Set on the Yuen Long Plain in the northwest New Territories, Shan Pui River originates from the eastern ridge of Kau Keng Shan, to the west of Tuen Mun. The headwater, at an altitude of 380m, is 1.3km to the east of Kau Keng Shan peak (at an altitude of 507m). The main stream flows northeast into Wong Nai Tun Irrigation Reservoir, and then to Yeung Ka Tsuen to the north, before entering the Yuen Long Plain, passing villages such as Wong Nai Tun Tsuen and Muk Kiu Tau Tsuen, and converging with another major tributary at Ma Tin Pok. The river continues northwards and passes Yuen Long New Town, between Wang Chau and Nam Sang Wai, and converges with Kam Tin River to the south of Lut Chau, and finally flows into Deep Bay at Tsim Bei Tsui.

The basin of the lower course of Shan Pui River is flat in the south, and flanked by gently sloping ranges on three sides: Kau Keng Shan North (west), Kau Keng Shan East (south) and Ho Hok Shan (east), which together form a pocket-like basin. The main stream of Shan Pui River stretches 14.3 km horizontally. The watershed covers about 29.2km2.

At the peak of Kau Keng Shan, where Shan Pui River originates, streams form a radial drainage pattern. Upon entering the southern part of Yuen Long Plain, the main stream converges with three major tributaries that pass Tai Shu Ha, Sheung Yau Tin Tsuen and Shan Ha Tsuen, respectively, at Ma Tin Pok and the north of Tai Kiu. The main stream and the tributaries are of similar scale, and are evenly distributed. Hence, on a map, the dendritic drainage looks like a person. There are some local rectangular drainage patterns along the upper course, such as to the north of Pak Kung Au and along Yuen Tsuen Ancient Trail to the south of Nam Hang Pai, where the river follows eroded faults and joints.


The main stream of Shan Pui River flows from Kau Keng Shan into Wong Nai Tun Irrigation Reservoir.

Upper course at Wong Nai Tun Irrigation Reservoir

Shan Pui River enters Yuen Long Plain.

Lower course of Shan Pui River at Nam Sang Wai.

Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

山貝河位於新界西北部的元朗平原上,發源於屯門以西九逕山東面的山脊,河源在距離九逕山山頂(海拔507米)以東1.3公里,海拔約380米。幹流向東北流入黃泥墩灌溉水塘,然後向北經過楊家村,進入元朗平原,流過黃泥墩村、木橋頭村等村落,在馬田壆匯合另一主要支流後,繼續向北穿過元朗新市鎮,經橫洲和南生圍之間,在甩洲以南匯合錦田河,然後在尖鼻咀流入后海灣。

山貝河下游河盆南部地勢平坦,三面被較低的山嶺包圍,包括九徑山北延(西)和東延(南)的山脊、蠔殼山(東),形成袋形的盆地。山貝河幹流水平長度約14.3公里,流域面積約為29.2平方公里。

在山貝河發源地九逕山山頂,各河溪以山頂為中心向四方八面流去,是典型的放射狀水系,幹流進入元朗平原南部後,分別在馬田壆和大橋以北,與分別流經大樹下、上攸田村和山下村的三條主要支流匯合。山貝河的幹流和三條主要支流規模差不多,且分布均勻,形成樹枝狀水系,在地圖上看以一個人的形狀。上游有些河段,例如伯公坳以北和南坑排以南南荃元古道的河段,由於河道是沿?斷層或節理侵蝕,形成了局部的長方水系。



山貝河幹流從九逕山以東流入黃泥墩灌溉水塘

位於黃泥墩灌溉水塘的上游河段

山貝河進入元朗平原


南生圍段的山貝河下游

Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.