1. Home
  2. >
  3. Hong Kong's Wild Stars

A plant that resembles a rooster’s comb - Wild Coxcomb

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 122 (Oct 2016)
Author: Green Power

As summer draws to a close, many flowers start to fade. Among the withering yellow, there are patches of purple-red standing upright, each resembling a rooster raising its comb in pride. This is Wild Coxcomb (Celosia argentea).

Wild Coxcomb is a medium-sized herb that can reach 1 metre tall. It is in the Amaranthaceae, the same family as the edible Chinese Spinach (Amaranthus tricolor). Members of this family are tough and resilient and can survive on poor land with strong sunlight. Wild Coxcomb can thrive even in concrete crevices.

The flower buds of Wild Coxcomb cluster at the branch tips. They emerge in tiny purple red cones and gradually blossom from the bottom. As they grow, the colour changes to silver white, while the buds at the top are still purple-red. When the flower string grows long, it looks like a burning white candle!

Not all flowers on the long string blossom at the same time. Yet the many flower strings provide abundant nectar for butterflies and bees. At this time in early autumn, Danaidae butterflies start to prepare themselves for overwintering. Hence, Wild Coxcombs are often seen to be crowded by the butterflies.

Dried flowers in the wild

If you gently touch the Wild Coxcomb flower string, you will find that it feels hard and rough, like a dried flower. This is because the petals and sepals of Wild Coxcomb are combined into dried films called ‘perianths’ to prevent water loss in adapting to the scorching sun and dried soil. These perianths will not drop off after the stamens and pistils wither, but will stay on the plant and close slightly like the original flower buds. They stay on the plant for such a long time that they appear like dried flowers.

The perianths also protect the fruits and seeds. The seed is in fact a well-known Chinese medicine. Its use to cure eye diseases was recorded in the ancient book, “Shennong's Root and Herbal Classic”. You should not prescribe the medicine by yourself as there are side effects. The medicine should be used under professional guidance.

The ancestor of Coxcomb

Wild Coxcomb has been cultivated for ornamental uses since ancient times due to its bright colours and long flowering period. Some species mutated to form large and spectacular flower strings. After generations of breeding efforts, they have become Coxcomb, (Celosia argentea var. cristata) which are commonly seen in parks. The cultivated species with different colours are taken care of in the gardens, while their ancestor continues to flourish in the wild!

Image
© Peggy Chung
Image
Sea of Wild Coxcomb flowers in concrete crevice
Image
Common Tiger (Danaus genutia) feeding on nectar of Wild Coxcomb
Image
© Peggy Chung
Petals and sepals of Wild Coxcomb combine to form hard dried films called perianths.
Image
Coxcomb

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 生物放大鏡

荒野中的雞冠-青葙

綠田野 第122期(2016年10月)

夏末秋初,不少花朵已漸漸凋零,但這時野地裡仍可見有一叢叢頂部紫紅色的花串,屹立在開始枯黃的草叢中,像一隻公雞正昂首炫耀著牠那鮮豔的雞冠,這正是別名「野雞冠」的青葙(Celosia argentea)(音:商)。

青葙屬中型草本,可高達一米,與食用的莧菜(Amaranthus tricolor)同屬莧科植物。這個家族的成員生命力尤其強韌,能夠生長在貧瘠且陽光猛烈的荒地上,青葙更是當中的佼佼者,即使是混凝土的縫隙,亦可以長出一片茂密的花海。

青葙的花蕾聚生在枝條頂端,剛長出時像一個細小的紫紅色雪糕筒,慢慢地底部的花朵逐一向上綻放,而顏色亦漸漸變為銀白色,頂端的花蕾則繼續生長,仍是紫紅色。當花串變得愈來愈長,最後會變成彷如一支支點燃著的白蠟燭模樣,非常有趣!

雖然青葙的花串非常長,但同一花串的花朵在同一時間只會開出數朵,不過由於一株青葙聚生了多枝花串,於是亦能為蝴蝶等昆蟲提供大量花蜜。亦由於秋初時節,斑蝶正需要儲備大量能量過冬,所以此時會常常看見青葙被大批斑蝶重重包圍著。

野外的乾花

如果輕撫青葙的花串,會發現花朵的觸感乾硬,有如乾花一般。原來青葙為了適應猛烈的陽光和乾旱的土地,將水潤的花瓣和花萼結合成乾膜質的「花被片」,防止水分流失。這些花被片在花蕊凋謝後,不會脫落,而是會繼續留在植株上,更會再微微閉合,重回花蕾般的形態。由於花被片會留在植株上一段非常長的時間,讓青葙彷如長在野外的乾花。

花被片之所以不會脫落,是為了利用它乾硬的身體去保護果實和種子成長,它的種子正是有名的中藥 ─ 青葙子。青葙子的藥效在中國現存最古老的中藥學著作《神農本草經》已有記載,是醫治眼疾的良藥,不過由於有副作用,切忌自行服用,必須遵照專業人士指示。

雞冠花的祖先

青葙的花色豔麗,花期長而且彷彿不會凋謝,所以在古代已有人將它栽培作園藝觀賞。當中有部分青葙由於突變,多串花串聚合成片狀生長,使花串顯得更為碩大壯觀。之後再經過長時間的育種,這種突變的青葙就成為了我們現時於公園常常看見的雞冠花(Celosia argentea var. cristata),並栽培出不同顏色的品種。雞冠花受到園藝愛好者的青睞,獲人們悉心照料,生長在園圃中,而它們的原種青葙,則仍繼續昂首於荒涼的野外闖蕩呢!

文 | Peggy

Image
© Peggy Chung
Image
長在混凝土縫隙的花海
Image
虎斑蝶(Danaus genutia)正在採食青葙的花蜜
Image
© Peggy Chung
青葙的花瓣和花萼聚合成乾硬的花被片
Image
雞冠花

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料