Villages Beside the River

The fertile soil and plentiful water attracted many clans to settle around Lam Tsuen River as early as the Sung Dynasty. The Qing government encouraged settlements and cultivation in the New Territories, and many Hakka farmers migrated to the Tai Po and Lam Tsuen areas. During World War II, many refugees swarmed to Hong Kong, and the population of Lam Tsuen increased drastically.

Nowadays, there are 26 villages and over 10,000 people in Lam Tsuen, mostly along Lam Tsuen River and its tributaries.

 


She Shan Tsuen beside She Shan River, a tributary of Lam Tsuen River.


Agriculture

Agricultural activities in Lam Tsuen Valley began in the Ming Dynasty. The Qing government encouraged cultivation, leading to many Hakka farmers settling in Lam Tsuen. Agriculture developed rapidly during the Japanese Occupation.

The period from 1950s to 1970s was the golden era for agriculture in Lam Tsuen. Farmers built new facilities such as weirs and ditches along river channels for irrigation. They also raised free-roaming livestock. The resulting wastes were discharged into Lam Tsuen River, causing water pollution.

Local agriculture dwindled following the change in economic structure from around the late 1970s. Many farmers gave up farming, leading to there being increasing areas of abandoned farmland in Lam Tsuen. Today, most fields in Lam Tsuen are used to grow ornamental crops such as peach and tangerine trees for Chinese New Year. Chemical fertilizers, herbicides and pesticides used by farmers still pollute the river.


Weir


Ditch

Chrysanthemum field near She Shan River

Nowadays, farmers mostly cultivate ornamental crops.
 

Landuse Planning of Lam Tsuen Valley

Tai To Yan to the north of Lam Tsuen Valley, and Tai Mo Shan to the south, have been designated as country parks; hence, the headwaters and upper course of Lam Tsuen River have been well protected and not exploited in recent years. Land development of Lam Tsuen Valley along the middle course of Lam Tsuen River is regulated by the Outline Zoning Plan (OZP). The 2005 Lam Tsuen OZP delineated Lam Tsuen into areas such as "Green Belt", "Conservation Area", "SSSI", "Agriculture" and "Recreation".

Lam Tsuen Outline Zoning Plan
Information Source: Planning Department

New Town development

Tai Po Market and Tai Wo are at the original estuary of Lam Tsuen River. Alluvial plains downstream became fertile farmland, attracting settlers. Also, sea transportation was convenient. Hence, before the British arrived, Tai Po Market was one of the three major markets in Hong Kong. In 1979, Tai Po was developed into a second generation new town, which also included Hong Kong's first large-scale industrial estate in Hong Kong.

Large-scale reclamation was undertaken at the estuary of Lam Tsuen River, completely changing the original river and coastal area. The section after Mui Shue Heng and the new river mouth are all artificial channels. The land along the river is mainly used for residential and leisure purposes.

 


Tai Po New Town


The mouth of the Lam Tsuen River today

Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

依河立村

林村河水源充裕,兩岸的林村谷土質肥沃,早於宋朝已有不少氏族沿河定居。清政府大力招墾,吸引大批客家農民遷居大埔和林村一帶。二次世界大戰大批難民湧入,林村人口大幅增加。

時至今日,林村有多達26條村落及過萬人口,大部份村落分布在幹流或支流兩旁。




林村河支流社山河旁的社山村

農業發

林村谷的農業活動始於明朝,清代的招墾吸引大批客家農民遷居林村,農業於日據時期迅速發展。

五十至七十年代,林村農業發展最為暢旺。農民會在河道上興建一些方便灌溉的設施如堰及水圳。不少村民以粗放模式飼養牲口,禽畜廢物污染林村河。

七十年代末經濟轉型,林村出現愈來愈多荒廢農田。現時耕地主要用作生產觀賞作物,如桃花和菊花。農民使用化學肥料和除害劑,可能污染河水。



水圳


鄰近社山河的菊花田

農田主要種植觀賞植物

林村谷規劃

林村谷北面的大刀刃和南面大帽山山地是郊野公園,林村河河源和上游河道因而得以保存,沒有被開發。林村河中游林村谷的土地發展受林村分區計劃大綱圖規範。2005的大綱圖將林村規劃為「綠化地帶」、「自然保育區」、「具特殊科學價值地點」、「農業」和「康樂」等用途。



 


林村分區計劃大綱圖
資料來源 : 規劃署

新市鎮發展

大埔墟和太和位於昔日林村河河口,下游的沖積平原形成肥沃的農地,吸引村民聚居,加上方便的海路交通,大埔墟早於香港開埠前已是香港三大墟場之一。大埔於1979年被發展為第二代新市鎮,還包括香港首個大型工業

林村河河口進行了大規模的填海,原有的海岸面貌被完全改變。梅樹坑以下的河段和現時的新河口全為人工河道,沿河土地主要被規劃作住宅和休憩用途。


大埔新市鎮


現有林村河河口

Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.