Local rivers are ecologically important, nurturing at least 400 species of aquatic and terrestrial vegetation, include algae, mosses, ferns and flowering plants. Regarding vertebrates: at least 120 species of freshwater fish, 20 species of frogs, 5 species of tortoises and several snakes have been recorded. There are also invertebrates such as crabs, shrimps, molluscs, and insects (such as dragonflies and stoneflies). Some of these species are of regional and global conservation significance, such as Ketupa zeylonensis and Lutra lutra.


Water Lettuce (Pistia stratiotes)

Rose Bitterling (Rhodeus ocellatus)
© Matthew Sin

Hong Kong Paradise Fish (Macropodus hongkongensis) is unique to Hong Kong

Gunther's Frog (Hylarana guentheri)

Reeve's Terrapin (Chinemys reevesii)

Marsh Skimmer (Orthetrum luzonicum)

Adult stonefly


Japanese Mitten Crab (Eriocheir japonica)

Water penny (beetle larvae)
The upper courses of many Hong Kong rivers are within country parks, so are protected from development and damage by humans. As a result, the river channels and vegetation are well conserved. Common aquatic plants of the upper courses include Acorus tatarinowii, Horsetail (Equisetum spp.) and Pipewort (Eriocaulon spp.).

As the upstream channel is shallow and narrow, the water flow is rapid and flow volumes vary greatly, aquatic animals found here are usually small, such as Macrobrachium hainanense, mayfly larvae, and Hong Kong Newt (Paramesotriton hongkongensis).


Frail Horsetail (Equisetum debile)

Acorus tatarinowii

Macrobrachium hainanense

Hong Kong Newt (Paramesotriton hongkongensis) can only live in clear, unpolluted streams.

There are many benthic organisms in local rivers. Their diversity is the highest among local river organisms – with species including Rhinogobius duospilus, Striped Loach (Schistura fasciolatus) and Broken-band Hillstream Loach (Liniparhomaloptera disparis), exceeding the variety of free-swimming and floating organisms. This is because there is less sorting of alluvium along the upper course riverbed. Rocks, sand and gravels of various sizes create a complex benthic substratum, which suits different benthic species. Sorting of alluvium gradually improves downstream, with an increasing proportion of sand and mud, so biodiversity of benthic organisms is lower downstream.

The middle and lower courses of many local rivers are affected by pollution and development, so the species and distribution of aquatic species differ from those in natural rivers. For instance, water pollution downstream restricts the distribution of fish that are highly sensitive to dissolved oxygen levels, such as Predaceous Chub (Parazacco spilurus). But it favours species with high resistance to serious pollution, such as Mozambique Tilapia (Oreochromis mossambicus).

Upstream fish such as Striped Loach (Schistura fasciolatus) are mostly benthic.

Broken-band Hillstream Loach (Liniparhomaloptera disparis)

Predaceous Chub (Parazacco spilurus)

Mozambique Tilapia (Oreochromis mossambicus)

Human activities also alter the natural aquatic plant species of the middle and lower courses. The original vegetation may be replaced by other species that include crops such as Water Cress (Nasturtium officinale) and Ginger Lily (Hedychium coronarium), Napier Grass (Pennisetum purpureum), and weeds such as Primrose Willow (Ludwigia octovalvis), Common Day-flower (Commelina communis) and Cyperaceae spp.


Water Cress (Nasturtium officinale)

Primrose Willow (Ludwigia octovalvis)

Common Day-flower (Commelina communis)
Humans may also introduce exotic species into the middle and lower courses. Common exotic species include Pomacea lineata, Mozambique Tilapia (Oreochromis mossambicus) and Variable Platyfish (Xiphophorus variatus). With their high adaptability and few natural enemies, these compete with native species for resources including habitats and food. The original river ecosystem is highly compromised.



