1. Home
  2. >
  3. Hong Kong's Wild Stars

Tragedy of the Beauty - Common Birdwing (Troides helena)

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 125 (Apr 2017)
Author: Green Power

The large Common Birdwing (Troides helena), with its distinctive black and yellow wings, is among the most beautiful butterflies in Hong Kong. Its beauty, unfortunately, makes it sought by greedy profiteers who turn it into specimens for sale. Over catching has caused a decline in its population. The government therefore placed it, together with one other butterfly species, under legal protection.

Common Birdwing (Troides helena) belongs to the Genus Troides of the Papilionidae (Swallowtail) Family. Swallowtails are often large, and Common Birdwing is particularly outstanding. Its wingspan is up to 14 cm and the butterfly looks like a small bird from a distance, as indicated in its English common name Birdwing.

Locally there is another close relative of Common Birdwing, the Golden Birdwing (Troides aeacus), which is even rarer. The two look much alike, with red head and thorax, black forewings, and golden yellow hindwings with black veins. What distinguishes the two is that the male Golden Birdwing has fewer black marks on the hindwings, while the female Golden Birdwing has many more black marks on the hindwings. It is indeed hard for novice butterfly watchers to observe this slight difference between the two species!

Pretty Sign of Warning

Like many other living things in nature, bright colours are used not to attract people but to warn predators! In Common Birdwing, both caterpillars and adults are toxic. The caterpillars feed on leaves and young shoots of India Birthwort (Aristolochia tagala) which contain carcinogenic Aristolochic acids. The poisons have no effect on the caterpillars, but instead are accumulated inside the body until the caterpillars turn into adults.

Apart from the poisons in their body, the caterpillars have other self-protection mechanisms. Firstly, they are covered with fleshy dorso-lateral processes that make them appear inedible. Secondly, when threaten they will protrude from their prothoracic segment an osmeteria – a fleshy forked structure like a snake's tongue with a foul odour to deter predators. Upon transforming into pupae, they look like dry leaves that are hard to detect. If disturbed, the pupae can emit a sound to scare away potential predators. These all increase the chances for survival of the species!

Death Threat

With all the tricks and defence, Common Birdwing (Troides helena) still has to face another threat – this time by us human. Profiteers catch the beautiful butterflies in large numbers and make them into specimens for sale, forcing the species into near extinction. On the other hand, the caterpillars consume more food plants than other butterfly species, and only feed on India Birthwort (Aristolochia tagala). The plant has a narrow distribution in Hong Kong. Adding to the pressure is city development: habitats for the butterflies and its food plants are become rarer and rarer. And the survival of the species is at risk.

The silver lining is that the situation of Common Birdwing (Troides helena) is noted. The species and others in the same genus have already been listed in CITES Appendix II and trade in them is prohibited by law. Locally, Common Birdwing is protected by the Wild Animals Protection Ordinance, which prohibits the catching and trading of the species. The Protection of Endangered Species of Animals and Plants Ordinance also restricts the export of its specimens. The Forestry Regulations protects the food plant India Birthwort (Aristolochia tagala). It is hoped that these measures can effectively protect the pretty yet vulnerable butterfly.

Image
© Dr. Man Chi Sum
Common Birdwing and Golden Birdwing look much alike. The difference lies in the number of black marks on the hindwings. (Picture above is the male Common Birdwing; picture below is the male Golden Birdwing.)
Image
Image
Image
Common Birdwing caterpillars feed only on India Birthwort. (Pictures above show the leaf and flower of India Birthwort.)
Image
When threatened, the caterpillar will protrude an osmeteria (in the blue circle) to deter predators, along with a foul smell.
Image
A dry leaf-like pupa.

