Natural Environment

The watershed of Lam Tsuen river is large and wide. The country parks and steep terrain along the upper course ensure protection from major damage by human activities (though the original forest cover has been cleared). Although the middle and lower courses are affected by human activities, and there are artificial channels, Lam Tsuen River still has high ecological value and biodiversity, and is especially good for fish and dragonflies.



Fish

The large, natural river basin provides fish with abundant places to live and reproduce. Compared to many rivers in Hong Kong, the upper and middle courses of Lam Tsuen River are free from serious pollution. With the food web almost complete, the diversity of fish is higher than in most other local streams.

Channel works and water pollution along the lower course have, however, affected the fish in Lam Tsuen River. Introduced exotic fish also threaten native species such as Swampy Eel (Monopterus albus) and Oriental Weatherfish (Misgurnus anguillicaudatus).



Freshwater Minnow (Zacco platypus)

Sucker-belly Loach (Psuedogastromyzon myersi)


Swampy Eel (Monopterus albus)
 

Dragonflies


There are 114 species of dragonflies in Hong Kong, at least 52 of which can be found in Lam Tsuen.

Ng Tung Chai, southwest Lam Tsuen, spans medium to high elevations above sea level. Dragonflies of Hong Kong's highlands are generally of low diversity, yet the proportion of unique and rare species is relatively high. The streams of Ng Tung Chai are clear and unpolluted, resulting in Ng Tung Chai being home to rare dragonfly species, such as Chinese Mountain Damsel (Calicnemia sinensis), Yellow-spotted Shadowdamsel (Sinosticta ogatai), Chinese Cascader (Zygonyx asahinai), South China Shadow-emerald (Idionyx claudia) and Yellow-spotted Dusk-hawker (Cephalaeschna klotsi). The latter two are even unique to Ng Tung Chai.

She Shan River, a tributary of Lam Tsuen River, also nurtures many rare dragonfly species, including Marauder Clubtail (Labrogomphus torvus), Dog-legged Clubtail (Burmagomphus vermicularis) and Black Riverdarter (Onychothemis testacea), which has only been recorded in She Shan River.

The middle course of Lam Tsuen River is polluted. Hence the dragonfly species found here are more resistant to pollution, such as Marsh Skimmer (Orthetrum luzonicum) and Crimson Darter (Crocothemis servilia).



Ng Tung Chai waterfall, along the Lam Tsuen River


Chinese Mountain Damsel (Calicnemia sinensis)

Indian Copperwing(Mnais mneme)


Marsh Skimmer (Orthetrum luzonicum)
 

Crimson Darter (Crocothemis servilia)
 

Copyright 2010 by Green Power All rights reserved.

生態環境

林村河流域闊大,上游河道受郊野公園和陡峻的地勢保護,人為影響較少。雖然中游和下游受人類活動影響,變得人工化,但是林村河仍然擁有極高的生態價值,以及豐富的生物多樣化,特別是魚類和蜻蜓。




魚類

林村河的流域較大及天然,為魚類提供較多的棲息、繁殖和產卵地。與本地不少河流相比,林村河上游和中游未受嚴重污染。由於食物網健全,魚類的多樣化自然較高。

下游河道工程和水污染影響了林村河的魚類,人為引進的魚類同時亦威脅著原生魚類,如黃鱔 (Monopterus albus)和泥鰍(Misgurnus anguillicaudatus)等。



 
 

寬鰭
(Zacco platypus)

麥氏擬腹吸鰍
(Psuedogastromyzon myersi)


黃鱔 (Monopterus albus)

蜻蜓

本地育有114種蜻蜓,單在林村便能找到最少52種。

林村的梧桐寨位處中高海拔,高地的蜻蜓多樣化一般較低,但獨有性和罕有品種的比例卻很高。林村河梧桐寨一段山溪清澈無污染,因此在梧桐寨可找到本地較罕見的蜻蜓品種,如華麗扇蟌 (Calicnemia sinensis)、緒方華扁蟌(Sinosticta ogatai)、朝比奈虹蜻(Zygonyx asahinai),郁異偽蜻(Idionyx claudia)和克氏頭蜓(Cephalaeschna klotsi)更是梧桐寨獨有。

林村河的支流社山河同樣孕育不少稀有蜻蜓品種,如凶猛春蜓 (Labrogomphus torvus)、聯紋緬春蜓 (Burmagomphus vermicularis)和只在社山河有記錄的北部灣爪蜻(Onychothemis testacea)。

林村河中游水質受到污染,這裡的蜻蜓多是較耐污的品種,如呂宋灰蜻 (Orthetrum luzonicum)、紅蜻 (Crocothemis servilia)等。

 


林村河梧桐寨瀑布


華麗扇蟌
(Calicnemia sinensis)

煙翅綠色蟌
(Mnais mneme)

呂宋灰蜻
(Orthetrum luzonicum)
 

紅蜻
(Crocothemis servilia)
 

Copyright 2012 by Green Power All rights reserved.