1. Home
  2. >
  3. Hong Kong's Wild Stars

Seeking Refuge in Hong Kong – Yellow-crested Cockatoo

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 127 (Aug 2017)
Author: Green Power

Yellow-crested Cockatoo is lovely and people friendly. The bird is easily found locally, as Hong Kong has become home to the second largest wild population of the species. Take a stroll in Hong Kong Park before night falls, and you will surely encounter a flock of them gathering. They are in fact not indigenous to Hong Kong but are happy immigrants. Meanwhile, their original population is far away, and on the brink of extinction!

Yellow-crested Cockatoo (Cacatua sulphurea) belongs to the Family Cacatuidae. It has a snowy white body and pale yellow ear coverts, underwings and tail feathers. The most impressive, however, is the retractile crest, which is yellow or orange, on its head. When tightened up, the crest looks like a string of braided hair; when spread out in a fan shape, it resembles a blossoming sunflower, or a crown, on the head. You simply cannot overlook this charming creature!

The Naughty Bird

Locally, Yellow-crested Cockatoos mostly inhabit woods or forest margins. They are commonly seen in large parks and Mid-levels of north Hong Kong Island, particularly Hong Kong Park. They build nests in tree holes, and have a special fondness for Kapok Tree. Whenever Kapok Tree is in blossom, the cockatoos bite the flowers as if having fun in breaking the flowers into pieces. In fact, their target is the nectar. Apart from nectar, they also feed on fruits and seeds.

Yellow-crested Cockatoos, often gather and forage in groups, and are easily observed. Their varied behaviours attract many birdwatchers. However, their loud, strident calls, particularly as dusk approaches, before they return to the nests, sometimes cause problems for nearby residents. Furthermore, as the cockatoos have the habit of biting off young twigs, experts have worried whether they will affect local tree health. So far, no such impact has been observed.

Second Home

Yellow-crested Cockatoo is native to Indonesia and East Timor. Since the end of the 19th century, the species has been the target of capture for the pet trade, due to its beautiful appearance. In 2005, Yellow-crested Cockatoo was listed in Appendix I of CITES and all international trade of the species has since been banned. Yet illegal poaching is still on the run.

Today, Yellow-crested Cockatoo is listed as Critically Endangered—in the IUCN Red List. Nonetheless, they are not so rare in Hong Kong. Experts believe that the first batch of cockatoos that landed in Hong Kong were the ones escaped from international trade as early as in 1850. Facing no natural enemies here and with the extra protection of the law, the species hence established a stable population in Hong Kong.

The local population of Yellow-crested Cockatoo is estimated to be about 200, accounting for 10% of the world total. Hong Kong is now home to the largest population of the species, apart from their native land. It can be said to be the happy refuge of these immigrants!

Image
© Henry Lui
Image
Yellow-crested Cockatoos often gather in groups.
© Henry Lui
Image
The birds are commonly found in the city as they live in the neighbourhood.
© Henry Lui
Image
When the crest is spread out, it looks beautiful, like a crown!
© Henry Lui
Image
The powerful beak allows the bird to break the hard shell of the fruits.
© Henry Lui

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 生物放大鏡

樂在異鄉 - 小葵花鳳頭鸚鵡

綠田野 第127期(2017年8月)

樣子可愛,個性活潑又不怕人,這是小葵花鳳頭鸚鵡讓人特別喜愛的原因。要觀賞牠們一點也不難,因為香港棲息了全球第二大的野生小葵花鳳頭鸚鵡族群,只要傍晚到香港公園走一趟,必會發現牠們的蹤影。卻原來身在香港的牠們全是異鄉遊子,而遠在他方的原生族群正面臨全球絕種威脅!

小葵花鳳頭鸚鵡 (Cacatua sulphurea) 屬於鳳頭鸚鵡科,全身雪白,耳羽、翅底及尾部的羽毛則呈淺黃色。牠們最矚目的可說是頭頂豎起的冠羽,顏色或黃或橙,更可以開合。冠羽收起時像是一條微翹的小辮子,展開時則呈扇狀,恍如一朵盛放的葵花掛在頭上,亦如頭戴皇冠一樣,總之就讓牠們輕易的成為眾人焦點!

搗蛋小淘氣

在香港,小葵花鳳頭鸚鵡主要棲息於林地或森林邊緣地區,常見於港島北部的大型公園及半山區,香港公園更是牠們的集中地。牠們愛在樹洞築巢,更鍾情於木棉樹,每當木棉花開,總愛將花朵咬至花瓣掉落一地,狀甚淘氣,實則是為了享用花蜜。除了花蜜,牠們亦會食用果實和種子。

小葵花鳳頭鸚鵡喜愛集體行動,不時會三五成群的在樹上活動和覓食,易於觀察,行為變化多端,深受觀鳥人士愛戴。不過,由於牠們的叫聲響亮,尤其會在傍晚時份,聚集於樹頂或附近建築上,喧鬧一番才歸巢休息,因而有時會對附近居民造成滋擾。此外,由於小葵花鳳頭鸚鵡愛吃嫩枝,有啄咬樹枝的習慣,曾有專家擔心牠們會影響本地樹木健康,惟現時未見有樹木因而受威脅。

異地成故鄉

小葵花鳳頭鸚鵡原生於印尼及東帝汶。自十九世紀末開始,由於外表美麗而被大量捕捉作寵物出售。至2005年,小葵花鳳頭鸚鵡已列入《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》附錄一,禁止一切國際貿易,但偷獵情況依然嚴重。

現時,小葵花鳳頭鸚鵡已於《世界自然保護聯盟紅皮書》評為「極危」級別。不過,在香港卻不難發現其蹤影。專家估計第一批落戶香港的小葵花鳳頭鸚鵡,是早於1850年於交易過程中逃脫落的,由於香港自然環境並沒有小葵花鳳頭鸚鵡的天敵,加上受本地法例保護,因而得以在香港開枝散葉。

香港現時估計有小葵花鳳頭鸚鵡二百隻,約佔全球數量一成,成為了原生地以外的最大族群。這群原先是淪落異鄉的遺民,如今已落地生根,成為了香港的一份子,香港亦可說是瀕危的小葵花鳳頭鸚鵡的避難所呢!

文| 陶珈尹

Image
© Henry Lui
Image
小葵花鳳頭鸚鵡最愛三五成群的聚在一起。
© Henry Lui
Image
由於棲息地貼近鬧市,不難發現小葵花鳳頭鸚鵡出現在城市一隅。
© Henry Lui
Image
冠羽展開時,宛如皇冠,漂亮非常!
© Henry Lui
Image
喙部強而有力,可啄碎堅硬的果實而進食。
© Henry Lui

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料