Pomacea lineata

Variable Platyfish (Xiphophorus variatus)



Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

本地河溪擁有極高的生態價值,育有最少 400 種水生和陸生植物,包括藻類、苔蘚、羊齒類及有花植物,並已紀錄最少120種淡水魚、20種蛙和5種龜,還有蛇類等有脊椎動物,無脊椎動物則有螃蟹、蝦、軟體動物和昆蟲如蜻蜓、蜉蝣及石蠅的成蟲和幼蟲。這些生物中更有不少是世界性和區域性具保育價值的物種,例如:褐魚鶚(Ketupa zeylonensis)和水獺(Lutra lutra)。

 


大薸 (Pistia stratiotes)


高體 (Rhodeus ocellatus)
© Matthew Sin

香港鬥魚 (Macropodus hongkongensis)是香港獨有的品種

沼蛙 (Hylarana guentheri)

烏龜 (Chinemys reevesii)


呂宋灰蜻 (Orthetrum luzonicum)

石蠅成蟲


日本絨蟄蟹 (Eriocheir japonica)

水錢 (甲蟲若蟲)

香港很多河溪的上游在郊野公園範圍內,免受發展和人為破壞,所以河道和植被能保存天然面貌。上游常見的水生植物有:石菖蒲(Acorus tatarinowii)、木賊 (Equisetum spp.)、穀精草 (Eriocaulon spp.)等。

由於上游河道淺窄、水流湍急,流量變化大,所以找到的水生動物也較小型,如:海南沼蝦(Macrobrachium hainanense)、蜉蝣稚蟲、香港瘰螈 (Paramesotriton hongkongensis)等。

 

纖弱木賊 (Equisetum debile)

石菖蒲 (Acorus tatarinowii)

海南沼蝦 (Macrobrachium hainanense)

香港瘰螈(Paramesotriton hongkongensis)只生活於清澈無
污染的山溪
   

本地河溪有大量的底棲生物,其多樣性是本地河溪眾多動物中最高,例如:溪吻鰕虎魚(Rhinogobius duospilus)、橫紋南鰍(Schistura fasciolatus)、擬平鰍(Liniparhomaloptera disparis) ,種類遠較自游性和浮水性動物多 。這是由於上游河床的沖積物分選較差,同時會有大小不同的石塊和沙礫,形成很多複雜的底層環境,適合各種不同底棲動物居住。沿流而下,沖積物的分選逐漸改善,沙泥的成份增加,下游底棲生物的多樣性因而下降。

很多本地河溪的中、下游因為受污染和發展影響,所以水生生物的種類和分布亦有別於天然的河流。舉例說,下游的水污染限制了對溶氧量敏感度高的魚類(例如:異 (Parazacco spilurus))的分布,卻有利能承受嚴重污染的魚類(例如:莫桑比克口孵非鯽(金山鰂)(Oreochromis mossambicus))建立種群。


上游的魚類如橫紋南鰍 (Schistura fasciolatus)多屬底棲性

擬平鰍 (Liniparhomaloptera disparis)

(Parazacco spilurus)

莫桑比克口孵非鯽(金山) (Oreochromis mossambicus)
   


此外 , 人為活動亦會改變中 、 下河段的天然水生植物種類,原本的植物可能被其他植物取替,例如農作物,包括西洋菜 (Nasturtium officinale)、薑花(Hedychium coronarium)、象草 (Pennisetum purpureum)或農田的野草,包括毛草龍 (Ludwigia octovalvis)、鴨跖草(Commelina communis)、莎草(Cyperaceae spp.)等。

 
     

西洋菜 (Nasturtium officinale)

毛草龍 (Ludwigia octovalvis)


鴨跖草 (Commelina communis)

人為活動亦包括了引進外來物種,讓外來物種有機會進駐中、下游河段,常見的外來物種有福壽螺(Pomacea lineata)、莫桑比克口孵非鯽(金山) (Oreochromis mossambicus)、雜色劍尾魚 (Xiphophorus variatus)等,這些物種因適應能力強 、 天敵少 , 與本地原生物種競爭棲息地、食物等生存資源,影響原本的河流生態系統。

 

 


福壽螺 (Pomacea lineata)


雜色劍尾魚 (Xiphophorus variatus)

 

 

Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.