The majority of the bedrock in the upper course of Kam Tin River is volcanic, with tuff predominating. Most ridges formed by the volcanic rocks are tall and thin. Therefore, the mountains in the upper course of Kam Tin River, such as Kai Kung Leng and Tai To Yan are steep-sided. To the east (Kwun Yam Shan) and southeast (Tsing Tam Village to Kap Lung) of Kam Tin River, the main bedrock is granodiorite; to the southwest (Ma On Kong) the bedrock is mainly granite. As granite is easily weathered and eroded, the southwestern sector of the Kam Tin River catchment is at lower altitudes, with scant vegetation. Badland landforms such as gullies can be found within this region.

Along the middle course of Kam Tin River, alluvium deposits form the extensive Kam Tin Plain in the vicinity of Kam Tin and Pat Heung. The major components of alluvium are clay, sand and gravel. According to geological analyses, some six thousand years ago a bay occupied the area that's now the lower course of Kam Tin River, from Nam Sang Wai to Kam Tin Shi. The bay has since retreated to the current shoreline within Deep Bay, exposing marine deposits on the former seabed. The major component of these deposits is soft clay, mixed with shell fragments.

The main stream of Kam Tin River probably follows the fault that runs northwest-southeast, from Shek Kong to Nam Sang Wai. Also, there are two other faults in the Kam Tin River drainage area, running northeast-southwest in parallel. Erosion along Sham Tseng Fault has formed a saddle in between Tai To Yan and Kwun Yam Shan. On the other hand, erosion along Sui Lam Fault formed a saddle near Ma On Kong, and another one between Kai Kung Leng and Tai To Yan. Kam Tin River has eroded between these intersecting faults, giving rise to the rhombus-shaped Kam Tin Plain.



Kai Kung Leng and Tai To Yan are formed by volcanic rocks. (photographed in Tai Mo Shan)


V-shaped valleys on Kai Kung Leng


The watershed at western Ma On Kong is made of granite.


Marine mud mixed with shell fragments, along the lower course of Kam Tin River (Tai Sang Wai)

Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

錦田河流域的上游地方大部份的基岩是火山岩,主要是凝灰岩。由火山岩形成的山脊多數都高聳狹窄,所以錦田河上游流域的山,如雞公嶺和大刀屻山坡的兩側山坡均十分陡峭。錦田河東面的觀音山,以及東南面清潭村至甲龍的基岩都是花崗閃長岩。西南面馬鞍崗的則是花崗岩,由於花崗岩易於被風化和侵蝕,所以錦田河流域的西南面地勢較低,植被亦較稀疏,還會出現沖溝等劣地地貌。

至錦田河中游,在錦田和八鄉一帶的錦田平原上沉積沖積物,造成廣闊的沖積平原,沖積物主要是黏土、沙和礫石。根據地質分析,錦田河下游南生圍至錦田市一帶在六千年前原本是個海灣,之後海灣後退至現時的后海灣,露出了昔日在海床的海洋沉積物,主要成份是柔軟的黏土。

錦田河的幹流可能是沿著一條西北/東南走向的斷層發展,斷層由石崗伸延至南生圍。此外,錦田河流域被兩條平行的東北/西南走向的斷層穿越,深井斷層形成了大刀屻與觀音山之間的鞍形山口,小欖斷層則形成了馬鞍崗和大刀屻與雞公嶺之間的鞍形山口。錦田河沿著這兩組交叉的斷層侵蝕,形成了菱形的錦田平原。


雞公嶺和大刀屻由火山岩組成(攝於大帽山)


雞公嶺的V形谷


馬鞍崗以西的分水嶺由花崗岩組成


錦田河下游夾雜有貝殼的海洋沉積物(大生圍)

Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.