1. Home
  2. >
  3. Hong Kong's Wild Stars

Our Close Neighbours - Wild Boar

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 123 (Dec 2016)
Author: Green Power

Wild Boar (Eurasian Wild Pig) is native to Hong Kong. The usually rural mammal occasionally finds its way into the city as it forages for food. Stories of big wild pigs attacking people frighten many people. In fact, Wild Boar are timid and usually avoid humans. The little piglets are even lovely. Let's learn more about our neighbours living just "next door"!

Wild Boar (Sus scrofa) is the largest wild animal in today's Hong Kong. It can reach 2 metres in body length and weigh over 300kg. This terrestrial species is widely distributed across Europe, Asia and Africa, and can adapt to various environments such as woodlands and wetlands. Wild Boar are omnivores, feeding on fruits, leaves, earthworms and small invertebrates.

Wild Boar resemble domestic pigs in appearance, and are actually their ancestors. Hence traces of Wild Boar can still be found in domesticated pigs, such as a highly developed sense of smell. In France, pigs were even trained to hunt truffles.

The acute sense of smell helps Wild Boar to find underground food such as plant rhizomes. Once the food is located, a boar will dig the soil with its protruding snout, which is not only supported with cartilage but can also identify food.

Striped piglets

Many people may think that pigs are all stupid and dull. Yet Wild Boar, according to researchers, can run in speed up to 40km per hour! We can never judge from simple appearances!

The adult Wild Boar and the piglet look totally different. The adult appears rough with its greyish black body. The piglets, on the other hand, are small and funny looking with light brown stripes like a chipmunk. The stripes fade away as a piglet grows to a few months old, and turn greyish black or brown.

Wild Boar are nocturnal animals, typically active at night. Yet in Hong Kong, Wild Boar may be found foraging for food during daytime. Occasionally some Wild Boar get lost in the city. Or we may encounter them as we go hiking in the countryside. Do not be afraid when you come across them. The animals are very timid and will usually stay away from humans. Do not chase after them or shout them away. They may then, out of self defence, attack people in such cases – particularly when the adults are taking their piglets and are most sensitive. Keep a distance from the Wild Boar and walk slowly away, and you will be safe.

Wild Boar are not as scary as legend has it. But we should not feed them as this will attract them into the city margins and away from their original habitat, changing their behaviour and increasing potential for conflicts between the animals and humans.

Image Image
© Stanley Chan
Wild Boar are nocturnal animals.
Image
© Stanley Chan
Wild Boar usually forage for food in groups.
Image
Juvenile Wild Boar (above) and Chipmunk (below) both look funny with similar stripes.
Image "Rayones" by Enrique Dans is licensed under CC BY 2.0
Image
Image "Tamia" by gulzmo_68 is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 生物放大鏡

寶貝鄰居-野豬

綠田野 第123期(2016年12月)

野豬是本地原生動物,即是在香港土生土長。由於香港的城市與郊區接近,可能是覓食或迷路,不時也有野豬誤闖市區的新聞。坊間謠傳野豬生性兇惡、攻擊性強,加上體型龐大,令不少人對野豬害怕起來。其實野豬十分膽小怕人,小野豬更是非常可愛,大家應好好認識這班生活在城市周邊的「鄰居」呢!

野豬(Sus scrofa)是現時香港最大型的野生動物,身體可長達兩米,體重可達三百多公斤。野豬是分布最廣泛的陸棲哺乳動物之一,足跡遍布歐洲、亞洲和非洲。牠們的適應力強,能夠在不同的環境生活,例如是樹林、濕地等,而且「雜食」,無論是果實、樹葉、蚯蚓、細小的無脊椎動物,都可以是牠們的食糧。

野豬和我們一般食用的家豬在外貌上有很多相似的地方,因為野豬其實是家豬的祖先。從前人們把野豬馴化飼養,演變成現在的家豬,所以家豬仍遺傳著野豬的特性,其中包括了靈敏的嗅覺,從前的法國獵人就是靠家豬的嗅覺找出珍貴的黑松露菌。

野豬之所以有靈敏的嗅覺,是為了找尋地底下的食物,例如是肥美的根莖。找到食物後,牠們會用像鏟子似的吻部翻鬆泥土,掘出食物。牠們的吻部具有敏感的觸覺,可以分辨食物,更有特別的軟骨承托,有助挖出食物。

花粟小豬

可能是受家豬的印象影響,不少人以為野豬都是笨笨的,但研究指野豬的奔跑時速最高可達每小時40公里,真是「豬」不可貌相!

成年野豬和幼豬外表可說是完全不同。成年野豬全身灰黑色,看起來十分粗獷,小野豬身上則有淺啡色的深淺相間條紋,花紋像花粟鼠,加上體型嬌小,可愛非常!小野豬身上的條紋大約於數個月大時便會褪去,漸漸變成灰黑色或棕色。

野豬是夜行性動物,一般活躍於晚間,但在香港有時也會見野豬於日間四處覓食。不時有野豬誤闖市區,大家行山時亦有可能遇上野豬,一旦相遇,不用害怕,因為野豬十分膽小,遇到人類時多會避開,不會主動襲擊,只要我們不大叫或追趕牠們便可。有時野豬會誤會人類想傷害牠們而作出反擊,尤其帶著小野豬的成年野豬,對人類動作會較為敏感。大家遇上野豬時,緊記保持距離,然後慢慢離開。

雖然野豬不如傳聞中可怕,但我們也不應餵飼牠們,因這樣做會把野豬吸引到城市邊緣,離開原有的生境,改變牠們的行為,也增加野豬與人類的衝突機會。

文 | Joyce Siu

Image Image
© Stanley Chan
野豬是夜行性動物。
Image
© Stanley Chan
野豬習慣聯群結隊出來覓食。
Image
野豬寶寶(上)和花粟鼠(下)擁有相似條紋,同樣可愛。
Image "Rayones" 由 "Enrique Dans" 製作,以 "創用CC姓名標示2.0國際授權條款" 釋出。
Image
Image "Tamia" 由 "gulzmo_68" 製作,以 "創用CC姓名標示2.0國際授權條款" 釋出。

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料