1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Hong Kong's Wild Stars

"I Am Not A Crab!" - Hermit Crabs

Green Country Vol. 120 (Jun 2016)

A shell is moving around on the beach! Upon looking closer, you see a hermit crab hiding under the shell. As hermit crab has the name "crab", and it has a hard shell, a pair of claws and four pairs of ambulatory legs, just like a crab, some may think that it is a young crab. Yet they are not the same but are close relatives, in Arthropoda of Order Decapoda.

There are over a thousand species of hermit crabs known worldwide, classified into three families: Coenobitidae, Diogenidae and Paguridae. All their larvae live in the sea. Only those from the Family Coenobitidae live on land or on beaches upon maturing to adulthood. Adults of the Diogenidae and Paguridae stay in the sea or move to beaches.

As the name suggests, hermit crabs hide away most of the time, typically in shells that have been left vacant by molluscs. The shell offers protection for the crab's soft abdomen and the female's eggs, as well as against changes to water level, temperature and salinity of the surrounding environment. It also reduces the risk of the crab being eaten.

The shell is vital for a hermit crab and has to meet specific conditions. Firstly, as the abdomen of the crab is dextral, that is, with a clockwise spiral, it must choose a shell that is also dextral. And the shell must not be too large as the crab will carry it around. Too large a shell will waste energy and block its movement. However, if the shell is too small, the crab must soon change it as it grows.

Fighting for shells

The shells used by hermit crabs come from other shellfish. But hermit crabs don't kill other shellfish for the shells. Instead, they use shells left by dead shellfish. While most hermit crabs need shells for shelter, some instead live among rocks and sponges. Exceptions are Coconut Crabs (Birgus latro) of Family Coenobitidae, which need no shells as they become adults.

Sometimes, when there is not enough suitable empty shells, the hermit crabs will exchange shells voluntarily or through negotiations when two of them can benefit. In some cases, however, a larger hermit crab may attack another, to force it to give up the shell.

Not only do hermit crabs have to struggle for shells among themselves, but they also have to face the threat from humans. Many people like to collect shells on the beach for selling or other purposes, even just for fun. We are too often unaware that every shell that we pick up, is one less chance for a hermit crab to survive!

Text | Linda Yip

Image
© Peggy Chung
Image
The shell can protect the soft abdomen of the hermit crab.
Image
© Peggy Chung
This hermit crab is changing its shell. The old shell will become a new home for another hermit crab.
Image
Coconut crab is the largest in the Family Coenobitidae. It no longer lives in a shell as it grows into an adult.
Image "Coconut Crab - Palmyra Atoll NWR" by Laura Beauregard, USFWS - Pacific Region is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0
Image
People like to collect shells on beaches. When this hermit crab found no suitable shell, it sheltered in a glass bottle.
Image "people in glass houses....." by jenny downing is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 生物放大鏡

「我不是蟹!」-寄居蟹

綠田野 第120期(2016年6月)

在海灘上,駭然發現貝殼在緩緩移動!仔細一看,原來貝殼裡隱藏了一隻寄居蟹。由於寄居蟹名稱中的「蟹」字,令很多人誤會牠們是蟹,再加上兩者同樣擁有一個硬殼,以及一對螫足和四對步足,不少人更以為寄居蟹是年幼的蟹。雖然兩者同屬十足目的節肢動物,但兩者並非同類,只能說是近親。

現時全球有紀錄的寄居蟹超過一千種,分為陸寄居蟹科、活額寄居蟹科和寄居蟹科。所有寄居蟹的幼體都是在海中生活,長大後,陸寄居蟹科的物種會改在陸地或海灘生活;活額寄居蟹科和寄居蟹科的物種則仍然留在海中或改到海灘生活。

寄居蟹的英文名稱叫「hermit crab」,即「隱士蟹」,是由於牠們長時間藏身於貝殼內,像與世隔絕似的,所以才有這個稱號。當然,寄居蟹藏身於貝殼絕不是為了避世,而是因為貝殼能夠保護牠們那柔軟的腹部。貝殼同時能夠保護寄居蟹不易受四周環境中的水分、氣溫和鹽分改變而影響,更加能夠減少被獵食的機會,以及保護雌性的卵團。

貝殼對寄居蟹甚為重要,所以牠們對貝殼亦有一定的要求。首先,由於寄居蟹的腹部是不對稱的右旋,即腹部是順時針旋轉,所以牠們只會選用同樣是右旋的海生貝類的殼。又由於寄居蟹不單居於貝殼內,更會背着貝殼到處去,所以不會選擇太大的貝殼,以免浪費體力及妨礙活動,但亦不能選擇太小的貝殼,免得因體型日漸變大而要頻頻換殼。

貝類爭奪戰

寄居蟹的貝殼是來自其他貝類動物的殼,但寄居蟹絕不會為了搶奪貝殼而殺死其他貝類動物,而是等待貝類動物自然死去才使用其殼。絕大多數寄居蟹以貝殼為家,但亦有少數不需要貝殼,而是住在岩石穴、海綿孔等地方。此外,除了陸寄居蟹科的椰子蟹(Birgus latro)長大後不再需要貝殼外,所有寄居蟹幾乎一生都離不開貝殼。

有時,當海邊合適的空貝殼不多,寄居蟹會互相交換貝殼。所謂的交換,有時是自願的,即是以商議模式,在雙方均會獲利的情況下交換貝殼,亦有被迫的情況,即一些體型較大的寄居蟹,會以撞擊或敲打貝殼等攻擊性行為,逼使另一隻寄居蟹交出貝殼。

寄居蟹不單要與同類爭奪貝殼,更要面對人類的爭奪。不少人走到海灘,都有撿拾貝殼的習慣,有的是為了收藏或販賣,更多是純為玩樂。可能大家並沒有意識到,每檢拾一個貝殼,寄居蟹的生存機會便少一分!

文 | 葉佩玲

Image
©Peggy Chung
Image
寄居蟹之所以寄居於貝殼,主要是為了保護柔軟的腹部。
Image
©Peggy Chung
寄居蟹正在換殼,舊殼很快會成為其他寄居蟹的新居。
Image
椰子蟹是世界上最大的陸寄居蟹,長大後不需再住在貝殼中。
Image "Coconut Crab - Palmyra Atoll NWR" 由 "Laura Beauregard, USFWS - Pacific Region" 製作,以 "創用CC 姓名標示-非商業性 2.0國際授權條款" 釋出。
Image
人們愛在沙灘檢拾貝殼,寄居蟹找不到合適的貝殼,唯有寄居於玻璃樽。
Image "people in glass houses....." 由 "jenny downing" 製作,以 "創用CC 姓名標示 2.0國際授權條款" 釋出。

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料