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 生物放大鏡

美麗有「罪」─ 裳鳳蝶

綠田野 第125期(2017年4月)

體型偌大,一身金黃色,翅膀黑黃分明。牠是本地最漂亮的蝴蝶之一-裳鳳蝶(Troides helena)。正因為此,惹來了不法商人垂涎,將之製成標本。濫捕濫捉一度令其數量大減。美麗,對裳鳳蝶來說似乎是不幸。當局遂於早年立法保護裳鳳蝶,是目前受本地法例保護的僅有兩種蝴蝶之一。

裳鳳蝶是鳳蝶科裳鳳蝶屬(Troides spp.)蝴蝶。鳳蝶一般體型較大,裳鳳蝶更是當中的佼佼者,翼展可達十四厘米,遠看宛如小型雀鳥,因此牠們的英文俗名叫「Birdwing」,即鳥兒的翅膀,說明了其體型之大。

裳鳳蝶在香港還有一個近親叫「金裳鳳蝶」,牠們長得非常相似,只是金裳鳳蝶更為罕見。兩者頭胸都帶紅色、前翅以黑色為主,後翅同樣是金黃色配上黑色翅脈。兩者的最大分別在於雄性金裳鳳蝶後翅的黑斑較少,相反雌性金裳鳳蝶後翅的黑斑則較發達。對於觀蝶新手來說,要靠這種些微差別來分辨兩者,確是殊不容易呢!

美麗的警告

與自然界很多生物一樣,一身艷麗的色彩絕對不是為了吸引人們,而是「警戒色」,告誡捕獵者牠們是有毒的!裳鳳蝶亦是一樣,無論幼蟲和成蟲均是有毒的。裳鳳蝶幼蟲食用印度馬兜鈴(Aristolochia tagala)的葉片和嫩枝,它含致癌性的馬兜鈴酸,不過裳鳳蝶幼蟲吃了不單不會生病,更會將毒素儲存於體內,並積存至成蟲階段。

除了身懷毒素,裳鳳蝶幼蟲還有其他自我保護的殺手鐧。首先,牠們全身長滿肉刺,讓牠們看起來不甚味美。其次,牠們受驚時前胸會翻出看似蛇舌的「臭角」,以模擬小蛇加上臭味來嚇退捕獵者。當幼蟲結蛹後,蛹的形態看似枯葉,難以察覺,受騷擾時更會發出聲響,嚇跑對方,凡此種種均是為了增加存活機會!

殺身之禍

儘管有層出不窮的偽裝和防禦方法,裳鳳蝶還是逃不過人類的侵擾。亮麗的外型招致的是殺身之禍,捕蝶者將大量蝴蝶製成標本出售牟利,令牠們幾近絕跡。另方面,裳鳳蝶幼蟲較其他蝴蝶幼蟲食量更大,但牠們只食用馬兜鈴,馬兜鈴在香港分布原本已十分稀少,加上城市發展,棲息地和合適的植物愈來愈少,裳鳳蝶的生存亦愈來愈困難。

可幸的是,裳鳳蝶的生存困境已受關注。裳鳳蝶與其他裳鳳蝶屬蝴蝶已納入《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》附錄二 (CITES Appendix II) ,禁止買賣。在香港,裳鳳蝶受《野生動物保護條例》保護,禁止捕捉及買賣,《保護瀕危動植物物種條例》亦限制裳鳳蝶的蝴蝶標本出口。《林務規例》則保護了印度馬兜鈴。希望透過此種種措施,能有效保護美麗而弱小的裳鳳蝶。

文|梁思睿

Image
© Dr. Man Chi Sum
裳鳳蝶和金裳鳳蝶非常相似,差異只在於後翅的黑斑數量。(上圖是雄性裳鳳蝶;下圖是雄性金裳鳳蝶)
Image
Image
Image
裳鳳蝶幼蟲只食用印度馬兜鈴)。(上圖分別是印度馬兜鈴的葉和花)
Image
一旦受驚,幼蟲會翻出「臭角」(藍圈),以臭味擊退捕獵者。
Image
偽裝成枯葉的蛹

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料