1. Home
  2. >
  3. Hong Kong's Wild Stars

Bitterness comes before sweetness - Myrobalan

Originally published in Green Country, Issue 121 (Aug 2016)
Author: Green Power

At this time of the year, you will see many yellowish green fruits on the trees as you hike in the countryside. They are Myrobalans. These little fruits taste bitter at your first bite, but sweetness follows. In the past, the fruits were often eaten fresh or cured to make snacks. They can also be dried to make tea. There are so many ways to enjoy these fruits!

Myrobalan (Phyllanthus emblica) is a shrub or small tree of the Euphorbiaceae family, flowering from April to July and fruiting from July to September. It is now the fruiting period. The spherical fruits are green initially, and turn golden yellow when ripe. The juicy and fleshy fruits are delicacies for many wild animals, such as Masked Palm Civet (Paguma larvata). Although tasting bitter at the first bite, as you chew the fruit its sweetness comes to the fore and seems to quench your thirst. In the past, snacks made of Myrobalan were common. It is rather difficult to get one in the market today! Yet do not collect Myrobalan in the wild, as this may be an offence under the Country Parks Ordinance, and by doing so you are taking food away from wild animals!

Apart from its fruits, Myrobalan leaves are also useful. When dried, they can be used to fill pillows, giving a cooling effect. The tiny, oval leaves grow in an orderly arrangement, and resemble a compound leaf. Upon a closer look, under the leaves there are small brown stipules, which protect the young leaves and define each leaf as "individual".

Malacca = Myrobalan

The flowers of Myrobalan are small and pale yellow. In early summer, the blossoms cover whole branches and attract butterflies for the nectar. Amidst the dense yellow flowers there are occasionally some light green, weird looking flowers. These are the female flowers, with an open style like a claw stretching out. Only the female flowers bear fruits. The pale yellow ones are male flowers with yellow stamens, which do not bear fruits.

Myrobalan is associated with many places. A village in Tsuen Wan – Yau Kom Tau Tsuen, was named after the tree as it was formerly a productive place for Myrobalan. In Malaysia, the city Malacca was also named after Myrobalan. Legend has it that the founder of the city encountered a mouse deer fighting back a hunting dog under a Myrobalan tree, and was so impressed he named the place he founded Malacca, which is Myrobalan in the Malayian language. Today, the coat of arms of the Malacca is still a mouse deer and a Myrobalan tree!

Image
Image
© Joyce Siu
The leaves are in orderly arrangements, resembling compound leaves.
Image
© Joyce Siu
Beautiful dense blossoms on an entire branch.
Image
© Joyce Siu
The male flowers (above) and female flowers (below) of Myrobalan.
Image
Image
© Joyce Siu
There is a small brown stipule at the base of each leaf.

Subscribe

Contact Us

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
Rm. 2314, 23/F.,Gala Place,
56 Dundas Street, Mongkok, Kln.
Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.;
2:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m. (Closed on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays)

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 生物放大鏡

先苦後甘-油甘子

綠田野 第121期(2016年8月)

此時行山,不時會看見兩旁的樹上結出一個又一個的黃綠色果實,它就是油甘子,在香港山野非常常見。油甘子吃起來先苦而後甘甜,所以又叫「餘甘子」。以往人們會把新鮮的油甘子當作水果吃,亦有將它醃製成小食,曬乾更可用來泡茶,食用用途非常之廣!

油甘子(Phyllanthus emblica)是屬於大戟科的灌木或小喬木,花期四至七月,果期七至九月,現正值果實成熟時期。果實球形,最初是綠色,成熟時會轉為金黃色。果實既多汁又厚肉,是果子狸(Paguma larvata)等野生動物的美食。油甘子初入口有點苦澀,咀嚼一會卻會透出陣陣的甘甜,生津止渴,非常可口,舊日市場不難找到由油甘子製成的小食,現在要買到則可能比較難一點!不過,亦不要因為此而在野外採摘油甘子,因為這樣做可能會觸犯郊野公園條例,更變相奪走野生動物的食糧!

除了果實,油甘子的葉片亦甚有用處,曬乾後可作為枕頭的填充物,做成的枕頭透氣度高,枕起來十分清涼。油甘子的葉片細小,呈橢圓形,加上排列整齊,常被誤以為是複葉。仔細觀察每一片小葉的底部,會發現有細小的啡色托葉。托葉是保護嫩葉的構造,亦代表每一片小葉片其實都是獨立的「單葉」。

貝類爭奪戰

油甘子的花朵細小,淡黃色,初夏時長滿枝條,花蜜會吸引蝴蝶採食。在繁密的淡黃色小花朵間,偶爾會夾雜一些淺綠色,外貌奇怪的小花朵。原來油甘子不是每一朵花都會結果,因為它的花朵有雌雄之分。雄花淡黃色,中間有黃色的花蕊,不會結果。外貌奇怪的則是雌花,花柱頂端裂開,形態像是爪子向外伸,亦只有雌花才會結果。

油甘子與不少地方都有淵源。荃灣的油柑頭村從前就盛產油甘子,所以有「油柑」這個名字。在馬來西亞,馬六甲便是以油甘子為名的城市,馬六甲的馬來語意思就是油甘子。據說,馬六甲王朝的創立者曾在油甘子樹下看見一隻鼠鹿被獵犬逼到絕境,突然反擊並把獵犬打下水。這位君主認為該處是福地,便以油甘子樹(馬六甲)為該地命名。現在,馬六甲的州徽正正就是鼠鹿和油甘子的圖案呢!

文 | Joyce

Image
Image
© Joyce Siu
油甘子的葉片排列整齊,看起來像複葉
Image
© Joyce Siu
油甘子的小花,密密麻麻的長滿枝條,非常漂亮!
Image
© Joyce Siu
油甘子的雄花(上)和雌花(下)
Image
Image
© Joyce Siu
每片小葉底部見細小的啡色托葉

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料