1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Hong Kong's Wild Stars

The All-Purpose Beach Naupaka

Green Country Vol. 129 (Dec 2017)

Beach Naupaka (Scaevola taccada) is a common coastal shrub—so common that you may easily miss it. The oft-overlooked plant, however, is very valuable. It is consumed as food, as medicine, and can be made into different products. It is also used for soil stabilisation and landscaping. To the peoples of the Pacific Islands, the plant is indeed a daily necessity!

Beach Naupaka is a perennial evergreen shrub that is widely distributed across the coasts of the Pacific and Indian Ocean. The coastal environment is harsh, with frequent strong winds, high salinity and burning sun. Yet the species still thrives, as it can root easily with its branches touching the soil. It has thick leaves that can store water, and the wax layer on its leaves also reduces evaporation.

Beach Naupaka is widely cultivated along the coast, to minimise coastal erosion by strong winds and salt. The plant helps to stabilise coastal soil and provides habitats for other plant species. Its beautiful tree form and dense, green leaves make it ideal for landscaping. It is grown not only on beaches but also in parks and along roadsides as it requires minimal care.

Food Reserve

The fruits of Beach Naupaka are slightly sweet and edible. The leaves, though not as tasty, with their high water content, were once staple food of the people in the Maldives, which is now a tourist paradise but was still underdeveloped a few decades ago. Lacking rich soil and resources, the people had to eat the fast-growing Beach Naupaka and other plants on days when crops and fish harvests failed.

Apart from food use, the leaves of Beach Naupaka also contain saponin and coumarin, and are used by Pacific Islanders as medicine to treat small wounds and skin allergies. Upon diluting, the leaf and fruit sap becomes a natural eye ointment that can alleviate inflammation and infections of the eyes. Local people rub the sap on diving masks to prevent fogging. The branches can be made into angling float, while the stem is material for making paper.

The Legend of the Half-Flower

The most characteristic feature of Beach Naupaka is its "half-flower". The five petals form a fan shape that resembles half a flower. There is a sorrowful legend about the flower: a princess of an island, having to separate with her lover who was going out to the sea, tore a flower in two and gave half to her lover. The lover, however, never returned. The sad princess committed suicide for love and turned into the flower, blooming in half along the coast. This beautiful story aside, biologically the half-flower can reduce the chance of self-pollination, and hence increase the species' genetic diversity. This will enhance the offspring's adaptability to the harsh environment of the coast!

Text | Russell Mak

Beach Naupaka thrives in the poor coastal environment with its high tolerance to salinity, strong winds and drought
Beach Naupaka is distinguished by its half-flower.
The leaves, fruits, branches and stem are all essential to the daily lives of Pacific Islanders.
The fruits are edible and have a slightly sweet taste.
Image "starr-090813-4241-Scaevola_taccada-fruit-Kanaha_Beach-Maui" by "Forest and Kim Starr " is licensed underCC bY 2.0
Beach Naupaka is widely cultivated in coastal areas (Photograph of Hawaii)
Image "starr-170222-6987-Scaevola_taccada-view_beach_and_ocean-Wailea_Coastal_Walk-Maui" by "Forest and Kim Starr " is licensed underCC bY 2.0

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 生物放大鏡

百變功能 – 草海桐

綠田野 第129期(2017年12月)

草海桐(Scaevola taccada)是海邊常見植物,香港的海岸亦不難發現它們。由於是灌木,長得不甚高大,可能很多人未必察覺它們的存在。其實它們周身是寶,既可食用,又可藥用,更可製成不同用品,還有防風定沙、美化景觀的功能。特別是對於一些太平洋島國居民來說,草海桐更是日常生活中不可缺少的!

草海桐是多年生常綠灌木,廣泛分布於太平洋及印度洋沿海地方。海邊環境易受強風侵襲,鹽分高,陽光亦份外猛烈,偏偏草海桐就能克服此等惡劣環境,全因它們的枝條接觸泥土即能迅速生長,加上葉片表面有一層蠟質,就像搽了防水漆油一般,能減少水分蒸發,葉片亦特別厚,可加強儲水能力。

人們愛在海岸大量種植草海桐,一來可減少因強風及鹽分帶來的海岸侵蝕,亦有助穩固岸邊泥土,為其他植物改善生長環境。二來草海桐的樹形整齊,葉子碧綠濃密,甚為美觀。更由於它們不用頻密照料亦能茁壯生長,所以不單在海岸,甚至是海濱公園、公路兩旁等也有大量種植。

後備食糧

草海桐的果實帶微甜,可以食用。甚至是葉片,味道雖稱不上可口,但因茂盛而多水,曾經是著名度假天堂馬爾代夫居民的後備糧食。數十年前該國經濟尚未發展,缺乏資源,土壤不肥沃,在農作物收成及漁獲不穩定的日子,居民別無他選,就會以草海桐及一些粗生的植物充飢。

除了食用,草海桐的葉子含有皂素及香豆素,太平洋島國的居民會用它製成草藥,能夠護理小傷口及治療皮膚過敏。此外,葉子及果實的汁液經稀釋後,就會變成百分百純天然的眼藥水,可舒緩眼睛發炎及感染。當地人還會把這些汁液塗在潛水鏡上,可減低鏡面在水中產生霧氣。枝幹則可製成釣魚用的浮標,莖部的組織又可用作造紙的原料。

半邊花傳說

要說草海桐的最大特色,不得不提它的「半邊花」,五片花瓣呈扇形,花形好像只有一半。「半邊花」背後還有一段淒美的愛情傳說,相傳在某島國有位公主,她的情人因要出海捕魚,兩人被逼分開。離別時,她摘了一朵花並將它一分為二當作定情信物。沒想到情人一去不返,傷心欲絕的公主在海邊殉情,就此香消玉殞。從此海邊長滿半邊花,就是公主的化身。除了美麗的傳說,生物學上,花型不整齊的「半邊花」可減少自花授粉的機會,從而增加物種的基因多樣性,目的是讓下一代更能適應海岸嚴峻而多變的生長環境呢!

文| Russell Mak

Image
Image
草海桐耐鹽、耐風、耐旱,在海邊惡劣環境下仍能茁壯生長。
Image
驟眼看花兒好像掉落了一半,這是草海桐花朵的最大特色。
Image
草海桐的葉子、果實、枝幹和莖部,都為太平洋島國居民提供生活所需。
Image Image
人們愛在海岸地區大量種植草海桐(圖為夏威夷)
Image "starr-170222-6987-Scaevola_taccada-view_beach_and_ocean-Wailea_Coastal_Walk-Maui" 由 "Forest and Kim Starr " 製作,以 "創用CC 姓名標示 2.0國際授權條款" 釋出。

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料