子山、慈雲山、大老山;東面是東洋山、水牛山和女婆山。


在城門河發源地大帽山山頂,各河溪以山頂為中心向四方八面流去,形成典型的放射狀水系,幹流在城門谷與其他支流匯集到城門水塘,形成樹枝狀水系。而沙田谷則是長方水系,二十多條支流由河谷南北兩面,平行地以近直角各自流入幹流。城門河幹流水平長度約16.5公里,平均坡度為0.056(或 1:17.7),河盆面積約為58平方公里。

大城石澗滿布石礫
昔日的城門河河口已被填為陸地
作壆坑(左)和馬麗口坑(右)(攝於大老山)

Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.