Rivers have been integral to human lives since ancient times. They provide us with freshwater and food, and facilitate agriculture, hydroelectric power and navigation. River basins were the cradles of early human settlements and communities - where human civilization began.

 



Sources of Food and Drinking Water

Some 97% of the earth's surface water contains salt so cannot be drunk directly; a further 2% is stored as ice at the poles. Only 0.1% of freshwater can be easily collected and utilized. This water is mainly in rivers, streams and inland lakes. Freshwater fisheries also profoundly impact our livelihoods and economies.




Irrigation

Irrigation for agriculture - mainly from rivers and streams - makes up 71% of freshwater use worldwide. Further, river sediments carry large amounts of organic matter, and concentrate downstream to form fertile flood plains that are the most suitable places for farming. Major agricultural developments originated here.




Hydroelectric Power

Globally, about 25% of electricity comes from hydroelectric power, and fulfils 5% of energy demands. Most hydroelectric power stations are built along large rivers. The Three Gorges Dam (Sanxia) on the Yangzi River (Changjiang) is the world's largest dam. From 2011, this is set to generate 100 billion units (kWh) of electricity each year.


Hydroelectric power station


Navigation

Many large rivers, such as the Nile of Eygpt, the Mississippi River of America, the River Po of Italy and China's Pearl River, are major navigation routes. Yet rivers in Hong Kong are too shallow for such purposes; only few can accommodate inland river transport, which has already been completely phased out.






The Nile of Eygpt© Dorothy Lai


Ecological Functions

Habitats along rivers and streams are home to countless animals and plants. Aquatic plants including mosses and liverworts, algae, ferns and flowering plants form the base of the food chain, as they produce their own food by photosynthesis. These plants are food for herbivores and shelter for a host of these and other species. They absorb inorganic nutrients such as nitrogen and phosphorous and balance the composition of nutrients in the water. They can also stabilise silt and stones, so helping reduce erosion.

 

Abundant fish, amphibians, reptiles, crustaceans, shells and insects are nurtured by rivers and streams. Different species have different demand for habitats. Therefore, a diversified ecological environment in the rivers and streams is very important for the population growth of different living organisms.

 
Acorus tatarinowii
Predaceous Chub (Parazacco spilurus) is a freshwater fish that's vulnerable to extinction in China. It is, however, common in Hong Kong.
© Ken Ching
Green Cascade Frog (Odorrana livida) lives in fast flowing hill streams.
Mountain Water Snake (Sinonatrix percarinata) is a great swimmer and frequent visitor to rivers and catchwaters.


Many Odonates are indicators of the health of riverine ecosystems.
Common Kingfisher (Alcedo atthis)
© Patrick Wong

Mosses and liverworts are common plants in rivers and streams.




Chinese Barb (Puntius semifasciolatus)  are often found in local freshwater streams.

 

Small Long-armed Shrimp (Macrobrachium hainense) often hides between rock crevices

 

Leisure

Rivers are ideal places for leisure, outings and sports such as fishing and rowing, which in turn may result in substantial tourism and economic benefits. Venice in Italy and China's Yangzi River are world famous tourism hotspots. Niagara Falls and the Grand Canyon along the Colorado River are among the world’s seven major natural landscapes. Hong Kong has some rivers and streams that are charming, and rich in plants and animals as well as other geographical resources that can help research and education.

 

 





Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

從古到今,人類與河流有著不可分割的關係。河流為人們提供淡水和食物,促進農業、水力發電和航運。河流盆地亦是人們聚居和建立社區的起點,是人類文明的起源。



飲食來源

地球表面 97% 水份帶有鹽份,不能直接飲用,2% 水份被冰封在極地,只有千份之一的淡水較易收集及採用。這些淡水多貯存在內陸的河流、溪澗和湖泊。河溪水產對民生和經濟亦有深遠的影響。




灌溉用水

農業灌溉佔全球淡水用量71%,河溪則是農業灌溉的主要水源。另方面,河流沖積物沉積在下游,帶有大量有機物質,形成土壤肥沃的氾濫平原,十分適宜耕作,世界各地不少農業重鎮亦源起河川。




電力生產

全球約 25% 的電力產自水力發電,滿足全球 5%的能源需求。水力發電站多建於大河之上,依靠河水水位的落差來推動發電機組 , 生產電力 。 位於中國長江上游的三峽大壩,是目前全球最大的混凝土水壩。2011年起,三峽電站每年將能生產一千億度(千瓦時)電力。


水力發電站


裨益航運

不少大型河流身兼運輸航道,例如埃及的尼羅河、美國的密西西比河、意大利的威尼斯河與中國的珠江。香港的河流因水位太淺,不能兼容大型船隻的航運,只有少數小規模的內河運輸,可惜現在已全被淘汰。




埃及的尼羅河
© Dorothy Lai

扶育生態

河流和溪澗包含各式生態環境,孕育了無數動植物。水生植物有苔蘚、藻類、蕨類和有花植物,它們透過光合作用製造食物,是食物鏈的最基層。河溪植物是食草動物的食糧 , 也為其他生物提供庇蔭 。 它們吸收無機養份如氮和磷,平衡水中養份,亦可抓緊砂石,防止水土被侵蝕。

河流育有大量魚類、兩棲動物、爬行動物、甲殼動物、螺貝和昆蟲,生態豐碩。不同的河溪生物對棲地的需求亦有所不同,因此,河溪多樣化的生態環境對不同生物的繁衍非常重要。

 
石昌蒲(Acorus tatarinowii)
(Parazacco spilurus)是國內易危的淡水魚,但於本地則頗為常見
大綠蛙(Rana livida)棲於水流急湍的山澗
烏游蛇(Sinonatrix percarinata)是游泳能手,多於河流和引水道出沒



不少蜻蜓目能充當河溪生態的量器
普通翠鳥(Alcedo atthis)
© Patrick Wong
苔蘚是常見於河溪的植物



五線無鬚(Puntius semifasciolatus
常見於本地的淡水河溪
 

海南沼蝦(Macrobrachium hainense) 愛隱藏在石隙之間
 

康樂活動

河流是消閑、郊遊和運動(如垂釣和划艇) 的好去處,亦能帶來龐大旅遊和經濟效益,意大利的威尼斯河和中國的長江都是世界著名的旅遊勝地,尼亞拉瓜河的大瀑布和科羅拉多河的河谷大峽谷更是世界七大自然景觀。香港仍有不少保留自然形貌的河溪,自然景觀美麗,同時具豐富的生態和地理資源,可供研究和教育之用。






Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.