Water Pollution

The abundant water and fertile soil have long attracted people to settle around Lam Tsuen.

In the early days, when there were no controls on waste treatment, farmers along the upper course of Lam Tsuen River directly discharged livestock waste into the river. Until recent years, there was still no public sewage system in villages in Lam Tsuen valley, and even today sewage from some old village houses flows directly into the river through open channels.

Pollution of the lower course is mainly from commercial and industrial activities - such as garages and restaurants - in Tai Po. Waste oil, chemcials, wastewater and food scraps are discharged directly into stormwater drainage, eventually reaching Lam Tsuen River.

Some people also dispose of rubbish in the river. The downstream section of Lam Tsuen River is little more than a dirty gully.

The lower course is filled with rubbish.

Channelization and Flood Control

To solve flooding problems, part of the middle and lower courses of the natural river has been channelized. Channelization straightened the natural and meandering river, and deepened and widened the riverbed. It increased the carrying capacity of the new channel, hence containing floodwaters that originally overflowed onto the floodplain, and discharging the water into the sea within a short period.

To reduce water resistance and make it convenient to maintain, the riverbed and river banks are mostly covered with concrete. The channel after Tai Po Tau of Lam Tsuen River has been straightened into a flood control ditch made of bricks and concrete.

River works not only alter the appearance of natural rivers, they also change the river structure.

(1) Hydrological impacts

Channelization directly increases the flow rate and flow volume of the river. It also disconnects the river from underground water, leading to an extreme river hydrology. During dry seasons, the concrete surface prevents underground water from entering the river. During rainy seasons or rainstorms, overflowing water cannot seep underground.

(2) Impacts on Water Quality and Ecology

River training projects convert the riverbed and riverbanks into concrete. Water flow and temperature are no longer be suitable for most of the original flora and fauna, including microorganisms. The populations of different species decrease, and the river ecology is severely damaged. The self-purification ability of the river is greatly reduced, and the water quality deteriorates.

(3) Other Impacts

Lam Tsuen River is among Hong Kong's few remaining natural rivers with relatively complete river geomorphology and ecology, which can serve as educational and research resources for subjects including hydrology, ecology, geography, and urban planning. Yet past river works have already ruined many of the natural resources and geographical features. We have lost a wealth of scientific and educational resources.

Artificial channel at Ma Po Mei

Artificial channel at Mui Shue Heng

Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

河水污染

由於林村河水源充裕,林村谷土地肥沃,所以多年前已吸引人們定居。

早年在未有任何廢物處理的規管下,林村河上游的農民直接把禽畜廢物排至河道。直至近年,林村谷的村落仍未有公共污水收集系統,部份舊村屋的污水更經由明渠直接流入河道。

下游的污染多來自新市鎮內的工商業活動(如車房和食肆)。人們把廢油、化學品、洗濯污水和食物渣滓直接傾倒入雨水渠,直接排放至林村河。

人們亦會把垃圾丟棄在河上,令下游河道變得像溝渠。

 


下游河段滿布垃圾



「渠道化」與防洪

為舒緩泛濫,部份中游和下游的天然河道已被「渠道化」。渠道化工程把原來彎曲的天然河段拉直,挖深和擴闊河床,新河道的水容量大增,可容納從前溢到泛濫平原的洪水,再在短時間內將水排放到大海。

為了減低水阻和方便維修,河床和河堤表面大多被鋪上混凝土。林村河大埔頭以下的河段已被修直為磚石和混凝土築成的防洪渠。

河道工程不僅使天然河道面目全非,而且還大大改變了河流的結構:

(一) 影響水文

「渠道化」一方面直接增加了河水的流速和流量,另一方面切斷河流與地下水的聯繫,使河流水文變得十分極端。在旱季時,地下水無法滲出鋪上混凝土的河道,相反,在雨季或暴雨時,高漲的河水也無法滲入地下。

(二) 水質和生態影響

河流整治工程後,河床和河岸變成混凝土,河水流量和水溫變得不再適合原來的河溪動植物和微生物生存,動植物數目銳減,嚴重破壞了天然河溪生態,河流自淨能力亦因此大減,水質變差。

(三) 其他影響

林村河是香港少有較天然的河流,保留了較完整的河流地貌和生態資源,為我們提供有關水文、生態、地理、城市規劃等教學和研究材料。但河道工程已經破壞了不少林村河的自然資源和面貌,令我們損失很多科學和教學資源。

 


麻布尾的人工河道



梅樹坑河段的人工河道



 
 

Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.