1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Hong Kong's Wild Stars

Fish that change sex - Groupers

Green Country Vol. 119 (Apr 2016)

We humans, like most animals in nature, are classified into male and female. Mammals and birds have chromosomes that decide their sexes, while some reptiles and amphibians have their sexes fixed according to the environment (such as temperature) at their hatching time. Some animals, on the other hand, are hermaphrodites that contain both male and female reproductive organs. Groupers are among them, and can even change sex to increase the survival rate of the population. However, the greatest threat to groupers comes from humans. Today, some species are already endangered due to over-fishing.

Groupers, members of the Serranidae family, are widely distributed in tropical and temperate waters. There are over 500 species of Serranidae worldwide, more than 160 of which are groupers. The ferocious predators are mostly found in coral communities and rocky reefs, and feed on fish, shrimps and crabs.

Most fishes are dioecious, having only male or female reproductive organs. Groupers are among the few fish that can "change sex". They contain both testes and ovaries. They are female at birth, as ovaries start to grow in the embryos. The female fish mature up to the stage of reproduction. After laying eggs, testes begin to grow, and eventually the fish becomes a male. How amazing!

Turning from female to male in a few days

Changing sex may be a survival strategy by increasing genetic diversity by "changing the sexes". Apart from Giant Grouper, which can live to over a hundred years, most groupers take some 10 years for the female to mature. That is, it takes 10 years for a female to change into a male. In this way, an age difference is maintained between the males and females within the same population, reducing the chance of reproductive failure due to inbreeding and increasing the survival of the whole population.

More surprisingly, if a male dies within a population, a senior female may turn into male in a few days to stabilise the sex ratio within the group to enhance reproductive success.

Over-consumption of fish

Groupers gather in groups to lay eggs. They are top consumersin the marine food chain. The low number of individuals means that it is hard to find a mate. The female lays eggs together in certain waters to prevent them being flushed away, and hence increase the chance of fertilisation when the male releases sperm.

Although groupers have special way of raising the number and survival rate of the population, the huge demand for groupers, particularly Orange-spotted Grouper, Duskytail Grouper and Brown-marbled Grouper – which are upmarket cuisine on the Chinese dining table – has caused overfishing of them. Fishermen and gourmets even target both large and small fish. Many female fish that are yet to change sex are caught, creating a situation with more females than males. In a research paper from the University of Hong Kong in 2013, 20 species of groupers were listed as endangered. Next time you are about to consume a grouper, please stop and consider choosing one from sustainable harvesting or aquaculture, instead of the endangered or vulnerable ones.

Text|Hayward Ng

Image
©Ken Ching
Image
© Ken Ching
Groupers are female at birth and turn into males when mature. Blacktip Grouper (Epinephelus fasciatus) is one of the most familiar groupers to Hong Kong people.

Image

Sabah Giant Grouper (above), a common fish sold in the market, is not a natural grouper. It is in fact a cross-breed between Giant Grouper (Epinephelus lanceolatus) (below), created by researchers at the University of Sabah. Artificial aquaculture may fulfil the huge demand for groupers.
Image

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 生物放大鏡

變性魚-石斑魚

原文刊於《綠田野》119期(2016年4月)
作者:綠色力量

人類有男女之別,大多數動物亦然。哺乳類和鳥類由染色體決定性別,部分爬行類和兩棲類的性別則取決於卵孵化時的環境(例如溫度)。有部分動物卻是雌雄同體,更可以隨時「變性」,石斑魚便是其中之一。變性是為了增加族群存活率,然而,目前石斑魚最大的威脅來自人類,多個物種因過度捕撈而瀕臨絕種。

石斑魚屬鮨科,廣泛分布於熱帶至溫帶海域。鮨科魚類全球共有超過五百個物種,當中超過一百六十種是石斑魚,大部分在珊瑚群落和岩礁棲息,以魚類、蝦和蟹為食,是兇猛的掠食者。

大部分魚類都是雌雄異體,石斑魚是少數會「變性」的魚類,先雌後雄。牠們體內同時擁有精巢和卵巢,由胚胎開始是卵巢發育,所以此階段是雌性,直至雌魚完全成熟至能夠生產下一代,即是在產卵後,雌魚體內的精巢便會慢慢發育,最後會變成雄魚,十分神奇!

幾天之內女變男

石斑魚正正是靠著「變性」作為增加基因多樣性的生殖策略。除了龍躉這類生命周期長逾一百年的石斑魚物種,大部分石斑魚物種的雌性平均需要約十年時間才發育成熟,即是需要約十年才會由雌性變為雄性,這樣能夠令同一族群內的雌魚與雄魚之間,有一定的年齡差別,大大減低近親交配而導致後代先天不良的機會,增加族群存活機會。

更神奇的是,若在族群中有一尾雄性死亡,其中一尾較年長的雌性便能夠於數天內迅速發育成為雄性,以穩定族群的雌雄比例,提高繁衍後代的機會。

人們大小通吃

為了繁衍,石斑魚還會群集產卵。石斑魚是海洋食物鏈中的高級消費者,個體數量不多,較難找到交配對象。雌魚會集體在某一水域產卵,有助減少卵在海中分散,當雄性魚排精時,魚卵受精機會便會大大增加。

雖然石斑魚有特別的方式來增加族群的數量和生存機會,但由於人們對石斑魚的需求巨大,尤其是中國人過年過節也喜歡食用石斑魚,青斑、芝麻斑、老虎斑更是宴席的上等菜色,引致過度捕撈。漁民和食客更是「大小通吃」,不少還未來得及「變性」的雌魚被捕撈,令牠們成功變成雄性的機會越來越低,造成陰多陽少。香港大學於2013年發表的一份研究報告指出,共有二十種石斑魚面臨滅絕威脅。下次食用石斑魚,先想一想,切忌選擇瀕臨或易危物種,改為選用來自可持續地區或人工養殖的石斑魚。

Image
©Ken Ching
Image
©Ken Ching
石斑魚出生時都是雌性,成熟後才變成雄性。紅釘(黑邊石斑魚 Epinephelus fasciatus)是香港人最熟悉的石斑魚之一。

Image

市面常見的沙巴龍躉(上圖)並非天然的石斑魚,是沙巴大學利用龍躉(鞍帶石斑魚 Epinephelus lanceolatus)(下圖)和老虎斑(棕點石斑魚 Epinephelus fuscoguttatus)配種而成,能夠人工養殖,滿足人們對石斑魚的食用需求。
Image
Top

接收本會資料

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk
九龍旺角登打士街56號
家樂坊23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)